We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gormanston
belfast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely stay!”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

My partner and I spent the weekend at the CityNorth Hotel just outside Dublin. It was a successful weekend and I was very impressed by a number of things.

Our room was lovely, walls a little thin (especially when children are staying next door!!) but all in all very comfortable- we liked having free WiFi access in the rooms.

Food in the restaurant was beautiful- we had an evening meal which was well cooked and large portions.

Breakfast on the Saturday morning was lovely, made to order and very filling. On Sunday morning it was a hot buffet, I cant understand why they would choose the buffet for the busiest morning if they were trying to make an impression on guests, we felt let down that we didnt get a fresh option.

Staff were good but as I work in the trade I expect the receptionists to smile and say hello when I am passing reception, it helps so much!! Also, I wasn't impressed with having to wait while the receptionist finished her (very long) phone call. I only had a very small question and I expected them to at least put the call on hold and find out my query rather than ignore me.

Decor- beautiful! Loved the lounge area and fire, very relaxing. Also the free newspapers were a welcome addition.

Location is great for Dublin city and Newgrange.

All in all a great stay, with a few training issues ironed out it would be perfect!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jannersBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LTallon, Director of Sales at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear jannersBelfast,
Thank you for posting such a lovely review of the CityNorth hotel. Its always good to get feedback as it helps us to improve what we do here at the hotel. We take all comments good or bad seriously and it is rewarding to see that we are on the right track. It is also a great tool when we are training new or existing staff.
We do hope you come back to us in the not too distant future and assuring you of our best attention at all times.
Thank you once again
Ladonna Tallon
Head of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    275
    119
    60
    56
See reviews for
303
279
37
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Gave this hotel a bad review about two years ago.

Tonight I have to eat my words. Was traveling up country in a really bad storm and decided to give the hotel a go.

Straight away great service. Lady at check in was excellent. Ask about getting food which was just about to close. They dropped much bags to the room so I would not miss getting food.

Bar staff really good and they serve an excellent blue steak.

The rooms are first class.

This hotel comes highly recommended.

I am the first to complain about bad service. With this hotel there was nothing to complain about.

My review of terrible in 2010 is retracted

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KilkennySean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LTallon, Front Office Manager at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear KilkennySean,
Thank you very much for your review of The CityNorth Hotel. I am glad you found your recent stay with us such a good experience. We do pride ourselves in going the extra little bit to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay above and beyond their expectations. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Sabrina Sherlock
Revenue and Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Worse hotel I ever stayed in we will not be back, the kids play area and toys were so dirty......food very poor..... staff ok.... poor wine choice....Be warned!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LTallon, Front Office Manager at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Caroline3000,
Thank you for your recent review of the CityNorth Hotel. We take all comments both positive and negative very seriously and can only appologise to you most sincerely regarding your experience with us. It certainly is not our usual standard at the Hotel. The childrens play area in the bar is a very important part of our 'kids policy' here at the Hotel and as such is being continually used by our younger guests. We will soon have a new bar menu in place which we hope a some point you may like to try out. Assuring you of our best attention at all times.
Sabrina Sherlock
Revenue and Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I live quite close to the City North Hotel, and went for lunch there several times. I have always been happy with food and service. As I was attending a chrismas party night here recently, we decided to stay the night. The hotel foyer is large with plenty of seating, and checkin was prompt and efficient. Our rooms were spotless, warm and spacious. We had adjoining rooms as we requested, and although we overlooked motorway, it did'nt disturb us, if your a light sleeper, it might be better to have a room opposite side of hotel. The highlight of our stay was the friendly staff, they could'nt do enough for us, any request we made was dealt with immediately and with a smile, and they checked with us often to see if everything was alright on our party night. Breakfast was great, plenty of cereals, pastries, fruit etc. The full irish was self service, but all was warm and not dried up. We really enjoyed our stay, and will definitly return.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LTallon, Front Office Manager at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Reilling,
Thank you very much for your kind words on your recent review of the CityNorth Hotel. It is very pleasing to read such comments regarding our staff, service and our Breakfast service. We are trying continually to improve our standards so it shows we are going in the right direction. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Regards
Sabrina Sherlock
Revenue and Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We had our wedding here in August and what should have been the best and most memorable day of our lives turned into a nightmare. From the word go all the written hype that they publish will quickly prove to be false. You are promised a dedicated wedding planner who could not care a less about the paying customer. We had to book a make-up trial 10 times, yes 10, ten times. I had to make numerous attempts to get them to spell my name correct. The wedding suite is supposed to have rose petals and complimentary basket ect....... SUPPOSED to have, being the order of the day with these premises. We woke after the wedding to be told by a quest of mine that my vechicle had been broken into. Locks smased and my sat nav taken. I asked a groudsman to direct me to a member of mgt, he told me whats the point none of the cameras are working!!!!! i asked the reception staff to get a member of mgt and they laughed at me............ sorry can somebody tell me what is funny about waking up and finding you have been robbed???? mgt then informed me that none of the cameras where working and they where trying to get them fixed, he shrugged his shoulders and walked off........ a fact that i found out was untrue....... how? the police station. We where leaving on our honeymoon the same day so i had to get somebody to come and collect my vechicle and have it fixed. The sat nav would now give away where I lived and i had to organise security for our home. Did the hotel staff care...... no, they found this funny!!! While going up in the lift to tell my new bride what my plan was and what had been organised two women where in the lift..... the general manager and a hotel inspector, listening to there conversation I asked them if they where the general manager. They said no!! A fact I got to put to her a short while later. After returning back to the hotel I tried to get some breakfast before leaving for the airport to be told breakfast was finished. So much for a champagne breakfast in bed........ After paying the bill the general manager decided to make an appearance and to say her manners need a lot to be desired is an understatement, she could not care a less for our troubles and plight........ "oh well these things happen and you did get married" I had to get away from her as what I was thinking would have gotten me a jail sentence. My locks cost me €375 to have fixed and my sat nav was €140 did we get a phone call to apoligise??? No!!! a letter NO!!!! nothing. As part of the package/contract you are supposed to get a weekend break for two in the midlands..... it took 5 mths to finally get a 200 post office voucher off this hotel. So you have been warned........ I had no options here to give this hotel a zero rating a fact trip advisor must change as 1 is too much.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Edmund M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LTallon, Manager at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Edmund M,
Thank you for your recent review regarding your function in August 2010. I can only extend my sincerest appologies for the experience you encountered here at the City North Hotel. Please be aware there is a new management team in place here and these would certainly not be our usual standards. Although we were not here at the time of your function we would only be too pleased to speak with you at your earliest convenience to resolve some of the issues you raised as fully as we can.
Assuring you of our best attention at all times.
Ladonna McCarton
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I stayed for 2 nights on the 9th and 10th of December. Couldn't fault the place at all, good price, friendly staff, spotless, and the food was great too. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less A/C noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre P, Manager at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear davidh911,
Thank you for kind comments regarding The City North Hotel. It is always a pleasure to read feedback from our guests especially when when we have achieved our aim which is to reach our guests expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the City North in the near future.
Regards
Sabrina Sherlock
Front office and Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Stayed in this hotel on the 29th November and had a very nice stay. Had a suite and it was very nice and very clean. The Guiness was excellent but they had a problem with the heating in the bar so everyone was sitting in coats. It was eventually fixed but was not the most relaxing at the time. These things happen though. The food was OK but I felt overpriced.
Breakfast was really good and they have clearly taken note from another persons review on the breakfast on this site. Would defintely stay again, thanks

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chap1830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre P, Manager at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear Chap1830,
Thank you for your kind comments and observations about your stay with us. We take all feedback both positive and negative very seriously to improve the standards we impliment in the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast experience as we are always seeking to improve the overall standards of service and food quality.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the City North Hotel soon.
Regards
Sabrina Sherlock
Front Office and Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gormanston
10.1 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
6.3 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
5.3 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
17.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: Junction 7 | M1, Gormanston, Ireland (Formerly CityNorth Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Gormanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gormanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CityNorth Hotel is a contemporary 4 star hotel that combines high standards of hospitality and service, stylish bedrooms and excellent value with a very accessible location, just 15 minutes from Dublin Airport, in the famed Boyne Valley Region. Facilities include free parking, free Wi-fi, 24 hour mini-bus service to and from Dublin Airport €10 each way & family of four (2 adults, 2 children)€20 each way, fitness suite, outdoor playground, children's games room, treatment room and local heritage trails with free audio guide. Guests can enjoy an extensive bar menu or daily carvery lunch in the relaxing Tara Lounge or choose a Table d'hote evening menu in the Mornington Restaurant. Live music in the Tara Lounge every Friday and Saturday evening from 9pm. Matthews Coaches runs a regular bus service from the hotel and serves Dublin City Centre and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City North Gormanston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing