We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“top class antique bar great music great Craic and great pint! will be back.”
Review of Luker's Bar

Luker's Bar
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Luker's Bar & Restaurant, a family run bar holds a mix of the old and new!The old bar dates back to the 1800's,one of Irelands best kept secrets. There are very few genuine authentic pubs like it left in Ireland. Walk through the old heritage bar with real Irish antiques. Enter a beautiful cozy back room with an open hearth Victorian fireplace dating back the the 1800s.Excellent food to be savoured while enjoying the stunning view (The Steak is a Must!) Sit down and enjoy an Irish ballad performed by whomever happens by to play that night. Banjo, guitar, mandolin and fiddle.Excellent Live music 5 nights a week during the summer season with some of the best bands and musicians Ireland has to offer! You have to come if you are in the vicinity of Shannonbridge and introduce yourself to the friendly pub owner and have a pint in an authentic Irish bar. Luker's also has a 'new' bar which boasts of a beer garden over looking the beautiful river Shannon. Be sure of a great pint of Guinness and a friendlily welcome when visiting this step back into the old Ireland. Recently renovated offering a fabulous panoramic viewx of the River through the 'Glass Wall' type gable front, only seen to be believed!
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“top class antique bar great music great Craic and great pint! will be back.”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

this bar boasts of an untouched antique bar dating back to the 1800's. as well as a beautiful beer graden over looking the river shannon which accompanies the new bar. live music and Craic come hand in hand in this great Irish bar.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 90210man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    7
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 * Traditional Irish Pub!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We were welcomed into Lukers pub one sunny August evening! Irish music was playing throughout and free wifi on tap! We were only in two minutes when we were invited down to see the old part of the bar. The traditional concrete floors and the tabacco stained walls added to the character of the place! The low ceiling and the traditional Victorian fire place complete with a old style metal iron really added to the character.

The legendary charm of Lukers undoubtedly hails from the incredible collection of old-world goods on display on its dark shelf-lined walls. These shelves are packed with the sort of products that would have abounded in a village grocery half a century ago.
Every Wednesday night they have a traditional music session.
They play fiddles, bodhráns, flutes and mandolins, and sing songs about long-gone tyrants, rising moons and rose-peppered valleys.

I will undoubtedly return to this little gem! John Joe get the kettle on!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aoifeessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect authentic Irish evening”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This place is the best secret in Ireland. Walk through an old heritage bar with real Irish antiques. Enter a beautiful cozy back room with an old Irish cook stove. Sit down and enjoy an Irish ballad performed by whomever happens by to play that night. Banjo, guitar, mandolin and fiddle. Best time we have had in Ireland so far! You have to come if you are in the vicinity of Shannonbridge. Introduce yourself to the friendly pub owner and have a pint in an authentic Irish bar - Luke's is well worth the stop!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kimberlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't walk by this place!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We were enroute to another bar for a drink and a bite, when I stopped to sample a piece of peat in an old wheelbarrow. I met the proprietor and came indies. There is an old bar and a new bar. The old bar leads back to a room and fireplace from the 1800's. we spent the evening listening to Irish music, singing and dancing. This is the spot we had been looking for for three weeks. A real jewel!!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jrheineman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luker's Bar also viewed

County Offaly, Province of Leinster
Shannonbridge, County Offaly
 

Been to Luker's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing