We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice friendly atmosphere”
Review of The Carraig Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carraig Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrick-on-Suir
Certificate of Excellence
Ellesmere Port, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“nice friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My daughter and I stayed 2 nights for my uncle's 80th birthday party and had a great time. The staff were all very friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived until the minute we left. The rooms were spotless, with comfortable beds and clean linen.
Only downside were the small bath towels, as I'm used to a bath sheet, but they were perfectly adequate.
The town is small, but with a nice walk down by the river and a variety of pubs and places to eat, if you fancied a change. The food in the hotel, was however superb and plentiful. Definitely going back next year.

Room Tip: We booked a twin room, but were given one with a double and a single bed at no extra cost. The room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    27
    10
    1
    8
See reviews for
31
37
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill on Sea-East Sussex UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Another stay at this nice comfortable and convenient hotel. Food was excellent as always, staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and great having an extra single bed.
Shower was a little outdated and the toilet cistern made a noise all the time but got used to it. The only downside is that you get noise from the town at night especially at the weekends. On our last night there was a private party in the hotel with live music-fine-started at 10.30-ok went on until 3.30 am!!Not good for guests staying there especially as we had a 6 am start to catch the ferry. I know this isnt a fault of the hotels but staying guests should have been warned about it.

Room Tip: Go for top floor to avoid noise from road or a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryC060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed one night in this great hotel . Public car park across from hotel is only 2 Euros per night and is safe. The manager was friendly and went the extra mile to make sure we felt welcome. he carried up our cases with a smile and when we went down for dinner got us a lovely table after a little wait in the busy dining room, always a good sign and the steaks perfectly cooked. Good portion size and a nice glass from the wine list added to our enjoyment. Waiter service was very good and attentative.
Bedrooms were large clean and comfortable. Only drawback was lack of lift which would add to this hotel but just ask and cases will be carried for you if needed.
I would highly recommend this hotel and hope to stay again when we are next in the area,

Room Tip: We had a room to the side, quiet, large , clean with a view of the heating/ventilation system which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butterfly1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,Victoria
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Carraig hotel is the place to stay if ever you are in Carrick-on-Suir.Nice,clean,good sized rooms,good value and the service was very good.The meals we had in the pub were excellent,of good size and well priced.I would highly recommend a stay at The Carraig Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sticks1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, Ireland
Level Contributor
667 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Thank you to this hotel! A group of 42 'landed' at 1pm - a busy time and we were made really welcome. Choice of carvery was wide - breast of turkey, gorgeous beef, chicken and ham or burgers. The chef was friendly and you could even have a 'mini-portion' if you felt like it! We were accommodated in a room aside from the restaurant, supplied with water and the staff were very friendly. We were in and out within the allocated hour we had and would definitely return again. Many thanks everyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy_Luv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

A la carte just changed. Dinner for two including bottle of wine 60 euro and now for the best part you can order off the a la carte and the dearer dishes are marked with asterisks showing the extra you pay simple. Great choices great atmosphere great staff, thanks Denise. Nice merlot available.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris and John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrick on Suir
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Yet again, I must share with potential patrons visiting this hotel...the food is super in every way.
The staff there always make it a daily unique experience when dining there.

Enjoy your meal at this fine hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrick-on-Suir
11.5 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
397 reviews
16.2 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
14.0 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,003 reviews
12.7 mi away
Viking Hotel Waterford
Viking Hotel Waterford
#10 of 12 in Waterford
486 reviews
17.0 mi away
O'Shea's Hotel
O'Shea's Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tramore
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carraig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carraig Hotel

Property: The Carraig Hotel
Address: Main Street, Carrick-on-Suir, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Carrick-on-Suir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrick-on-Suir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carraig Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Carraig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carraig Hotel Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing