We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Station House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilmessan
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
1 review
“A little piece of Heaven”
Reviewed May 11, 2011

The Station House Hotel is a place close to my heart. After finding this hotel almost by accident a few years ago i knew it was the perfect venue to hold our Wedding Reception. From the moment i drove in passed the gardens and to the front of the hotel i just knew this was the place, it took my breath away.

I know most people will say that their wedding day was the best of their life but i really really mean this when i say it and it was all down to the Station House. The build up to the wedding went so smooth with the help of the staff, they couldnt help enough with makin the organisation as easy as possible. Then on the day I was just completely blown away as soon as I arrived. Henry and the girls could not do enough for us, we were treated like king and queen for the day, The food was absolutely amazing and one year on our guests are still raving about what a spectacular day they had. We recently returned to celebrate our 1st anniversary and yet again we had an amazing experience.

I cannot say enough about this place, i will continue to visit regularly.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-StationHH, Front Office Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Hello. Thank you so much for your amazing review and i am glad that you found your 'little piece of heaven' in our hotel. Your review sums up exactly how we want every guest who drives up to our hotel to feel and I am so happy you experienced and enjoyed it all. It was great to have you with us for your 1st year anniversary meal and we wish you many more of them, I just hope you will allow the station house to share in more of them! Best of luck with everything in the future and we look forward to seeing you both again very soon.Aoife
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    100
    55
    46
    28
See reviews for
187
236
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlow, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2011

When the hotel do not have enough room capacity in the hotel itself they place you in a remote converted detached house on an estate. The soundproofing has not been upgraded, very difficult to sleep. The original bedroom space has been reduced to add the tiniest ensuite possible. The shower head water temperature control does not work and is dangerous when the water is hot. The end of the double bed is less than 0.3m from the wall. TV remote had no batteries, no battery compartment cover, just some gaffer tape. Also, check that the breakfast food you like is there before putting on plate as we had to wait 10 minutes for bacon, while the other plated food went cold!

Room Tip: Insist you stay in the hotel proper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajmaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-StationHH, Front Office Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Hello. I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in one of our guesthouses. Our guesthouses are operated and managed by the Station House hotel and we aim to provide the same level of excellent service to all guests equally. We thank you for your comments and we are dealing with all of these issues to ensure all future guests do not feel the dissatisfaction that you have experienced. As the guesthouses and hotel are all under the same management, breakfast is served in the hotel for all guests and I have passed your comments onto the chef about any delays that you have encountered in receiving your requirements. We hope that you will visit the hotel again. Aoife
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Had a family wedding at the Station House and we were very happy with how it all went. The quality of food and variety offered was superb. Service was excellent, nothing was a problem. The hotel is family run, has a very cosy atmosphere and lovely setting so really suited what we were looking for and helped make our day very memorable.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilyw23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-StationHH, Front Office Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Hello. Thank you for commenting on your experience with us at the Station House Hotel. We are very proud of the family run hotel, relaxed atmosphere and exceptional service we have reached at the hotel and I am so happy you could be a part of it. It is our fantastic guests that create the ambience and thank you for contributing. We hope to see you again at the Station House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We have stayed in this hotel twice so far and already looking forward to our next visit. The first time was for our wedding in March 2010 and I have to say i couldn't fault it in any way and am so glad we choose here. The staff were extremely friendly and efficient, the venue is private, romantic, the food was to-die-for and catered for all of our guests dietary requirements . The honeymoon suite is a separate building and amazing. The hotel has such character and and setting is fabulous, we had so many great photo's that we found it hard to choose which one's to use for our album!
A year on and we stayed here again for our anniversary and found it as great as the first time. We had the most mouth watering meal, fantastic wine and friendly service in the signal restaurant. There was a lovely atmosphere in the bar for a few drinks after our meal. Even the bedrooms have character! The next morning we enjoyed a beautiful breakfast before departing.
We honestly can't wait for our next vist and cannot reccommend it highly enough to others for any occassion!
One lasy word of thanks to Henry who helped us through every detail of our wedding and was there again last weekend to greet us.

Best wishes,
Carol & Anthony.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandA193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

We had our wedding reception here on the 25th November 2010 and it was amazing. There is magic in the air here, felt it the moment I got out of the car the first time we went to view the hotel.

The grounds are beautiful, our photos are just amazing! Service is second to none, there is nothing that was too much trouble.

Stand outs are Sarah, Henry and Derek.

I look forward to many years of enjoying this hotel with my husband. We will be back again and again

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenfago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseSlattery, Guest Relations Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Hi Jenfago,

Many thanks for your kind words. We are glad your special wedding day exceeded all your expectations with us and it was a pleasure dealing with you both.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon to the Station House Hotel.

Kind regards,

Sarah Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2011

The staff at the hotel made our wedding day so special. What ever we needed there was always a member of staff waiting to fulfill our dream day. Sarah, Kate and Heny were brilliant!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ptkbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseSlattery, Public Relations Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Hi Ptkbyrne,

Many thanks for the positive words. It was an absolute pleasure looking after you both from beginning to end. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon to the Station House Hotel.

Kind regards,

Sarah Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We recently had our wedding in The Station House Hotel and could never fault a thing, From Sarah (Wedding Planner) Henry (Manager) nothing but pleasent helpful and fun, which is what you want for your big day. Food 10/10........1 complaint I got was too much food!! Bedrooms fab! They couldn't have mad the day better even if they tried....Go check this out for your wedding....the best place ever

Stayed February 2011
Helpful?
Thank bubs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseSlattery, Public Relations Manager at The Station House Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Hi bubs2,

We at the Station House Hotel really appreciate the kind and complimentary words from your review. We strive to make your wedding day as memorable as possible and it is delightful to hear that yourguests were so pleased with their culinary experience.

We sincerely thank you and look forward to welcoming you to the Station House Hotel again very soon.

Kind regards,

Sarah Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmessan
4.1 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
10.7 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,504 reviews
12.8 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
882 reviews
5.1 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
6.1 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station House Hotel

Property: The Station House Hotel
Address: Kilmessan, Kilmessan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Kilmessan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kilmessan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Station House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Station House Hotel is a converted train station located in the quiet country village of Kilmessan, Co. Meath. The hotel is owned and run by the Slattery family who take pride in the satisfaction of their customers, including restaurant, conference and wedding guests. They have kept the magic and charm of its former identity but have added to it, a warm and dedicated service that puts it in a class of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your The Station House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Station Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing