We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ely House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Moycarn Lodge(Ballinasloe)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shearwater Hotel(Ballinasloe)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creggan Court(Athlone)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveler rating
15
13
5
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
13
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bother guestsbrianpubaccommodationsballinasloe
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 33 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We had a super time in Shannonbridge - we wanted to stay in a typical family run Irish B&B and Ely House proved to be perfect - reasonably priced, clean as a pin and conveniently located just outside of town within walking distance to Kileen's Pub where we watched Kilkenny defeat Tipperary for the All Ireland Hurling Championship. The locals were very friendly and made us feel at home. Unfortunately, the recommended Old Fort Restaurant was closed so we didn't get to try their cuisine. Brian was a super host - he made us an excellent Irish breakfast - hard to get my fussy egg order right but he made it happen.

Room Tip: Brian let us choose from the open rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jimmie1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Absolutely spotless place - and in a good location in Shannonbrige. It was a quick jump over to the local pub where we had some nice Guinness pints. Free WIFI, clean as a whistle and comfy beds.

Brian was an absolutely delightful host, and the breakfast was delicious! I would love to have the opportunity to come back. He also recommended the Old Fort restaurant in town, and we ended up eating there twice!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dubya24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Would normally never stay in a B&B, but that could be about to change. We were attending a wedding in the vicinity and booked this B&B for 2 nights. It was superb from start to finish. Brian and Dympna are wonderful hosts, the room was large and spotless. The delicious breakfast would put most hotels to shame. Killeens pub is also a must if you are ever in Shannonbridge.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pikeman-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Stayed 2 nights in this excellent bed and breakfast.Found it to be very clean and comfortable , with an amazing choice for breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magdella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

After visiting Clonmacnoise, we came across this lovely B+B by chance and stayed there. The friendliness and welcome we got was fantastic. On arrival we were offered a coffee and we had a chat. Brian suggested a nice place to eat nearby (the Old Fort) wirthin walking distance which was good and then suggested a night in Killeens which had music and friendly banter..Killeens Pub should be on everyones itinerary as it has great charm and is timeless.
At Ely House our room was large and comfortable, nicely decorated and had Tv, bathroom and tea and coffee. Free Wifi was included. There was a vast array of books available which we perused at our leisure. Breakfast was delicious and vast! Their homemade brown bread was gorgeous and the choice of options was expansive. We would recommend anyone staying near Clonmacnoise to stay here. We can't wait to visit again

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newlandsdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews