We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big thank you to all the Station House Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Station House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilmessan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My wife and I had our wedding reception at the Station House Hotel on the 25 January 2013. We had a fantastic day there. The reception room looked amazing and there was a great atmosphere. The staff were extremely courteous and friendly. The whole process of booking the wedding was really easy and everything went to plan on the day. You could not ask more from a venue.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank powerfulstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Waterside, Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear powerfulstuff,

Thank you very much for taking the time to put your positive comments on TripAdvisor in relation to your recent wedding. I was delighted to read that you had a memorable day.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Station House Hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards,
Linda Moloney
Sales & Marketing Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 606 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

Visited this lovely hotel on Saturday.... there was 5 of us... My son (the groom to be), his fiancee and 3 others. Saturday was a miserable damp dreary day, but that did not dampen our spirits. Lunch was fab, with a great choice... There was a wedding on, so we were the only people in the dining room. The grounds are fabulous, cannot wait to see what they will be like in August. The staff were extremely friendly and very welcoming.. We did not get to see the bedrooms... so waiting to be surprised. The Hotel had a real family oriented atmosphere and we felt we were in someone's home... Watch this space.... further review in August.. bring on the summer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 234liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Waterside, Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear 234liz,

Thank you for your review about your lovely time in The Station House Hotel.

We appreciate your positive comments on the friendly staff, the quality and variety of food and our grounds. At the moment our flowers are full of the joys of Spring. August time will definitely be a floral treat

All of the team at The Station House Hotel are looking forward to welcoming you again in August,

Kind Regards,
Linda Moloney
Sales & Marketing Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

stayed here for one night with my partner as a midweek treat,
the room rate was excellent and we added the 3 course meal to our stay.
although 30 mins from Dublin the area is rural and the hotel is situated in some fabulous grounds. an old railway halt and you can still make out the platforms etc.
reading the history of the railway and what the current owners have done is fascinating.
i love hotels in Ireland that ooze charm and character and this is a gem.
seems geared toward the wedding market but it was quiet on our stay.
the reception is small but welcoming with the bar and restaurant attached.
quite cramped to get to the rooms but they are large and have all the amenities you would expect.
one small complaint is that the bathroom was cold.
the restaurant and bar were excellent and reasonably priced for the set meal.
both had a fine ambiance and the quality of the food was superb , i would recommend the food to anyone.
the bar area also was fine with a roaring fire and a good selection of drinks.
i hope to be back to visit again for dinner and if i can get the cheaper room rate to stay as well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hawkwind23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Waterside, Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear hawkind23,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments after staying with us in The Station House Hotel. I was happy to read that you enjoyed our convenient yet rural location and found our unique history so interesting. We have taken on board your comments in relation to your room and bathroom. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our cuisine and restaurant atmosphere.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Station House Hotel in the very near future,

Your sincerely,
Linda Moloney
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings. The room was super comfortable and the bathroom was bigger than some hotel rooms we have stayed in. Dinner and breakfast were excellent with plenty of choice and lots of food. Very cosy atmosphere and staff were most helpful and welcoming. There was no wedding on when we were there so it was very peaceful and quiet. Will definately be returning and hopefully very soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gerannDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Waterside, Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear gerannDublin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience whilst staying with us at The Station House Hotel. I was delighted to read that you you enjoyed our rooms, food and cozy atmosphere.

I hope to welcome you back to The Station House Hotel in the very near future.

Your sincerely,
Linda Moloney
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

What a little gem.. Love this place from the minute you walk in there is a lovely welcoming feel. The staff are gorgeous..welcoming and friendly and the Manager / Host is exceptionally professional and nice. The bar is warm and cosy and the restaurant is superb fine dining at its best.. For a little weekend break 45 mins from Glasnevin go go go and enjoy every minute. iTs great.

Room Tip: There was a wedding on and maybe it would be better to check this out before you go. It didnt affect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anners11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Waterside, Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Anners11,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your impression on TripAdvisor. We truly believe that your review will be very useful for other TripAdvisor users that are thinking about staying with us. The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Linda Moloney
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had our wedding ceremony and reception at the Station House Hotel in December and it was an absolutely amazing day. We would have nothing but praise for this hotel and in particular the staff. They were all extremely helpful and friendly. Any requests that we had were looked after with no fuss whatsoever and they made the whole day so relaxing and fun for us. All of our guests were full of praise for the hotel and their staff. The food at the meal was delicious. Overall it was a totally enjoyable experience and they definitely made us feel so special on the day. I would highly recommend the Station House Hotel as a wedding or just as a hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Waterside, Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Sarah L,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your friendly and extensive feedback about your wedding at our hotel. We are delighted to read that you have been very satisfied with our unique services and complementary attentions.

Thank you for pointing out many great aspects like the excellence of our food and our personal service, we truly believe your comments will be very useful to other TripAdvisor users. We are grateful that with our consistent drive for excellence, quality and guest satisfaction we have been able to provide a great stay at The Station House Hotel.

We would like to thank you once again for your remarkable words and we hope to see you once again at The Station House Hotel.

Your sincerely,
Linda Moloney
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I went to the station house for a wedding and was immediately impressed but this was short lived. the bar was too small for 95 people attending a wedding and the bar was incredibly expensive (€8 for a pint), and he wouldnt give us a receipt ever though they had a sign up saying it was policy to issue receipts. I was booked into the cottages and they were not as described. firstly they were not on the grounds and secondly they are not cottages. they are in fact rooms in houses in a housing estate in the village. one of the other guests got a box room even though they booked a family room, they had to climb across the bed to get to other side of the room. our bathtub had cigarette burns melted into the bottom, and the sheets were dirty. we couldnt find the central heating controls and the heat was on full all night. on a good note the food I could not fault, best ive ever had at any wedding, and the reception and waiting staff were very good. the bar staff not so much. wouldnt recommend or return.

Room Tip: book in the hotel not the cottages, and get a receipt from barstaff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AGdublin_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-Waterside, Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear AGdublin_13,

Thank you for taking the time to send TripAdvisor your comments on your stay in The Station House Hotel. I was disappointed to find that you did not have a satisfactory stay with us. We cater for large and small weddings year round. We do accept that not everyone will enjoy the unique characteristics of our property - one of which are the intimate room sizes given the historic nature of the property.

I have checked again with our bar and can not find a pint listed that costs €8.00. It is our policy to issue receipts and this matter has been discussed with the relevant staff members. Our off site accommodation is indeed located a short walk from the Station House Hotel itself and they are houses not cottages. We do not advertise them as cottages.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to send TripAdvisor your comments on The Station House Hotel. We would like to welcome you back to our establishment in the future.

Your sincerely,
Linda Moloney
Sales & Marketing Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmessan
4.1 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
5.1 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
12.8 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 mi away
The Johnstown Estate Hotel
2.4 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
921 reviews
10.7 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station House Hotel

Address: Kilmessan, Kilmessan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Kilmessan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilmessan
Price Range: $119 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Station House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Station House Hotel is a converted train station located in the quiet country village of Kilmessan, Co. Meath. The hotel is owned and run by the Slattery family who take pride in the satisfaction of their customers, including restaurant, conference and wedding guests. They have kept the magic and charm of its former identity but have added to it, a warm and dedicated service that puts it in a class of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Station House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing