We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Durrus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blairscove House & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Durrus
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The location is very pretty but the room we had directly over the restaurant is jaded in terms of decor. The breakfast is very nice and homemade. While the restaurant is pricey it is very good but be prepared to be pressurised into having the 'famous starter' by the owner. Overall it's way overpriced for the accommodation standard.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rotharman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    16
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
26
90
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

we stayed in the cottage as we have done for a few years now over the summer. As ever it is a true delight a fantastic sense of escape and yet a few yards from the great restaurant which is a must visit. already looking orward to next year.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank kevandgaynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for two nights recently. The accommodation is beautifully decorated, well planned, immaculately clean and extremely comfortable. We had a glorious view over the bay.
We really enjoyed having breakfast served to us each morning, which had fantastic options – we would highly recommend you try their home made muesli with fresh fruit – delicious! On our second evening we had dinner in the restaurant – we were far from disappointed. The selection of starters and desserts, whereby you choose anything you like, is a wonderful way of tasting the great food here. Our main courses were scrumptious. The waiting staff were all very friendly, helpful and great fun to chat to.
Having read some reviews on tripadvisor we weren’t too sure what to expect, however, having stayed and dined here we can genuinely highly rate Blairs Cove House – worth every penny(cent?).
Sabine and Philip – thank you for a wonderful break.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank 1866051986Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Did not stay overnight....We had a family meal here on last Saturday night. Hav'nt been at Blairs cove for a while and its as good as ever. Magnificent selection on the starter and dessert buffet. Good selection of fish on the menu. The John Dory was perfect. The beef cooked on the open fire was a great feature. Great service-not too intrusive, just right.
Can't wait to go back !!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomandcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Fabulous location and really beautiful accomodation. Breakfast was delicious and the ladt who brought the breakfast was very nice.
However, the owner was probably the most unwelcoming rude woman I have ever met. In total, we were giving E600 for 1 nights B&B. On top of that, she made us pay 2 more supplements. One of these was to make up a sofa bed! I dont expect someone to gush over me but a smile and a small bit of common decency is all I would like. Also, we are all watching the pennies and Blairs Cove could definately reduce their prices
I was disappointed leaving here as I was very much looking forward to staying. I will not be returning.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Corkgirl1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

This was our third time to Ireland and our third stay in the apartment above the restaurant at Blair's. It's blissful in every way. Love the views, the privacy, the sense of our own space. Visitors must do the restaurant one night at least -- fabulous. Really a treat to have breakfast brought to your room every morning, and the homemade muesli is to die for. Great for day trips and pub visits for trad music nights in Baldehob

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mjarema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

This is my first review on Trip Advisor and I believe that Blairs Cove deserves to be commented on based on our experience. My wife and I stayed there on the last weekend in April in 2011. Firstly one cannot fault the accomodation for a very high standard of design , interior design and finish however it was the sort of place that even though it has all this going for it , it is being let down by proprieters that are very impersonal and unwelcoming. On arrival one would think that the owners would be excited to see new guests and show them to their accomodation however we were met with a sort of a stale ,cold welcome. The gentleman in charge when I offered to shake his hand to introduce myself didn't even get up off his chair and gave a half hearted handshake and not one mention of a 'welcome to our Blair's Cove we hope you have a pleasant stay'. We were given the key and asked which night we wanted dinner in a sort of glib manner also.When one is paying €400 for 2 nights one would expect a bit more hospitality . The restaurant is separate from the accomodation but I will include a comment on that here,as it is all on the same grounds.We basically sat and ordered a main course at the waiting area and then were moved to our table. When we said we didn't want a starter and would probably have a dessert instead there was a summit meeting between four staff members to see if it could be done. Eventually we were informed that they could bend the rules for us. Wow.!! €58 euro for starter, maincourse and dessert was one option or you could have starter and main course for €45. These were the options on the menu and one could not just order a main course. It was a bit steep in my opinion and I don t think it's much to ask for restaurants to offer a bit of flexibility in their menus. It was a nice meal and the desserts were delicious. It is worth mentioning that the breakfast served each morning to the self catering accomodation was also of a very good standard. Just on another note to finish, When we arrived at the reception area we were greeted by a barking black labrador and the owner . I said good morning and I was met with a finger pointing to a chair and the word 'SIT' . Nothing more nothing less. I didn't actually know if he was talking to the dog or me.A small bit of calculation on his part and a query on had we had any extra things in the room and the bill. Not one concern about whether we enjoyed our stay or if we had any comments or any problems. (Incidentally the shower was not working on the second morning and we had to go next door for a shower before we left but he didn t feel like he needed to apologise or explain,not a big deal at all but just another annoying moment) . Anyway all in all it is another classic case of very good accomodation and food etc but is left down badly by an owner who appeared ungrateful and uninterested. I don't feel like I'm being one bit unfair in saying this. When you give over €500 to a business in the hospitality Industry for two nights you expect a bit of hospitality! If this is the manner and style in which brings in the money , all the best to Blairs Cove and good luck to them. My advice to them is 'You have everything else right, just work on making people feel comfortable and welcome'. I didn't drive away saying I would like to go back and I will not be going back either.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank sugruet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durrus
6.0 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,146 reviews
9.0 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
171 reviews
12.2 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
618 reviews
11.5 mi away
Casey's of Baltimore, Hotel
16.2 mi away
Beara Coast Hotel
Beara Coast Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletownbere
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blairscove House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blairscove House & Restaurant

Property: Blairscove House & Restaurant
Address: Durrus, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Durrus
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Durrus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blairscove House & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Blairs Cove House Hotel Durrus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing