We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gormanston
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had a fabulous time in this hotel, they hospitality was excellent, staff were very friendly, rooms were lovely food was excellent, and great entertainment for children. Nothing was a problem lots of information available about Balbriggan and a lovely Beach in Bettystown which was only a short drive away. Would highly recommend they hotel..

Thank you..

Room Tip: Rooms at front are quieter for sleeping with young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityNorth, Director of Sales at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest
am so truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay.

Many thanks again for your wonderful comments.
Kind regards
Andrea Cawley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    277
    122
    60
    58
See reviews for
307
284
38
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
315 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We booked this hotel primarily because of the free parking dealing for holiday makers flying out of Dublin Airport.

We got a pleasant surprise with the standard of this hotel - see photograph of room. It is right up there in terms of comfort, value etc. However it is marketed as '15 mins from the Airport' but that claim only applies to 'Formula 1 drivers'!!

We had an early flight so opted for the 4am ride to the airport. We loaded up the transit vehicle only to discover there was insufficient fuel for the journey. So we switched to a second vehicle but lost 15 mins (delay) in the process. The journey to Dublin Airport took 23 mins at 4.16am and then we took almost 10 additional minutes to walk to Terminal Two because the bus stand is rather remote. In our case none of this mattered as we had plenty of time prior to our 6.45am flight but I can imagine others being 'sucked in' by the 15 minute claim.

Incidentally the ride back to the hotel two weeks later was 22 minutes at 12.30pm.

All in all it is a fantastic deal and I will certainly use it again on the basis of allowing 25-30 mins.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDinNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityNorth, Director of Sales at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you so very much for your review. I am delighted to read that you are planning a return visit and we look very much forward to welcoming you back.

The 15 minute time is an average which we regularly check in order to gve accurate timing information for our guests. Unfortunately the drop points within the airport are not within our control and is the drop off point allocated to all hotels. We do advise Terminal 2 passengers to leave a little more time.

Once again we really appreciate your feedback and kind comments and are really pleased you'll be returning.

With kind regards and sincere thanks.
Andrea Cawley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay in this hotel the staff where great and they provided a kids club from 5.30pm to 9.00pm, which was great for us.
The small seaside resorts of Balbriggan and Bettystown are worth a visit and there are some nice walks in the area.
The only downside for me was the food, although well presented, I found the quality poor, with the food being very flavourless.

Room Tip: There was a bit of traffic noise on the motorway side of the hotel, which persisted well into the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityNorth, Director of Sales at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest
so very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at CityNorth and that your children enjoyed the Kids Club and local attractions.

We do try to design our menu options in the carvery, the bar menu and the restaurant to provide options for all tastes and I am sorry to hear that the food you received was lacking in flavour.

I have passed on your lovely comments to our staff and really appreciate you taking the time to give them such kind praise.

All the best and with genuine appreication.
Andrea Cawely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buncrana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have recently been using another hotel when in Dublin overnight (corporate decision not personal decision) but I have reverted back to the City North as the other hotels lack the plain common sense that underpins customer service when the summer arrives. The receptionists are always friendly and aware of the needs and expectations of the customers should that be families (who seem to have astounding numbers of children) or business traveller. However since my last review in Feb 2012 I must complement the hotel on the improvement in the food service in the Lounge. The quality has improved dramatically and the addition of an evening carvery is most welcome, the Lounge has lost its air of self importance and a fresh ambiance has added greatly to enjoyment of my stay in the hotel. What has pleased me most this summer is despite the invasion of what seems hundreds of families "little darlings" it has not spoiled the enjoyment of my stay over the last few weeks. I am a bit curmudgeonly when it comes to families who occupy reception desks for long periods, children who view corridors as places for 60M sprints and trying to get into lifts with mothers with a crying infant and 2/3 other kids who all want to ask questions and push the buttons at the same time. However in City North this is not a problem, everybody is treated the same, business people are not inconvenienced by the families and corridors are free of budding sprinters. All in all I continue to enjoy my visits to City North.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityNorth, Director of Sales at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest
we are truly delighted to read your superb review. Thank you so very much for taking the time to provide such fantastic feedback and for returning to CityNorth Hotel.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed our lovely new bar menu and carvery options which offer a more casual dining experience to the restaurant.

We introduced our Kids Club and some friendly house rules in an effort to make sure that all our guests throughout the busy summer months enjoy their stay and it is really nice to read such positive feedback.

With sincere thanks and kind regards
Andrea Cawley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Airport stopover, could not have been better we arrived on Saturday 6th July to travel to the airport Mini Bus standing at front door awaiting our arrival, on our return on 20th July our flight was around 30 minutes late but no problem the bus was again there waiting. Our overnight stay at the hotel was excellent, we had dinner shortly after arriving and the menu and food was of high standard equally breakfast was super. Rooms were perfect in every way, and the friendly staff made it a lovely stay. Will be back again.

Thank you

Terry Devlin

Room Tip: rooms at rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryDCarrickfergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityNorth, Director of Sales at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest
such a lovely review! Thank you so very much. We are so very happy to ready that you enjoyed our stay, park and fly service. Our 24/7 shuttle service with our lovely, friendly drivers combined with our ample parking facilities certainly make us a great option to start your business or leisure airport trip.

So pleased you enjoyed your food and that our staff made your stay an enjoyable one.

We so very much appreciate you taking the time to give such lovely feedback.

Kind regards and hoping to welcome you back for a return visit.

Kind regards
Andrea Cawley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

i stayed for 2 nights there and had a great time. the staff are really friendly and helpful. very pleased with the rooms. very clean and comfortable. i had 2 young kids with me and they had a ball. not far away from funtasia either so its a good location. will definetely be back very soon.

Room Tip: we had a family room on the 3rd floor. no noise at all. air con was fantastic as the weather was rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickyceltic1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityNorth, Director of Sales at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest
am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Holidays are so important and we love to read that you had such a nice time and are planning a return visit. So nice too that your children had fun at Funtasia.

So very pleased to read that our staff were so welcoming and helped you enjoy your stay. Your kind feedback has been passed on to the team.

With sincere thanks.
Andrea Cawley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed for one night
Dinner very nice with a limited wine list.
Rooms good but too warm as air con only go to 19'C as a minimum
Pillows rock hard!
Breakfast 12.50 a bit on the expensive side.
6/10!from me

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cjhodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityNorth, Director of Sales at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest
thank you so very much for your feedback. Regarding our breakfast we do offer a rate of €10 when pre-booked and the €12.50 applies as a non-booked rate. We hope that the fantastic array of full Irish breakfast, fruits, cereals, pastries, cheese and meats offered a nice selection with value for money.

The air conditioning would be standard in hotels and set to offer a pleasant temperature although we realise with the exceptionally hot weather there has been times when a really chilly level would be nice!

Am delighted to read that you enjoyed your dinner.

With kind regards
Andrea Cawley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gormanston
10.1 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,427 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
773 reviews
6.3 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
336 reviews
15.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
13.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: Junction 7 | M1, Gormanston, Ireland (Formerly CityNorth Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Gormanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gormanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CityNorth Hotel is a contemporary 4 star hotel that combines high standards of hospitality and service, stylish bedrooms and excellent value with a very accessible location, just 15 minutes from Dublin Airport, in the famed Boyne Valley Region. Facilities include free parking, free Wi-fi, 24 hour mini-bus service to and from Dublin Airport €10 each way & family of four (2 adults, 2 children)€20 each way, fitness suite, outdoor playground, children's games room, treatment room and local heritage trails with free audio guide. Guests can enjoy an extensive bar menu or daily carvery lunch in the relaxing Tara Lounge or choose a Table d'hote evening menu in the Mornington Restaurant. Live music in the Tara Lounge every Friday and Saturday evening from 9pm. Matthews Coaches runs a regular bus service from the hotel and serves Dublin City Centre and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City North Gormanston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing