We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gormanston
N IRELAND
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed here on the special one night break with evening meal as we were picking my daughter up from the airport on Saturday morning. Everything about the hotel was good. The staff were really friendly and helpful, they rang in the morning to check the flight time for me. The meal was delicious at night and the breakfast in the morning was second to none. There was a wedding on that night but we had no bother with noise at all. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and will definately be back.

Room Tip: We were in a room on floor 6 and had no problem with noise from the wedding if there was any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAINBOW1LO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    277
    122
    60
    58
See reviews for
307
284
38
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

The hotel is on a motor way, this makes for very easy access to the airport and Dublin City, but does create some noise from cars for rooms on the M1 side. (Ask for a room on the parking lot side)
Ardgillan Castle and other historic sites are only a short car ride away so it's a great base for day trips. The decor in the hotel restaurant is a bit bland but the food was lovely.

The room we stayed in was very clean and spacious. The ventilation system for the en-suite is not overpoweringly loud and the bed was very comfortable.
There was a 21st birthday party the night we stayed and some of guests got rowdy during the night and we ended up having to ring reception a few times because of the noise levels. The hotel staff responded quickly and were very clear to the rowdy guests that their behavior had to stop.

The receptionist was absolutely lovely the next morning and couldn’t have been more apologetic. I was very impressed with their handling of the matter and would have no hesitation whatsoever in staying at the City North Hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nynus78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

My husband and two young children stayed for two nights two weeks ago (Wed/Thurs). We booked it as we thought it would be quiet as it is obviously marketed for the business traveller. However, there was a wedding on the Thursday nite and the disco kept us a awake till 2am, we were on the 6th floor and it still disturbed our childrens sleep. We phoned down on several occassions to be told it would be turned down (It was not). We complained the next morning and were told that they had never had such a complaint before (if you read some of the reviews on here you will see that is not the case), the receptionist then continued to take incoming phonecalls whilst dealing with my feedback. The front of house need some retraining in customer service, I would not stay again.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank eoshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre P, Manager at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear Guest

Following your recent stay in Citynorth Hotel, please accept my sincere apologies for the very obvious disruption to the enjoyment of your stay with your family a few weeks ago due to noise from a wedding reception.

As manager of the hotel the comfort of my guests is of the upmost importance to me, and I am sorry that this matter was not brought to my attention prior to your departure from the hotel so that I could speak to you in person.

Perhaps you might contact me directly at the hotel to provide me with more details and allow me to at least be able to apologise to you to person.


With sincere regards

Deirdre Power
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed 1 night and used the hotel bus and their car park to get to and from the airport. On the website it mentioned a coutesy bus for those staying along with free use of the car park, however we had to pay €2 per person for the use of the bus which I wasn't expecting and should be stated on their website. The bus service was very punctional and left on time and also collected us at the allotted time, driver was very friendly. Didn't use the hotel for meals as we arrived late and left early to go to the airport. Rooms was nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed in the City North last Friday night as we were attending an event in Dundalk and had to drive to Wexford the following morning. We chose it for it's convenient location, just off the M1. To be honest I wasn't really expecting much, but boy was I wrong!!
The staff on check-in were very friendly. Check-in took but a moment. We headed off to our room on the fifth floor to be totally blown away. I had booked an Executive Room but it was so cheap I wasn't expecting much. It was absolutely beautiful!! The room was huge, the bed was huge and there was a large flat screen tv on the table. It was immaculate from floor to ceiling. There was a table and chairs and a chaise longue and there was still loads of open floor space. The bathroom was clean and functional, just what you want. Cannot fault it at all!
There was a wedding on in the hotel that night but we didn't hear one bit of noise from our room.
The one thing that could be improved on is the breakfast. It was lovely, don't get me wrong. But there needs to be more selection of hot food. I prefer my food piping hot and it was only warm. Once again the staff in the restaurant couldn't do enough for us, very friendly!
Due to it's location, the hotel is more suited to people passing through, not staying in one place as there isn't much around the area but a beautiful hotel with lovely staff!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drogheda
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed one night and had dinner. Long wait to check in manager of hotel pushed in by with no manners, not even excuse me not aknowledged at all. Dinner menu very poor, had the bar menu very basic bad value. Good room clean, beds just not bad plenty of noise from the motorway wont be going back not even for a drink. \nicest person I met was the young girl in the restaurant serving dinner from Laytown and a young man who had started work that day. poor bar service. Went to bed early no point staying up, a little music in the bar would have been welcome.

Room Tip: look for a room not on the motorway
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mct2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Lets just say the staff in the daytime need serious training in customer care and this includes front of house staff, theres only one manger with a perfect, caring attitude - Wayne you will go far

Room Tip: Go to the Braken court hotel court hotel it is far better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre P, Manager at CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear Guest

I was very dissapointed to read about your recent experience in Citynorth Hotel and particularly so in relation to our Front Office team who are frequently commended by our guests for their help, courtesy and attention to detail in respect of the service provided to the hotel guests.

It was also good to hear your positive response to Wayne, who is a valued member of the hotel management team, and very dedicated to providing quality customer service.

As the satisfaction of our guests does matter very much to me and the team at the hotel, further training will be carried out in the area of customer service.

Thank you for your constructive feedback and I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Citynorth Hotel again in the future.


With sincere regards

Deirdre Power
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gormanston
10.1 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,427 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
773 reviews
6.3 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
336 reviews
15.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
13.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: Junction 7 | M1, Gormanston, Ireland (Formerly CityNorth Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Gormanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gormanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CityNorth Hotel is a contemporary 4 star hotel that combines high standards of hospitality and service, stylish bedrooms and excellent value with a very accessible location, just 15 minutes from Dublin Airport, in the famed Boyne Valley Region. Facilities include free parking, free Wi-fi, 24 hour mini-bus service to and from Dublin Airport €10 each way & family of four (2 adults, 2 children)€20 each way, fitness suite, outdoor playground, children's games room, treatment room and local heritage trails with free audio guide. Guests can enjoy an extensive bar menu or daily carvery lunch in the relaxing Tara Lounge or choose a Table d'hote evening menu in the Mornington Restaurant. Live music in the Tara Lounge every Friday and Saturday evening from 9pm. Matthews Coaches runs a regular bus service from the hotel and serves Dublin City Centre and surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City North Gormanston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing