We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Station House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilmessan
Certificate of Excellence
Navan,Meath, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“ideal wedding venue”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

stayed in this hotel for my brothers wedding which was held here,when we arrived the check in was really fast so got to room which was really quaint to freshen up after church.I like how the hotel hold the rooms for the wedding guests so that once you book them all there is no strangers staying that night. The room had everything you need, the beds were really comfortable with plenty of pillows.
This is the perfect location to have a wedding everything about the whole day was perfect from start to finish The 4 course meal was to die for and was piping hot when served.
After a very late night it was worth getting up early enough to have breakfast as that was also faultless and it was lovely that the only people at breakfast were family and friends to have a good ole banter about the night before . well done to everyone at the kilmessan this is definitely a hotel i would recommend for holding a special occasion

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-StationHH, General Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hello Lorraine A,

Thank you so much for the kind and positive words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and that your room was everything you had expected it would be.

I'm so glad that your brother's wedding was such a success and that you enjoyed the food so much.

It's wonderful feedback to hear regarding our breakfast buffet the morning after. We pride ourselves on our food.

Kind regards,

Henry Franco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    100
    55
    46
    28
See reviews for
187
236
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed overnight here for a wedding recently. First impressions were great, upon arrival staff were extremely pleasant, informative and helpful. The room although a tad on the expensive side was very comfortable, clean, had tea/coffee making facilities and an immaculate bathroom. The food at the wedding itself was of the highest quality, catering staff were polite and proffesional. A brilliant day all round and a fantastic venue for anyone wishing to tie the knot!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhys M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-StationHH, General Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hello Rhys M,

Many thanks for the wonderful feedback regarding your stay with us especially regarding our food.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Henry Franco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We attended a family wedding and had requested a family room in the hotel, we were told that there would be a double/single and a fold out bed put into the room to fit four of us. On arrival to our room which had steps going down into the room we where met with a small double bed and a single bed and a small mattress on the ground. At a price of €195 for one night b & b this certainly was a total rip off knowing we where attending a wedding at their hotel. The room smelled strongly of must and damp and was in need of re-decorating and updating. The breakfast the next morning was cold. I have sent an email to the hotel complaining and I am still waiting on a reply.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
6 Thank linda n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-StationHH, Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello Linda N,

Many thanks for your feedback regarding your stay with us at the Station House Hotel.

I'm sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your room. I really do apologise however I am not aware of any email received to the hotel. Would you mind possibly contacting us directly on info@stationhousehotel.ie so that we can discuss your issues further.

Kind regards,

Henry Franco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding. All of the arrangements pertaining to the wedding were very good, food,function room, service, gardens ,bar etc.
However, we had a room in the main building for which we paid € 130 for one night b& b on a Monday night!! In Kilmessan ,not Dublin or London or Paris!!! In a Three star hotel !!!!!!
This was a total rip off considering a similar room only costs € 70-80 normally. So they are ripping off the wedding guests with excessive prices for average rooms.
In addition the room smelled strongly of must and damp while the decor, furnishings and bathroom were certainly not worth the excessive room price.
Another example of greedy 'rip off ' Ireland which ,sadly, has not gone away.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank kildareman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-StationHH, Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Hello KildareMan,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us for a wedding. I am delighted to hear that you were so taken with the food, service, staff and grounds of the hotel.

I'm sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your experience with regards to your room. Can I ask did you mention anything to the staff at reception to see if there was anything they could have done for you with regards to a different room?We try in every way we can to facilitate where at all possible.

We do hope that you will take the time to come and visit us again.

Kind regards,

Henry Franco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This a beautiful hotel which is homely and comfortable . We just had our wedding there in October the food is to the highest quality and the staff are fantastic not to mention how wonderful the grounds are the honeymoon suite sits on its own on the grounds which is that bit special all of our family and friends were amazed about this place well worth a look if your planning a wedding . We look forward to returning to the station house again and so does many of our guest that were at our wedding . A huge thank you to all the staff at the station house for making our day so special .

Room Tip: 118 is a lovely big room also its the number 2nd honeymoon room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oreillys47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-StationHH, Wedding Coordinator at The Station House Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hello oreillys47,

Many thanks for such wonderful feedback. We are so thrilled that your wedding was such a success and that we were able to help in bringing everything together.

I will ensure to pass on your best wishes to all the staff involved in your big day.

Kind regards,

Sarah Kelly
Wedding Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

A visit to The Station House is a must. Only 2o mins from Blanchardstown Centre its so handy to get out of Dublin for a little bit of home from home. The bar ia warm homely and comfortable. The restaurant serves food of the highest quality and its just delicious. Rooms gorgeous and breakfast so good. One of the best things about here is the staff very nice and throughly genuine especially the Manager / Concierge a true gent with such charm.
All in all this is a wonderful cosy place to be ....go and see for yourself I just love it

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anners44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-StationHH, Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello Anners 44,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our beautiful hotel after your last visit.

We are delighted to hear that you were so taken by our wonderful grounds, food and most importantly our fantastic staff. They really are a credit to the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Henry Franco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I would be lying if I said I stayed here, because I didn't, but I did try! Booked with groupon, which seemed a very good offer, two nights B&B and one dinner with prosecco on arrival.....too good to be true, YES TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE. When booking I was advised that there was a wedding that day so we wouldn't be staying in the main house, rather an apartment down the laneway, which to me sounded interesting. I arrived and was told that the restaurant wasn't open that evening but we could have our dinner in the bar, but we wouldn't be able to reserve a table???!!!! Mental. Anyway, we were given directions to the 'apartment' down the laneway.........it was a house in a housing estate which was subdivided into 4 apartments, we weren't even on the hotel land!!!! No way were we going to stay there and after much deliberating at the reception desk, the lady told us we could have a room up over the function room (there was a wedding that day). My husband is tall, but even I had to duck......it was small, closterphobic, the ensuite might as well have been a bucket, the size of it!!!!! No, no, no, I said. The receptionist was going to hasstle me about not taking the room, but she backed off immediately when I started to tell her exactly what I thought of the place (discreetly). I will never ever ever cross the door of the Station House....it was awful!

Helpful?
4 Thank Iknowgr8food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmessan
4.1 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
10.7 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,504 reviews
12.8 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
883 reviews
5.1 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
6.1 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station House Hotel

Property: The Station House Hotel
Address: Kilmessan, Kilmessan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Kilmessan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilmessan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Station House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Station House Hotel is a converted train station located in the quiet country village of Kilmessan, Co. Meath. The hotel is owned and run by the Slattery family who take pride in the satisfaction of their customers, including restaurant, conference and wedding guests. They have kept the magic and charm of its former identity but have added to it, a warm and dedicated service that puts it in a class of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Station House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing