We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveler rating
77
11
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome from homeon arrivalmoment you arrivebreadwest corkthe ground floorlovely hostsown private patiobreakfast was excellentlocal walksroom was largejulie and mikeaward winningheavy heartboth morningsstayed here for nightsbeara peninsula
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 89 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2017

You don't need to imagine it, Julia and Mike have thought it all through for you, they know you need to feel welcome, relaxed and at home. Great unfussy rooms with everything you need, crisp clean sheets ironed by Mike...he Loves to iron, books to dip into and wonderful views that that change in mood with the weather. Breakfast is a feast, leisurely, perfectly cooked and served, home made bread and jams, new laid eggs, luscious bacon...hungry now? Outside, dogs, ponies, ducks and hens have all come to stay and they all have a story- go on, go on go on...

Stayed: September 2017
Thank TrilbyWestCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017 via mobile

We had a marvellous time; we experienced the local walks, we drove to various places like the Lighthouse and the weather held up. The hosts could not have been more helpful - Julia & Michael (forever providing us with tea and brownies; fantastic breakfasts, including the pancakes and just so happy to give advice on where to visit next).

And, of course the peninsula is so pretty, rugged, quiet, isolated in places and so very Irish.

Thank you very much and hope to see you in the not too distant future.

Family of 4 (including small dog!)
Lucy, Breid, Surinder, Hari and 'Ote' the dog

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank foxucl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017

We stayed for a long weekend to explore the beautiful Sheepshead peninsula and travel to Mizen Head. Julia and Mike are wonderful hosts and the views, weather permitting ! are fantastic. Would thoroughly recommend to use as a base for this stunning part of the South West of Ireland. The room was large, bed luxurious and the toileteries were divine. Lovely breakfast , nothing to fault and look forward to returning soon.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank gooner2WestWickham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017

All the positive reviews about this B&B are accurate. We really enjoyed our stay in the cottage for two nights. It was spotless, well-equipped and comfortable. It is tucked in behind the house in a secluded spot, perfectly set up for the morning sun.

The kitchen is fully equipped, but we just bought two delicious home-made lasagnas at the shop in Durrus for only 2.50 each and heated them up in the microwave.

The landscape in the area is beyond gorgeous. We had some fulfilling walks and drives in the area. Please do not miss the Healy Pass.

Mike and Julia have a few horses and geese on the property and one funny-looking cat.

The communal breakfast was arguably the most delicious and most friendly of all the breakfasts we had in Ireland. Julia and Mike serve only Irish and locally sourced produce.

Canadians: this B&B is very close to the Ahakista memorial to the Air India disaster. I was surprised to bump into this quiet and moving monument. but then I remembered the television coverage of the generosity and assistance provided by the Irish after that horror.

Julia and Mike are good at running a B&B. You should book this place knowing you'll have a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zwerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017

The owners Mike and Julia treated us like old friends. Location is surrounded by pastoral beauty.
Comfortable, clean and cozy. Best night's sleep in a long time.
And the Breakfast was the best I had in Ireland.

Room Tip: From my friends who stayed in other rooms, I can honestly say, the owners go out of their way to provide comfort.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews