We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveler rating
78
11
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome from homebreadwest corkmoment you arriveon arrivalthe ground floorlovely hostsown private pationice roombreakfast was excellentlocal walksjulie and mikeaward winningsmoked haddockheavy heartfeel welcomesheeps head peninsula
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 90 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2017 via mobile

We had THE very best weekend. A group of hiking friends. The seafood dinner by Mike was exquisite!! The breakfasts were top notch and all was accompanied by a huge welcome. Nothing was too much trouble!! Fabulous fabulous place to stay!!
We were so incredibly spoilt!!!!

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank Maps590845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2017

Great location slightly off the main coast road, good parking, beautiful view, lovely welcome, well equipped and nicely furnished room, friendly and attentive hosts, great breakfast. Quiet place, I was lucky and got the last available room, a suite..

Room Tip: None, I got the last available room...a suite.
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2017 via mobile

Having spent a glorious week in Julia & Mike's wonderful guest house last year we vowed to return. That we did for a week which ended today. It was with heavy hearts that we, along with our two dogs, Lily & Scout, bade farewell to Carbery Cottage & the beautiful Sheep's Head Peninsula &, of course, to our wonderful hosts. There really aren't enough superlatives to describe how wonderful this place is. The bedroom (the Seefin Suite) is lovely & very comfortable. The bathroom is a generous size & having our own private patio was wonderful & perfect for the dogs. The breakfasts are extraordinary both in terms of quality & portion size. We had dinner on 3 nights & each meal was excellent. Julia & Mike truly are the perfect hosts & very informative about the area with excellent suggestions of places to visit & to dine. We're already looking forward to next year's visit!

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank ClaremcDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike H, Owner at Carbery Cottage Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2017

Many thks for your review hope to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2017

Spent 2 nights over the long weekend and loved it! Julia and Mike are very lovely hosts and make you feel welcome. Room was very comfy and clean and breakfast both mornings was excellent, so was the coffee :-) They even bring you coffee/tea to your room in the morning before breakfast if you wish. What a service!
Would return anytime!

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Holidaytravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2017 via mobile

We brought our little dog with us. Had the ground floor room which opened onto a small run. Julia and Mike made us feel so welcome, twas like we had known them forever. Breakfast was amazing both mornings. We loved this place and will definitely be back. Mini even had her own special chair

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Noreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews