We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique rooms, views and breakfast ! Just stay in this little gem Gallan Mor !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durrus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gallan Mor Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Durrus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Boutique rooms, views and breakfast ! Just stay in this little gem Gallan Mor !”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed in Gallan Mor for one night and I wish it was more. Starting with a warm welcome from Lorna we were given a tour of the house (which is very stylish and beautiful) with little pieces of antique furniture to give the cottage feel. Our North room was downstairs, beautifully decorated with large wet room and 4 poster bed. + breakfast in Gallan Mor is an experience itself with beautiful views .. many thanks Noel & Lorna , you are truly great hosts.

In brief: This little gem in a wonderful location , with truly amazing views and enough privacy to feel like a hotel.Stay in Gallan Mor and eat in Blairscove and you are going to have an amazing holiday ;-)

See oyu again,
Katrina & Breon

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful, but sea view rooms are particularly nice if you are going to be spending so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkKat_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
80
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stay in the Durrus area regularly, and Gallan Mor has one of the warmest welcomes you could wish for. Despite being a new business, they behave like old hands. My room was small but well appointed and very comfortable. I had a bit of difficulty in finding the place in the dark and rain, but one quick phone call sorted it out quickly! They are so friendly, with a cup of tea and home made biscuits to welcome you. On the second night, fellow guests were already back for their second stay! I didn't take full advantage of the excellent breakfast on offer, as I was doing a cookery course, but I advise you to fill your boots! Not cheap, but well worth the money. I will be staying again.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, tell them beforehand. The bed in my room was very high off the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Just returned from two days at this outstanding Bed & Breakfast. Lorna & Noel are welcome hosts, they think of everything and have created something special in this part of Ireland. Our room was comfortable & everything was well presented. Our breakfast was freshly prepared, with locally sourced produce and plentiful. We certainly did try "Dutch Baby" with Lorna's new twist of serving it with raspberries, it is a must! We cannot say enough about the location, views and peace & quiet apart from that we will return!

Room Tip: All rooms are of a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falkirklassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed in Gallan Mor for one night and wish it could have been for a month.
Noel and Lorna are great hosts and in Gallan Mor have created something far more than just a place to stay. Nothing is spared in terms of quality and attention to detail with the real high points being the peace and quiet, the views of Dunmanus Bay, the bed (!) and Lorna's cooking. She even specially baked gluten free bread for us which was delicious.

Everything was simply outstanding. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

What can one say that hasn't already been said. Gallan Mor & its hosts, Lorna & Noel, lived up to & surpassed our expections. My husband & I spent last weekend along with 6 other walkers at Gallan Mor. Only for one of our more determined & committed walker's we would still be at the breakfast table, relishing the delights which Gallan Mor have become renowned for. Homemade yoghourt, colis, breads, jams & one can't but mention the Dutch Pancake made a memorable culinery experience.
Lorna & Noel couldn't have been more flexible & accommodating, nothing was too much trouble.
Looking forward to, a return visit, for hopefully a longer stay.
Tony & Gemma Larkin.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemmant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Noel and Lorna were so kind to us..looking after our every need. The Dutch Baby on the breakfast menu was a special treat! Our room looked out over the bay... the sunrise was spectacular...lovely location...restful and invigorating.

Room Tip: All rooms have a lovely view but the South Room is particularly lovely in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed at Gallen Mor on our first night in Ireland. Had a warm relaxed welcome, beautiful room 5* quality furnishings, bed etc. Noel and Lorna were relaxed and welcoming. Loved our stay, will be back for a longer stay in the future and have our eyes on the beautiful self catering cottage they also rent out. Lovely spot in Ireland with gorgeous views.

Room Tip: Front of house for beautiful sea views, East Room recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durrus
7.5 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
6.6 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
18.7 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Beara Coast Hotel
Beara Coast Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletownbere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carbery Cottage Guest Lodge
1.7 mi away
Sea Lodge B & B
Sea Lodge B & B
#3 of 6 in Durrus
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallan Mor Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallan Mor Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Property: Gallan Mor Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Address: Kealties | Bantry, Co. Cork, Durrus Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Durrus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Durrus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gallan Mor is on the Wild Atlantic Way and enjoys an elevated position overlooking Dunmanus Bay, beautiful terraced gardens, ancient standing stone, wood-burning stove, four poster beds, WI-FI and satellite TVs. An ideal base for exploring West Cork and The Ring of Kerry. Outdoor activities: walking, cycling, horseback riding and water sports. The Sheep's Head Way is an area of outstanding beauty. Open all year. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing