We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gormanston
Cork
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointed!”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Arrived at hotel on Saturday midday. Could not get near door to unload bag because of parking congestion. Had to park car on roadway outside hotel as half of the car park was closed for car rally. All hell started at 6.30am with people in next room getting up and from that until 7.40am doors were banging along corridor. Then the cars started up at 8.30am so then we decided it was time to get up and leave! Also just wondered how some of our party were charged €30 extra for similar rooms. Very disappointed!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Couple123Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LTallon, Manager at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback. You quite rightly suggest that additional car parking spaces are required to accommodate both a general increase in business levels and to satisfy all guest requirements at CityNorth Hotel. I'm pleased to advise that provision for a new parking section is under consideration at the moment however I offer sincere apologies for the inconvenience you will have experienced over the week-end during an exceptionally busy period. Disturbance from fellow guests is rare and most regrettable. We do our very best to control this behaviour through elevator signage and regular corridor patrol by night staff. In addition, our night staff are trained to act swiftly to solve an issue of this nature in a timely manner, once its is brought to their attention by hotel guests. The hotels pricing policy allows us to reward advance bookers with especially keen rates and we are confident that our overall pricing structure represents genuinely good value. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to CityNorth Hotel another time and thank you once again for your feedback which is highly valuable. Ladonna McCartan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    271
    115
    60
    56
See reviews for
297
276
37
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The hotel is great, close to the M1, decent prices and very comfortable. Rooms are spacious fresh and clean with modern bathrooms. The food at this hotel is good, you can get a Carvery lunch for €10, which is decent. Staff were all helpful and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brimit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LTallon, Manager at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

What lovely feedback to receive!. Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. Genuine value & a warm welcome is something which we constantly strive to offer our guests.We're grateful for your recommendation of CityNorth Hotel. Ladonna McCartan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We took the 'tayto' deal for a family of 4 for only 129 euro this included breakfast an tickets to the tayto park- definitely worth the money considering a ticket for the tayto park is 40 euros alone

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duzzyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LTallon, Manager at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Delighted to read your review and to know that you found our family packages to offer real value. With partnerships with several local attractions such as Tayto Park, Funtasia, Waterpark, Red Mountain Open Farm, Rathbeggan lakes & activity centre, there is always a reason to come back to visit! Check back again for our specially themed family packages coming up during mid term school breaks! Thanks again for your valued feedback. Ladonna McCartan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Attended a wedding last Sat! The staff were very friendly food was amazing only down side was the family room not spacouse enough for a family of four especially with a teenage son of 15 and a Daughter of 10. Just aswell my sister in law had a spare bed in her room! Dont think fold up bed at appropriate for hotels now a days! Other that our stay was enjoyable!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alilegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LTallon, Manager at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

We're pleased that you enjoyed your experience as a wedding guest with us. Our team is so keenly aware of their vital role in ensuring that our wedding couple and their guests can relax and enjoy this incredibly special day. Thank you for this valuable feedback which has been shared with our staff. We'd welcome the opportunity to have your return to the hotel - perhaps to enjoy the rich heritage and culture of the neighboring Boyne Valley Region or for an family activity break or walking holiday? Your teenage children may prefer the space afforded by our interconnecting accommodation next time - (the 2nd room is offered at a (reduced) supplement).
Ladonna McCartan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were at a wedding in this hotel and it was simple great.
The service attention to detail and food was just excellent.
Very friendly staff comfortable guest rooms and all at a great price
Well done City North

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJCahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LTallon, Manager at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

What wonderful feedback!. We strive to offer great food and enjoy a reputation as 'the place to enjoy a bite to eat on the M1'. As you will have experiences, a Wedding Day at CityNorth Hotel is treated with the highest levels of attention to detail - duly merited by such a unique celebration with family & friends. Your praise has been passed to our team and has been warmly received. With thanks. Ladonna McCartan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed for one nite, great value for money, spotlessly clean , fab food, breakfast was gorgeous! Only down side... room smelt of cigarette smoke... so request a no smoking room! Certainly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LTallon, Manager at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Your kind feedback is most kind. Thank you. To accommodate all guests preferences, we have a limited number of smoking rooms (on one floor). I'm sorry that this preference was not clarified in time but we very much hope to welcome you back once again soon to CityNorth Hotel. Ladonna McCartan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2012

we have stopped many times at city north we have had a good welcome every time the free parking is a brilliant idea that got us first . but know we feel at home there and are made to feel very welcome . on the 14 june my dad passed away the love and care that was shown to me was beyond words the rooms are clean and spacious plenty of tea /coffee hot water even in the morning the BEST FISH /CHIPS IN IRELAND we have stopped going from Belfast or derry

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie brooke o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gormanston
10.1 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,377 reviews
6.3 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,141 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
319 reviews
5.3 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
17.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: Junction 7 | M1, Gormanston, Ireland (Formerly CityNorth Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Gormanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gormanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CityNorth Hotel is a contemporary 4 star hotel that combines high standards of hospitality and service, stylish bedrooms and excellent value with a very accessible location, just 15 minutes from Dublin Airport, in the famed Boyne Valley Region. Facilities include free parking, free Wi-fi, 24 hour mini-bus service to and from Dublin Airport €10 each way & family of four (2 adults, 2 children)€20 each way, fitness suite, outdoor playground, children's games room, treatment room and local heritage trails with free audio guide. Guests can enjoy an extensive bar menu or daily carvery lunch in the relaxing Tara Lounge or choose a Table d'hote evening menu in the Mornington Restaurant. Live music in the Tara Lounge every Friday and Saturday evening from 9pm. Matthews Coaches runs a regular bus service from the hotel and serves Dublin City Centre and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City North Gormanston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing