We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little hotel”
Review of The Carraig Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carraig Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrick-on-Suir
Certificate of Excellence
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A great little hotel”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed one night in this great hotel . Public car park across from hotel is only 2 Euros per night and is safe. The manager was friendly and went the extra mile to make sure we felt welcome. he carried up our cases with a smile and when we went down for dinner got us a lovely table after a little wait in the busy dining room, always a good sign and the steaks perfectly cooked. Good portion size and a nice glass from the wine list added to our enjoyment. Waiter service was very good and attentative.
Bedrooms were large clean and comfortable. Only drawback was lack of lift which would add to this hotel but just ask and cases will be carried for you if needed.
I would highly recommend this hotel and hope to stay again when we are next in the area,

Room Tip: We had a room to the side, quiet, large , clean with a view of the heating/ventilation system which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butterfly1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    27
    10
    1
    8
See reviews for
31
35
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne,Victoria
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Carraig hotel is the place to stay if ever you are in Carrick-on-Suir.Nice,clean,good sized rooms,good value and the service was very good.The meals we had in the pub were excellent,of good size and well priced.I would highly recommend a stay at The Carraig Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sticks1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorey, Ireland
Level Contributor
661 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Thank you to this hotel! A group of 42 'landed' at 1pm - a busy time and we were made really welcome. Choice of carvery was wide - breast of turkey, gorgeous beef, chicken and ham or burgers. The chef was friendly and you could even have a 'mini-portion' if you felt like it! We were accommodated in a room aside from the restaurant, supplied with water and the staff were very friendly. We were in and out within the allocated hour we had and would definitely return again. Many thanks everyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy_Luv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

A la carte just changed. Dinner for two including bottle of wine 60 euro and now for the best part you can order off the a la carte and the dearer dishes are marked with asterisks showing the extra you pay simple. Great choices great atmosphere great staff, thanks Denise. Nice merlot available.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris and John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrick on Suir
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Yet again, I must share with potential patrons visiting this hotel...the food is super in every way.
The staff there always make it a daily unique experience when dining there.

Enjoy your meal at this fine hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My family and i ate there last week and i have to say that it was delicious.Service was very good and the place was spotless.The atmosphere was very good and the location is ecellent.Slap bang in the centre of town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdkilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I was lucky enough to have reason to stay in Carrick on Suir for a few days recently and I stayed at this hotel. I must say the food was of exceptional quality and I just didn’t expect this very high standard in such a little town. The menu was extensive and catered for all tastes and preferences. My compliments must go to the chef. The bar was smashing, buzzing with friendly, efficient staff, a very engaging clientele. It is the type of bar one could have ‘the chat’ if so desired but could mulling time alone is allowed also. No pressure.
The Bedroom was perfectly, adequate and conducive to a good night’s sleep. It was clean and well furnished with all the required facilities. I found the cleaning staff to be very pleasant and had great knowledge of the town. On speaking to the Manager, he informed me that there are plans afoot to upgrade some of the bedrooms that have not already been renovated. He was a very genial chap and took pride in his work.
The town itself has a lovely feel to it. It has suffered through recessionary times also but the people present as very proud of their town and are quick to extol all that is good in Carrick on Suir.
I will definitely return to Carrick on Suir and The Carraig Hotel.

Room Tip: I really can't fault this hotel but I would say that I preferred the companionship available in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mayigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrick-on-Suir
11.5 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
13.8 mi away
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
Dooley's Hotel Waterford
#4 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
16.2 mi away
Waterford Castle Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Granville Hotel
Granville Hotel
#2 of 12 in Waterford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
13.8 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
14.4 mi away
Waterford Marina Hotel
Waterford Marina Hotel
#3 of 12 in Waterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carraig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carraig Hotel

Property: The Carraig Hotel
Address: Main Street, Carrick-on-Suir, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Carrick-on-Suir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrick-on-Suir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carraig Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Carraig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carraig Hotel Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing