We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a fantastic short family break in the CityNorth Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gormanston
Moville, Donegal, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had a fantastic short family break in the CityNorth Hotel”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the hotel with 2 small children and it was great. We paid €249 for 2 adults & 2 children B&B for 2 nights also included in the price were tickets to Funtasia Water Park and Tayto Park for us all. Great value. I would really recommend this Hotel, every member of staff was so nice and very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityNorth, Director of Sales at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest
so happy that you enjoyed your family stay with us and enjoyed our great value family packages. I am so very pleased that our staff provided you with a warm welcome and helped you enjoy your stay. Your lovely comments have been shared with the team.

Thank you so very much.
With kind regards
Andrea Cawley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    282
    124
    61
    58
See reviews for
313
288
38
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We paid £85 for a double room with dinner and breakfast which turned out to be great value. We wern't sure what to expect as we were only staying for the one night to meet family before they flew out of Dublin airport to Florida. The best value for money is the parking! They paid the same price as we did and got 5 weeks free parking aswell as a free shuttle to and from the airport!

The rooms were very spacious and clean so no problems there. Breakfast was also great! Loads of choice and everything was warm and fresh. The only downside was dinner. A carvery was provided but not great choice and a lot of confusion with what was included and how to pay. But food itself was very good.

Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_4090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityNorth, Director of Sales at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest

so very happy to read your lovely comments and to hear that you enjoyed your stay, breakfast and dinner with us.

Although we have introduced a very small charge for parking we are delighted to say that we still offer 7 days free parking for the stay, park and fly - and still free of charge for the duration of your stay. Days over 7 parked are still really good value at just €3 per day.

We do hope to welcome you back very soon for a return visit.

With kind regards
Andrea Cawley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We managed to get a night away with dinner for €89 at the City North and it was worth twice that. The hotel was exceptionally busy but we had no problem getting dinner in the dining room when we wanted it and the rooms were really quite all night. Impeccably clean rooms and hotel in general, really feels 4 star. Breakfast in bed in the morning was gorgeous and our stay included a late check out. I would definitely recommend this hotel. My only tiny niggle was that the voucher included a bottle of champage on arrival and it was a bottle of cheap Perry - two glasses of champagne would have made a better impression than the large bottle of cheap plonk or even a small bottle of sparkling wine, but it was the smallest hitch in an otherwise perfect stay. The food in the restaurant is amazing too!

Room Tip: The third floor was very quiet and even though the room faced the motorway it was not too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityNorth, Director of Sales at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest
thank you so very much for your fantastic review. We so appreciate your lovely comments. So delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us too.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the bottle of sparkling wine which we have taken on board. More recent offers have included a lovely glass of house wine per guest to avoid disappointment.

Thank you so very much once again for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback.

With kindest regards
Andrea Cawley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I had a unplanned stay at the CityNorth Hotel in late May 2013 due to my inability to catch a flight out of Belfast. A work colleague recommended it and it did not disappoint. Although the property is somewhat removed from Dublin and the airport, it's still a great place to stay. They have a great bar with a nice selection of Irish and European beers. The bar stays open very late in the evening (like 2+AM). The wifi signal was strong throughout the property. There was a nice patio outside and a brand new playscape for kids across the parking lot. My room faced the east (overlooking the motorway with Irish Sea in the distance). My room was spotless clean with a twin and a double/queen.

You can catch the Matthews bus into the city from the adjacent street for 9EUR each way or 14EUR roundtrip and it drops you at one end of O'Connell St. (with free wifi onboard!). http://commuter.matthews.ie/images/pdf/City_North_Timetable.pdf

In the morning, Jimmy game me a ride on the complimentary transfer to DUB. He was so nice and genial. I forgot who worked the desk that morning but he brought me a coffee while I waited for the shuttle. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duhey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityNorth, Director of Sales at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest
we loved reading your superb review. You provided future guests with such fantastic feedback and an insight into the facilities we offer here at CityNorth. We are so pleased that whilst your trip was unplanned it was enjoyable nonetheless!

Hoping to welcome you back for a return visit in the future.
With kind regards
Andrea Cawley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Lovely stay at City North for the Bon Jovi concert at Slane. The bus transfer was included in the price and the service was excellent. We ate in the bar and the food was very tasty, only slight grumble was that the menu on the website was different from that available in the bar the night we went.

Room was very clean, no room for complaint there, my issue was with the double bed, which I found the mattress to be much too hard for my taste. Many others would love the firmness, but I found it uncomfortable. The pillows, blankets etc were very good quality though.

Receptionist was lovely and welcoming and we found all the staff to be very pleasant. Good gym facility, loved the ipod dock so you could plug your own music in.

Would def return again as it's a lovely modern facility and has lots of good amenities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityNorth, Director of Sales at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest
so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us for Slane. I am so very pleased that as well as attending the concert you got to enjoy some of the lovely facilities on site.

We do hope you'll come and stay again.
With kind regards
Andrea Cawley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Found this hotel as was recommended through the Funtasia Waterpark site. On visiting the hotels own site I booked the 2 nights B&B with 2 day passes to the Waterpark and Tayto Factory. The hotel was excellent and was able to provide us with our passes for Funtasia and had booked us in to the Tayto Factory the next taking the responsiblity away from us.

Hotel is beautiful inside, rooms was spacious and staff that we could not fault. One member of staff went out of her way to help us gather information we needed. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and again the staff made us feel very welcome.

Will certainly be planning another trip to hotel soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityNorth, Director of Sales at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest

thanks so much for the wonderful comments, in particular regarding our staff. We have passed on your kind feedback to them.

We are so happy that you enjoyed our family packages and even happier to hear that you are planning a return visit!

With kind regards and great appreciation.
Andrea Cawley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Myself and my wife had a plesant stay her for our Wedding Anniversary. The Hotel is in a quiet area with handy access to the motorway.
The Hotel is very clean and tidy with free wifi. We had dinner in the Bar which was very tasty and had a few drinks also.
I must say the pints of Guinness we delicious one of the tastiest ive had even in comparrison to the Guinness Store.
Our breakfast was a great selection of cereals, fruit and buffet style cooked breakfast where you helped yourself.

I noticed they have some special offer packages on for familys in conjunction with Tayto Park and Funtasia so I think I will certainly be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityNorth, Director of Sales at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest
so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us for such a lovely celebration. Delighted to read that you enjoyed dinner and breakfast and of course the Guinness!

We are so glad you are thinking of a return visit with your family. Our facilities here are great for children and with Tayto Park and Funtasia on our doorstep there is plenty to stay busy!

All the very best and with many thanks.
Andrea Cawley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gormanston
10.1 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,471 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
782 reviews
6.3 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
342 reviews
3.8 mi away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
250 reviews
10.6 mi away
Ashbourne Court Hotel
Ashbourne Court Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ashbourne
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: Junction 7 | M1, Gormanston, Ireland (Formerly CityNorth Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Gormanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gormanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CityNorth Hotel is a contemporary 4 star hotel that combines high standards of hospitality and service, stylish bedrooms and excellent value with a very accessible location, just 15 minutes from Dublin Airport, in the famed Boyne Valley Region. Facilities include free parking, free Wi-fi, 24 hour mini-bus service to and from Dublin Airport €10 each way & family of four (2 adults, 2 children)€20 each way, fitness suite, outdoor playground, children's games room, treatment room and local heritage trails with free audio guide. Guests can enjoy an extensive bar menu or daily carvery lunch in the relaxing Tara Lounge or choose a Table d'hote evening menu in the Mornington Restaurant. Live music in the Tara Lounge every Friday and Saturday evening from 9pm. Matthews Coaches runs a regular bus service from the hotel and serves Dublin City Centre and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City North Gormanston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing