We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful of weddings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gormanston
st. paul, mn
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Be careful of weddings”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We used this hotel on our last night before catching a morning flight home. The hotel itself was very nice. Staff was efficient and friendly. The rooms were very nice. Breakfast was great and the shuttle to the airport woked out nicely. The only REAL problem was that it was Saturday night and we were given a room on the same floor as the wedding party. Extremely noisy until about 4AM. Guests running in the corridor, shouting and having a big party. Even calls to the front desk did not stop the commotion. Think twice about using this hotel on a Friday or Saturday when a wedding might be taking place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladonna M, Manager at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

I'm very sorry that you had a problem with noise from other guests during your recent stay. This type of feedback is rare but undoubtedly disturbed your evening on this occasion. Let me assure you that in relation to any matter which affects our guest comfort, we will make every possible effort to address same in a timely manner. L.McCartan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    277
    122
    60
    58
See reviews for
307
284
38
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castlerea, Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The family room was very big the bed linen and the room was very clean,The staff were friendly and efficient, the check in on arrival was very quick and hassle free, the receptionist informed us of the facilities for the kids ie, xbox, games room etc, , cant say enough about the breakfast, in the dozens of hotels ,both home and abroad it was the best we have ever had by far. The kids age 12 and 7, who are normally fussy eaters ate all most everything on the menu, the waitress tended to our every need, including our request for green tea. (not all hotels have done this for us) thank you very much for a pleasant stay,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micheleh2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladonna M, Manager at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Family Guests,

Your feedback is most helpful in gauging that the high standards of service and hospitality that we set ourselves are being met. Thank you. We hope to welcome you and your family back again soon. L.McCartan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel twice in the last 6 months (2 and 3 nights) both time have been well looked after staff friendly and helpfull hotel clean and modern. The bar meals are good quality and value. I´would have no problem recomending this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kieran s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladonna M, Manager at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest

Your recommendation of CityNorth Hotel to other hotel travellers is valued. Thank you. L.McCartan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Meath
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We got married in this hotel! Second marriage for both of us; so an older couple with adult families. We chose this hotel on the basis of it's location; just off the Northbound side of the M1 motorway, close to our home, very accessible for others travelling to the wedding, both by bus or car. The Matthews Coach service stops outside the hotel.

A week before the wedding, we were contacted by Ryan, the manager, regarding small final details, and we agreed to meet him the following night.What we expected to be a 10 minute re-cap of arrangements turned out to be a warm, hospitable heart-to-heart. He walked and talked us through every minute of our day over almost two hours. He told me that as soon as my car arrived at the door, a well-oiled machine would kick into place..that I need worry about nothing.

On the day, that is just what happened. Ryan was there to greet me as the car pulled up; he was reassuring and warm, told me that as photos were being taken, he would round up the guests for the Civil Ceremony. Every step I took was observed and everything was timed to perfection. The room for our ceremony was breath-taking; soft lighting; flowers; ivory chair covers.

On exiting the ceremony room, Ryan placed glasses of champagne and strawberries in both our hands, and set us up to meet and greet our guests. We were not left alone for a minute; he guided us through it all. He arranged the photo shoot around the wedding cake; he gathered the guests in for the meal, and arranged our entrance to the dining room. To our astonishment, when we were seated, we found personalised menus on the tables, with a photo taken just after the ceremony and the date adorning the menus!

The food is simply wonderful. We had heard, after we'd booked the City North, that the food was excellent. We'd chosen Steak or Salmon for the main course; Steak is very difficult to get right for large groups; this was tender and lean, cooked to perfection. The Salmon was butter-soft; all served with masses of fresh veg; roast and mash. the staff came around with seconds as well! As bride and groom, we received a bottle of champagne - on the house - with our meal.
Portions are generous - extremely so. There was incredible service from the staff; these are folk trained to spot the turn of a head...no trying to catch anyone's attention; they were attentive all day. All done with real smiles, real warmth.

It is not difficult to get it right for weddings; what made it memorable was how personal it was; our dining tables were adorned with flowers and tea-lights; the bridal table had a back-drop of a full curtain of fairy lights; everyone seemed to know our names; they didn't just put on a good show; they gave us magic.

We would unreservedly recommend the City North for weddings. It is quite boxy and uninspiring when seen from a distance...but when you walk inside, it is a wonderful, light-filled and comfortable place. Staff seem to like working there..and that says a lot about a place.

We had the bridal suite that night, of course...magnificent views over East Meath and the coastline. When we finally emerged for breakfast next morning....Ryan came down to us with champagne for breakfast as well!

Our families were singing the praises of the staff. There is at least one other person considering the hotel for a wedding, based purely on the experience of that day.

Room Tip: All room are pretty good, as they are mostly on higher levels; and as far as we could see, most room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nannymack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladonna M, Manager at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Mr & Mrs

You deserve nothing less than magic on your wedding day. Congratulations once again from us all at CityNorth Hotel. L,.McCartan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We live outside Belfast and had to catch a flight at about 10 45 am. so we decided to drive down and stay overnight at City North. The price attracted us as it included all parking, we didn't expect much, and we were greatly surprised by the standard of the Hotel the friendliness of all staff especially the coach driver who transported us to and from the airport, nothing was too much trouble for him and if needed he was prepared to jump start the car should the battery have been flat. Don't let the fact that it is 20 minutes from the airport, especially if you are travelling from Northern Ireland as the driver takes all the stress of exiting the airport from you and leaves you 20 minutes closer to home. We had an enjoyable meal in the bar quick and friendly service. The total cost for the room and parking was an amazing 59 Euros, Full Irish breakfast is 10 euros per person, Because of our flight times we had to forego breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladonna M, Manager at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest.

We welcome many guests from Northern Ireland and are very glad that you too enjoyed your recent experience at CityNorth Hotel. Your kind service comments have been passed along to our team. Many thanks. L.McCartan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The online booking is easy. When we arrived they had the wrong time for our transport to the airport - sorted immediately at reception. We ate in the bar area and it was good value for money. On our way back from holidays the flight was delayed but the minibus was sorted and there waiting. All in all the hotel is very convenient for travel to the airport with the transport and car parking included when going away and I will be using them again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saldav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladonna M, Manager at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Delighted that you have availed of our Stay Park & Fly package. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. L.McCartan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
189 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I were attending a wedding in the City North Hotel, Gormanston and even though it is only a 30 minute drive from home, we decided to stay over. The hotel itself is just off the M1 (at junction 7 I think) about 20 minutes north of Dublin airport and its location is pretty isolated. It seems to cater for a lot of weddings and groups who’d prefer not to stay in Dublin but not too far from it.

There is plenty of parking at the hotel and check in was efficient and polite with the young lady directing us to the different rooms where the wedding events were taking place. All of the staff we encountered were welcoming and helpful.

Our room on the top floor had a wonderful view across the Meath countryside and even though we were on the opposite side of the hotel to the motorway, you could still hear the traffic passing although the volume of traffic lessens significantly at night. The room was of a good size, was bright and airy with a double, a single bed, plenty of storage space, a safe and complimentary tea and coffee. The bathroom was clean with a tub/shower and perhaps could have done with a little tlc on the finer details. It’s not that it was bad but our hand sink took what seemed like an eternity to drain and the shower was more of a trickle to be honest.

On the plus side though, we slept in until 11am the next morning and never once did we get a knock on the door or a call from reception to remind us of the check out time. Bliss!

Given the isolated location of the hotel and the lack of eating and drinking options available to the residents, one could be forgiven for expecting prices to be a bit higher but the food was good, the drink was priced at what you would pay in a pub and the service was excellent.

There is nothing flash about this hotel but it knows its market and does the basics things well at a decent price. I would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rjoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladonna M, Manager at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear guest,

Your kind review is appreciated and we are glad that you enjoyed our four star facilities. L.McCartan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gormanston
10.1 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,427 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
773 reviews
6.3 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
336 reviews
15.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
13.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: Junction 7 | M1, Gormanston, Ireland (Formerly CityNorth Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Gormanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gormanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CityNorth Hotel is a contemporary 4 star hotel that combines high standards of hospitality and service, stylish bedrooms and excellent value with a very accessible location, just 15 minutes from Dublin Airport, in the famed Boyne Valley Region. Facilities include free parking, free Wi-fi, 24 hour mini-bus service to and from Dublin Airport €10 each way & family of four (2 adults, 2 children)€20 each way, fitness suite, outdoor playground, children's games room, treatment room and local heritage trails with free audio guide. Guests can enjoy an extensive bar menu or daily carvery lunch in the relaxing Tara Lounge or choose a Table d'hote evening menu in the Mornington Restaurant. Live music in the Tara Lounge every Friday and Saturday evening from 9pm. Matthews Coaches runs a regular bus service from the hotel and serves Dublin City Centre and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City North Gormanston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing