We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit amateurish, needs to be better given its location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gormanston
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Bit amateurish, needs to be better given its location”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

They completely messed up the booking and failed to send a confirmation email, meaning I only found out about the mistake by phoning the day before. They did rescue the situation a bit by slashing the price and chucking in free breakfasts and airport transfers. Arriving was not good though, the airport transfer was 30 mins late due to "traffic" which seemed non-existant when we were on our way? The hotel is quite a long way from anywhere and it looks like a 60s office block, but inside it's nice enough. Rooms were ok, bit squashed given they'd messed up our inter-connecting room but not too bad. Breakfast good and efficient. Staff really friendly. Nothing special enough though to warrant such a remote hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityNorth, Director of Sales at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest
thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are so very sorry that you did not receive your email confirmation which led to an error in the room type you were provided with. I am really pleased to read that our offer of a reduced price, free breakfast and shuttle transfers went some way to making up for our error. Delighted too that you enjoyed your breakfast, found the staff friendly, and the interior of the hotel nice.

I have alerted our reception team and are reviewing how the error occured.
With many thanks.
Kind regards
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    271
    115
    60
    56
See reviews for
297
276
37
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone as they treat there customers extremely badly with no professionalism at all. We booked rooms for September needing to be in the area as they new and because they had oversold the hotel wanted to book us out to Blanchestown which was miles from where we need to be as we were over for a funeral in Balbriggan.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I met a friend there yesterday for something to eat, the service was slow the place was freezing and requested several times if the air conditioning could be adjusted but never was, prices expensive quality of food bad and served cold, not very pleasant staff, very slow to serve but very quick to grab plates back when still eating, will not visit again.

Room Tip: bad service will not visit again
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ginnyjo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityNorth, Director of Sales at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Reviewer
I am really shocked to read your review as this is absolutely not our standard levels. We receive so many lovely comments about our staff being friendly and it would be simply unthinkable that plates would be grabbed from someone whilst eating.

We are in the process of reviewing this complaint in detail as we take your comments very seriously indeed.

Kind regards
Andrea Cawley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This Hotel has got to be one of if not the BEST hotel for weddings or for a stay, we got married there on the 31st August and i cannot fault the hotel, the only problem i had was that we had to leave. Ryan Walker who was our coordinator has got to be the best in the business along with Barbara. Anything we asked them for they provided and went above and beyond. If you want to have a wedding/party/christening etc i would highly reccomend the Citynorth Hotel in fact its a no brainer to have it anywhere else.

Thank You so much Ryan without you and your team we would have so many fantastic memories of our day.

Barry & Nicola

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbar16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityNorth, Director of Sales at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Barry and Nicola
warmest congratulations to you both! All the team loved helping you celebrate your special day. Thank you so much for the wonderful review.
All the best
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We held our daughter's wedding reception in City north hotel on September 7th, Emma and George were highly recommended this Hotel, and we can honestly say the Hotel lived up to it's reputation. Ryan the Manager was excellent, very helpful and professional, all the staff were friendly, nothing was a bother to them, a special word of thanks to the reception staff. The reception room was decorated with great attention to detail, and our guest's were well impressed.
The food was served with efficiency, and Ryan made sure everything ran smoothly, there was plenty of food and we were all offered second helping's. The rooms were very comfortable ,bright and airy. we did not hear one complaint from our guests. Overall we were very happy with Citynorth, and we would recommend the Hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and we had no bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BredaFarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityNorth, Director of Sales at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for the gorgeous review. We are so delighted that you enjoyed such a special day with us here at CityNorth. Warmest congratulations from all the team to Emma and George.
All the best
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night as we were flying from Dublin airport to Venice the following morning at 6:15am. We paid €73 for a room only rate but this included free car parking at the hotel for the duration of our trip and free shuttle buses to and from the hotel. We found this to be excellent value for money given the cost of long term parking at the airport. The staff in the hotel were all very friendly and helpful and we could not fault our room or the hotel facilities. The only negative was that our room became extremely warm during the night which made getting to sleep very difficult. This is not ideal when you have to be up at 3:30am!

Overall we were impressed with this hotel and would stay again if we have an early flight out of Dublin.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTravellerNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityNorth, Director of Sales at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest
thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate your kind comments. We are indeed convenient for Dublin Airport and so pleased to read that your stay with us was a nice start for your trip to Venice.

Thanks so much again.
Kind regards
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is one of the best places to stay around the city, close to the airport and transport there and back, rooms are plain but grand for the price, staff are very efficient and get the job done very well. The motorway noise is not too loud, even on the upper floors. One note of caution, don't expect a high quality breakfast, a bit bland and mass production. The tea we were served was tasting of some kind of chemical, possibly strong delf cleaner, had to be abandoned in favour of good coffee from their machine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 37traveller37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityNorth, Director of Sales at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest
thank you so much for your valuable feedback. We are delighted you found our location convenient, we are indeed a very short spin to Dublin City, Croke Park, the O2 etc. I am really glad too that you found us to be value for money.

I am disappointed to read that you found the breakfast on offer disappointing - we try to offer plenty of choice with our combination of full Irish and continental options available.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Kind regards
Andrea Cawley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gormanston
10.1 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,374 reviews
6.3 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,141 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
319 reviews
5.3 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
17.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: Junction 7 | M1, Gormanston, Ireland (Formerly CityNorth Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Gormanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gormanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CityNorth Hotel is a contemporary 4 star hotel that combines high standards of hospitality and service, stylish bedrooms and excellent value with a very accessible location, just 15 minutes from Dublin Airport, in the famed Boyne Valley Region. Facilities include free parking, free Wi-fi, 24 hour mini-bus service to and from Dublin Airport €10 each way & family of four (2 adults, 2 children)€20 each way, fitness suite, outdoor playground, children's games room, treatment room and local heritage trails with free audio guide. Guests can enjoy an extensive bar menu or daily carvery lunch in the relaxing Tara Lounge or choose a Table d'hote evening menu in the Mornington Restaurant. Live music in the Tara Lounge every Friday and Saturday evening from 9pm. Matthews Coaches runs a regular bus service from the hotel and serves Dublin City Centre and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City North Gormanston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing