We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gormanston
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Weekend away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay in this hotel the staff where great and they provided a kids club from 5.30pm to 9.00pm, which was great for us.
The small seaside resorts of Balbriggan and Bettystown are worth a visit and there are some nice walks in the area.
The only downside for me was the food, although well presented, I found the quality poor, with the food being very flavourless.

Room Tip: There was a bit of traffic noise on the motorway side of the hotel, which persisted well into the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityNorth, Director of Sales at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest
so very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at CityNorth and that your children enjoyed the Kids Club and local attractions.

We do try to design our menu options in the carvery, the bar menu and the restaurant to provide options for all tastes and I am sorry to hear that the food you received was lacking in flavour.

I have passed on your lovely comments to our staff and really appreciate you taking the time to give them such kind praise.

All the best and with genuine appreication.
Andrea Cawely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    270
    114
    58
    53
See reviews for
290
275
35
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buncrana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have recently been using another hotel when in Dublin overnight (corporate decision not personal decision) but I have reverted back to the City North as the other hotels lack the plain common sense that underpins customer service when the summer arrives. The receptionists are always friendly and aware of the needs and expectations of the customers should that be families (who seem to have astounding numbers of children) or business traveller. However since my last review in Feb 2012 I must complement the hotel on the improvement in the food service in the Lounge. The quality has improved dramatically and the addition of an evening carvery is most welcome, the Lounge has lost its air of self importance and a fresh ambiance has added greatly to enjoyment of my stay in the hotel. What has pleased me most this summer is despite the invasion of what seems hundreds of families "little darlings" it has not spoiled the enjoyment of my stay over the last few weeks. I am a bit curmudgeonly when it comes to families who occupy reception desks for long periods, children who view corridors as places for 60M sprints and trying to get into lifts with mothers with a crying infant and 2/3 other kids who all want to ask questions and push the buttons at the same time. However in City North this is not a problem, everybody is treated the same, business people are not inconvenienced by the families and corridors are free of budding sprinters. All in all I continue to enjoy my visits to City North.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityNorth, Director of Sales at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest
we are truly delighted to read your superb review. Thank you so very much for taking the time to provide such fantastic feedback and for returning to CityNorth Hotel.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed our lovely new bar menu and carvery options which offer a more casual dining experience to the restaurant.

We introduced our Kids Club and some friendly house rules in an effort to make sure that all our guests throughout the busy summer months enjoy their stay and it is really nice to read such positive feedback.

With sincere thanks and kind regards
Andrea Cawley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Airport stopover, could not have been better we arrived on Saturday 6th July to travel to the airport Mini Bus standing at front door awaiting our arrival, on our return on 20th July our flight was around 30 minutes late but no problem the bus was again there waiting. Our overnight stay at the hotel was excellent, we had dinner shortly after arriving and the menu and food was of high standard equally breakfast was super. Rooms were perfect in every way, and the friendly staff made it a lovely stay. Will be back again.

Thank you

Terry Devlin

Room Tip: rooms at rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryDCarrickfergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityNorth, Director of Sales at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest
such a lovely review! Thank you so very much. We are so very happy to ready that you enjoyed our stay, park and fly service. Our 24/7 shuttle service with our lovely, friendly drivers combined with our ample parking facilities certainly make us a great option to start your business or leisure airport trip.

So pleased you enjoyed your food and that our staff made your stay an enjoyable one.

We so very much appreciate you taking the time to give such lovely feedback.

Kind regards and hoping to welcome you back for a return visit.

Kind regards
Andrea Cawley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

i stayed for 2 nights there and had a great time. the staff are really friendly and helpful. very pleased with the rooms. very clean and comfortable. i had 2 young kids with me and they had a ball. not far away from funtasia either so its a good location. will definetely be back very soon.

Room Tip: we had a family room on the 3rd floor. no noise at all. air con was fantastic as the weather was rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mickyceltic1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityNorth, Director of Sales at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest
am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Holidays are so important and we love to read that you had such a nice time and are planning a return visit. So nice too that your children had fun at Funtasia.

So very pleased to read that our staff were so welcoming and helped you enjoy your stay. Your kind feedback has been passed on to the team.

With sincere thanks.
Andrea Cawley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed for one night
Dinner very nice with a limited wine list.
Rooms good but too warm as air con only go to 19'C as a minimum
Pillows rock hard!
Breakfast 12.50 a bit on the expensive side.
6/10!from me

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cjhodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityNorth, Director of Sales at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest
thank you so very much for your feedback. Regarding our breakfast we do offer a rate of €10 when pre-booked and the €12.50 applies as a non-booked rate. We hope that the fantastic array of full Irish breakfast, fruits, cereals, pastries, cheese and meats offered a nice selection with value for money.

The air conditioning would be standard in hotels and set to offer a pleasant temperature although we realise with the exceptionally hot weather there has been times when a really chilly level would be nice!

Am delighted to read that you enjoyed your dinner.

With kind regards
Andrea Cawley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently with my husband on a deal we got on pigsback. Great value at €89 for 1 nights bed and breakfast for 2 people in an executive room. With a bottle of bubbly on arrival,main course each,early check in and late check out. And we definately were not disappointed. The check in was quick and friendly with Francisco giving us all the info about food,breakfast etc. The room was very spacious and clean. Fresh fruit,bottled water,dressing gowns etc. We headed down to the lavender garden for a few drinks as the weather was lovely. Then we decided to have our food in the Tara lounge. There was carvery on that day so we both had the roast beef. And we both thoroughly enjoyed it. The beef was very tender and the veg and potatoes accompanying it was nicely cooked too. We found all the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. The hotel was quite busy that day,with a lot of families there. They do deals inconjunction with Tayto park and Funtasia water park so I think that was a big factor. Plus they do a kids club which is great for the parents/adults. Later on that night we were feeling peckish and were delighted to find out that they do fresh pizza until 4am! The following morning we headed down for breakfast. We weren't dissapointed with the selection. They had plenty of juices,pastries,yogurts,fresh fruit etc. Aswel as a full cooked breakfast. They also have free tea and coffee in the lobby if your on the go. Once again at check out we dealt with Francisco. Just as friendly as at check in. All in all it was a lovely hotel,with friendly staff and we would definately return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DunneandDusted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityNorth, Director of Sales at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest
thank you so much for your wonderfully detailed and comprehensive review. Thanks so much for taking the time to provide such fantastic feedback. I am so very glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we would love to welcome you back for another visit.

Your kind comments regarding Fran have been passed on and so glad that all of the other staff were so welcoming too.

Sincere thanks again for such a lovely review.
All the best
Andrea Cawley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just back from a 5 night stay with my husband and two children. We found the price for the dinner, bed and breakfast package very reasonable, particularily considering the high quality of the food in the restaurant. We also ate in the lounge on one evening, and though the food was tasty, we found the set up of the carvery too casual for our liking.

The restaurant staff appeared to be quite inexperienced, and inefficient with their time, lots of going in and out to the kitchen with one item at a time, however nothing that took from our own dining experience.We noticed that a large table near us, who were having a 40th Birthday dinner took quite some time for everyone at the table to be served their main course, and thought that at such an early stage in the evening this should have gone a lot smoother and quicker. Nonetheless, I would return to this hotel for the food alone, all of the meals we had over the course of the 5 days were fresh, vibrant and exciting..... I can still taste the Grilled Chicken Supreme with the roasted beets and sweets...... delicious!!!!!!!

My children ate from the kids menu, and while my son was happy with the usual fare of junior burger, chicken goujons, etc, my daughter is more of a meat and two veg kind of girl, so the waitress suggested a half portion of the carvery from the lounge, which went down a treat, particularily the mouthwatering beef.

The room was comfortable and clean. My only wish there would be for more drawers or hanging space, but we made do. There was a small park for young children on the grounds, however mine were more impressed with the games room, with complimentary use of the Wii, pool table and air hockey table. The supervised kids club is open from 5.30pm to 9pm, however mine just went along for an hour after dinner, when they could watch a movie, paint or play. This gave my husband and I an hour to ourselves for an after dinner drink in the bar just down the hall.

The only un-enjoyable part of our stay was the early morning sing songs and banter in the patio area and hallway of a large football group, two nights in a row, who unfortunately had rooms surrounding ours. I understand though that the hotel cannot be blamed for the immense lack of respect that some people have for others at 4am after a night of drinking. We, and others, complained to management and the situation was handled well. I would recommend though, asking for a room at the rear of the hotel, away from the possible noise from the smokers patio area.

I would certainly return with my family in the future. The hotel is ideally situated for a whole host of activities, such as a trip to the Zoo, Tayto Park, Balbriggan Beach, Funtasia Waterpark, Funtasia Bettystown and the Pavillions in Swords

All members of staff we encountered were very friendly and polite, the accomodation is reasonably priced, the rooms were comfy, the location is great and the food is superb, what more would you want really?

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel if you want to avoid noise from the smokers patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahersbars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityNorth, Director of Sales at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest
sincere thanks for your lovely review. It is so very kind of you to take the time to provide us with such feedback. We are delighted that you and your children enjoyed your 5 day stay - there really is so much to see and do locally we'll hope to welcome you back!

Thanks too for the wonderful comments on our delicious food offerings - your comments have been passed onto our head chef. Thanks too for the comments re staff - we are always striving to improve our service and constantly invest in training for our seasonal junior employees.

The large football group did indeed cause some disruption and we are so very sorry about that. I am glad to read that the situation was well managed by the team here.

Once again, thank you for coming to stay and thank you too for the lovely review.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Andrea Cawley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gormanston
10.1 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
6.3 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
5.3 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
6.6 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: Junction 7 | M1, Gormanston, Ireland (Formerly CityNorth Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Gormanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gormanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CityNorth Hotel is a contemporary 4 star hotel that combines high standards of hospitality and service, stylish bedrooms and excellent value with a very accessible location, just 15 minutes from Dublin Airport, in the famed Boyne Valley Region. Facilities include free parking, free Wi-fi, 24 hour mini-bus service to and from Dublin Airport €10 each way & family of four (2 adults, 2 children)€20 each way, fitness suite, outdoor playground, children's games room, treatment room and local heritage trails with free audio guide. Guests can enjoy an extensive bar menu or daily carvery lunch in the relaxing Tara Lounge or choose a Table d'hote evening menu in the Mornington Restaurant. Live music in the Tara Lounge every Friday and Saturday evening from 9pm. Matthews Coaches runs a regular bus service from the hotel and serves Dublin City Centre and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City North Gormanston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing