We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice for a Weekend Break”

Kingsfort Country House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballintogher
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kingsfort Country House
Ranked #2 of 2 Ballintogher B&B and Inns
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for a Weekend Break”
Reviewed June 24, 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a weekend away and had an excellent weekend.
Situated in Ballintogher, outside Sligo Town, we found it was quiet and peaceful enough for a relaxing break, but near enough to Sligo (about 10 mins drive) to nip in to town for some shopping or something to eat ( - Coach Lane restaurant was superb). The location is perfect for getting around the Sligo area.

We found the staff to be very helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was very good. We didn't have dinner there, but the chef buy fresh food from a local market daily and is able to buy/cook to order, given sufficient notice. Even the owner, Bernard, stopped to chat and make sure everything was ok.

The rooms were the jewel in the crown for us though. While our room wasn't big, it was most definitely more cosy than cramped, and it was certainly very clean and very well kept. The beds were absolutely first class. Very comfortable, with fresh, white cotton sheets and covers. We both slept soundly and jokingly suggested taking the beds with us - souvenirs of course!!

In terms of value for money, we couldn't have asked for much more. €160 for two nights b&b for both of us, in such top drawer accommodation was much more than we could have imagined.

We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will almost certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WatchingCartoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Donegal
2 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2007

We saw an ad in one of the national newspapers and had a look at Kingsfort's own website. Sounded appealing so booked a one night stay including dinner. Had some difficulty actually finding the place, partially due to the fact that Kingsfort Country House is in the middle of the village of Ballintogher.
Greeted on arrival by Erin and taken to our room. Most if not all of the furnishings in the house come from France, which is a refreshing change in Ireland. We had a drink by the roaring fire downstairs before going to dinner. The dining room was slightly on the chilly side but the food and friendly service both made up for it. And we were able to take our coffee by the fire and warm up again!
For breakfast the next morning there was a cold buffet with a variety of fruit and cereals, and several options for cooked breakfast.
We will definitely return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacey-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2006

Lovely accomodation but all the hot water ran out and some of our party could not have showers (this was after being at a wedding).
The Chef cooked us all breakfast both mornings there and it was totally under cooked and inedible.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank dustylouLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 22, 2006

I have just come back from a trip to my native country and I came across a fabulous accommodation located in the village of Ballintogher in County Sligo. Everything was perfect from the friendly welcome to the newly decorated bedrooms and the food. We came across this hidden gem completely by chance. We were on our way to Sligo from Dublin and spotted the sign for Kingsfort Country House and decided to take a chance and try it out. Our plan initially was to spend a day in Sligo before heading to Donegal for a week. But we were so enchanted by Kingsfort we spent our entire holiday there. The house is a dream - it's like walking back in time but with all the modern conveniences. I felt like a character from 'Pride and Prejudice' - the old fasioned laticed windows, the cosy sitting room with its inviting library, the converted coach house and the little laneway to the village. The bedrooms are all decorated with exquisite taste - there is a country feel throughout with a sophisticated edge. Every morning I was spoiled with the sheer variety of fare on offer; from the traditional Irish breakfast to yoghurts, fresh juice, freshly baked breads and croissants and coffee which could match the best in Italy. The welcome was warm and friendly and from the moment I set foot in Kingsfort I felt like I was at home. What I'll never forget is the smell of the wood burning in the fire, the soft touch of the white linen and the sounds of the thrushes singing in the morning just outside my beautiful window. My only complaint would be that I had no horse nor carriage ready to drive me away to enjoy the nearby woodlands and lakes.
We've already booked our stay for next summer! Kingsfort really has it all - it's a great location if your looking for somewhere quiet, at the same time there's plenty to do during the day from horseriding, hillwalking and golfing to listening to traditional Irish music in the local pub (a stone's throw from the guesthouse) and the evening meals are just fabulous coupled with a very well-selected choice of quality wines. To top it all, Kingsfort is very reasonable for what it is - costing an average of 55 euros per night B&B. Dinner is 35 euro for a three-course meal which is cheap by Irish standards.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kingsfort Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsfort Country House

Property: Kingsfort Country House
Address: Ballintogher, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Ballintogher
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ballintogher
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsfort Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing