We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but unruly guests”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gormanston
Limerick
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but unruly guests”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Have to say I found the hotel lovely, staff were lovely - well except for one girl on reception who was a bit abrupt (poss a language thing??) Food on the whole was lovely. The room was spotlessly clean and had everything I needed. Lovely library filled with local books I would have liked to have time to read. About 20 mins from Dublin at the side of the M1
So why didn't it get full marks??? I stayed 2 nights as part of a conference, and both nights were disturbed by noisy guests. Friday wasn't too bad, but Saturday night was dreadful, I was on the 6th floor towards the end of the corridor and was woken at 1am, 3am, 4am and the worst was at 6am when a guest (male) couldn't get into his room and decided to bang and kick on his door yelling at his room mates to open the door. someone went out and asked him to be quiet but this went on for 30 mins.
Complained at reception in the morning and got the impression that this wasn't the first time. So why not do something about it??

Room Tip: Stay away from wedding / function guest rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngeldaisyLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladonna M, Manager at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest

We are very glad that you enjoyed our hotel facilities but deeply disappointed that the behaviour of one particular party contributed to a negative experience. Let me assure you that guest comfort remains our absolute priority at CityNorth Hotel. Kind regards L.McCartan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    277
    122
    60
    58
See reviews for
307
284
38
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor County Down
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

As long as you know that the location is some distance from Dublin then you may not be disappointed. Good rate found on the internet for a one night business stopover.
Reception very helpful. Room showing some wear and tear.
Breakfast was a disappointment with dreadful coffee. Cold buffet meant to have a selection of cold meats but there were none. No toast offered with continental breakfast.
Receptionist did drop the price to compensate.
Workmanlike approach and helpful reception staff. Would make it 3 and half stars if I could.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tangotangocharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladonna M, Manager at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we hear you. Some very recent changes to our breakfast offering(including a change in coffee supplier and dedicated staff re-training) is part of an overall strategic review and upgrade of our entire food offering at the hotel. We think you will be pleased with the results. Regards L.McCartan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Clean, modern hotel that was spoiled by some problems. Wakeup calls for both us and our traveling companions were totally missed (and our flight was the next morning; fortunately we woke up and checked the clock.

A noisy wedding party kept our friends awake until 3AM, when they had to call the desk and complain.

Pretty good price for a Dublin area room- add a full Irish breakfast for two for 10 Euro/room, and an airport shuttle for 4 Euro - takes around 15-20 minutes, leaves on the hour. But apart from the airport convenience, I wouldn't make it my destination.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DadB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladonna M, Manager at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Your feedback is duly noted and highly valuable given the popularity of CityNorth Hotel for stay park and fly guests using Dublin Airport. I deeply regret any discomfort you experienced from other guests attending a function here during your stay and trust that this matter was swiftly attended to by night staff. Many of our guests choose CityNorth Hotel because it offers the convenience of a highly accessible location with a wide selection of holiday options. Look closer and you will see the extent of the sporting activities, festivals, historic attractions and unique or world famous places to explore nearby - if it is an authentic Irish holiday experience that you seek. Our reception team (most of whom live in the locality) are only too happy to share their tips with you!. Enjoy the glorious Meath coastline (home to Europe's last remaining strand horse racing competition), mingle with the locals in quaint rural villages dotted in the hinterland. Visit some of Irelands most famous heritage sites nearby such as Newgrange within the historic Boyne Valley. Golfing on our local links courses remains as popular as as our art themed week-ends at the hotel. Wander around historic Drogheda or check out the weekly farmers stalls in the buzzing market town Balbriggan - all on our doorstep. You can pick up public transport directly at the hotel and be in Drogheda (15 minutes) or Dublin city centre (30 minutes) avoiding traffic & car parking hassles! And all at very keen pricing (as you kindly referred to) given the high level of service and 4 star hotel standards. We hope you might reconsider a return visit to CityNorth Hotel and explore Irelands spectacular East coast. Kind regards, L.McCartan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed over the Halloween weekend on a SuperValu weekend break. Great value and great service. The food was first class. Bar area was very busy and great to just sit and watch the world go by. The hotel is situated just off the motorway to Dublin, but closer to Drogheda. This was our first stay and I was very impressed with the Hotel. They had laid on entertainment for the kids, movies and a kiddies disco/ art and crafts etc. With a movie each night so that we adults could eat in peace for a change! Kids had a ball and enjoyed every minute. They also had a very well equipped games room (people in other reviews have complained about it not always being open), we found that if you asked at reception you could have easy access without any hassle. Pay a small deposit which you get back when you leave the equipment you borrow back!! No probs.

We visited Tayto land and enjoyed it, plenty for kids of all ages to see and do. We also visited Funtasia in Bettystown which was smaller than I had expected but otherwise just an indoor amusements which kept the kids happy for an hour or two.

We also had a trip to Funtasia in Drogheda that has a waterpark at it. We where very impressed with the facilities there. The pool is more like a mixture of water slides and play areas with two big water flume rides which my two children loved (8 & 6) plus once you pay in you can stay for as long as you want!

Would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladonna M, Manager at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your family break with us and hope to welcome you back again next mid term. Regards, L.McCartan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great hotel. Really clean and rooms are very modern and comfortable. The bar is great very relaxing. The food is delicious. But Its in the middle of nowhere, I stayed with my family for a short stay, the kids were very bored nothing to do there. Great for a stop off stay only.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa05_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladonna M, Manager at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

We have numerous facilities on site for children of all ages including childrens outdoor playground, bicycle hire and route trails, games room with Wii and X box games, air hockey, fussball and a pool room. There are movies & DVD players on loan from reception. For a really great day out, we offer fantastic packages at Taytopark, Funtasia entertainment centre or Irelands largest Waterpark - all within striking distance of the hotel. Come back soon and have a really great family break! Regards, L.McCartan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

What a lovely hotel. great staff all around, service absolutely top class. had to change hotels as first was disaster. Joanne at reception was a star. great few days in a really lovely environment with a nice mix of clientele which was refreshing. we have three boys aged 8,6,4. Food in bar top notch and good value. kids stayed and dined free...breakfast was fab... no kids club but games room, play areas indoors and outdoors. saw really nice parts of north county dublin...balbriggan lusk naul very scenic. finished w TAyto pk which was included in deal and loved by all. hotel also near beach in Bettystown but didnt get there this time. Would def go back! Well done City North Hotel rm 219

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steffitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladonna M, Manager at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you had a chance to discover so much of what the area has to offer during your recent stay. Thank you for the kind comments regarding your experience of our high service levels, which I have shared with the hotel team. L.McCartan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2012

It's got to the stage where a trip to Ireland isn't complete without a stay at the City North, it's been 2 years since we were last over but the standards are still as high, efficient and friendly staff and great food. We arrived on an early morning flight, expecting that we would have to wait until the afternoon before we could get our room but we were in our room by 11 AM ! The hotel was busy over the weekend with a birthday party on Friday and a Wedding Reception on the Saturday, but that didn't mean the service was any less efficient, nothing was too much trouble..Our only niggle was that on the Sunday night there was a fault with the Fire Alarm system causing it to go off a couple of times through the night ( not funny at the time but at least we know the alarm works !), but we were given complimentary breakfast to compensate for the inconvenience. All in all we had a great time and we will be back, keep up the good work !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRWManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladonna M, Manager at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that CityNorth Hotel features in your itinerary for all return trips to Ireland and look forward to welcoming you back soon. L.McCartan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gormanston
10.1 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,427 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
773 reviews
6.3 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
336 reviews
15.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
13.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: Junction 7 | M1, Gormanston, Ireland (Formerly CityNorth Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Gormanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gormanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CityNorth Hotel is a contemporary 4 star hotel that combines high standards of hospitality and service, stylish bedrooms and excellent value with a very accessible location, just 15 minutes from Dublin Airport, in the famed Boyne Valley Region. Facilities include free parking, free Wi-fi, 24 hour mini-bus service to and from Dublin Airport €10 each way & family of four (2 adults, 2 children)€20 each way, fitness suite, outdoor playground, children's games room, treatment room and local heritage trails with free audio guide. Guests can enjoy an extensive bar menu or daily carvery lunch in the relaxing Tara Lounge or choose a Table d'hote evening menu in the Mornington Restaurant. Live music in the Tara Lounge every Friday and Saturday evening from 9pm. Matthews Coaches runs a regular bus service from the hotel and serves Dublin City Centre and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City North Gormanston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing