We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost excellent, but work to do...”
Review of Hamlet Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hamlet Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Enfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Almost excellent, but work to do...”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed in the Hamlet Court for one night before I attended a wedding there. The staff were amongst the best I've ever encountered - friendly and efficient. The room I stayed in was comfortable and perfectly adequate. Breakfast, again, was adequate, but nothing special. Afternoon tea was great with nice sandwiches and a selection of cakes.

Now for the not so good. I ordered an evening meal which, when it arrived was barely warm, let alone piping hot. On the topic of barely warm, that's how the 'hot' water was in the bedroom, it was tepid at all times of day and night. There was black mould on the bath mat and hairs in the bath from the previous guests.

That said, I would stay in the hotel again and would recommend it.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 109 and was kept awake all night by wind rattling the outside rubbish bins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnONeill4368, Owner at Hamlet Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Many thanks for your review, i was disappointed to read you experience here with us, This is not what the team here in the Hotel are about. We have had you review discussed at our weekly management meeting. The service journey with your visit to us here defiantly broke down and we wish to apologize to you for your experience. We have done some re training with our house keeping team and also replaced the hot water sensor/mixer in 109. Our Head chef Darren was extremely disappointed that you food was not enjoyable and jumping of the plate (hot) and we have had a sit down with both the chefs and food servers to try and ensure that each and every dish is of top quality and pipping hot. Please be assured that we here in the Hotel try to ensure that each and every guest has a great experience with us here. Again please accepted apologies and many thanks for you review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    79
    33
    14
    10
See reviews for
88
168
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I attended a wedding on New Year's Eve and I have to say I was extremely impressed with the service. Food was gorgeous - cooked to order. Staff were excellent - they genuinely couldnt do enough for you. The way they presented the meal to the top table was spectacular - never saw it done before.

I found the rooms very clean, cosy and very very comfortable. I would definitely go back there and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnONeill4368, Owner at Hamlet Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Hi Lisa Cork, so many thanks for your king review, I was delighted to read your comments about the team here in the Hamlet Court, I am so lucky to have a great team around me here in the Hotel.
We strive to make each and every guest experience a positive one and also the weddings here at the hotel are special to us, in that bride and grooms entrust there special day to us, its a honor i am glad to say we enjoy here in the hotel regularly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were travelling from Galway to Dublin had a stop over night here. It was lovely and I would stay here again! Reception staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was nice, clean and spacious. We ate in the bar and had a few drinks. The breakfast was the nicest I have EVER had! It was cook to order which is great as it was lovely and hot! Most hotels i have stayed in are buffet so always cold! The crossants were so yummy and fresh scones. They had a lovely smoothie too. It really made the stay and set us up for the day!:-) I would go back again just for breakfast ha!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigerliyfudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnONeill4368, Owner at Hamlet Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed you breakfast ,the most important meal of the day!! We here at the Hamlet Court strive to welcome and deliver good food to each and every guest that visit us here. Erica our breakfast chef was trilled to read your comments about breakfast and your enjoyment of same. So many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Located on the Main Street of Enfield, about 20 minutes from Dublin, the hotel is comfortable and cosy with friendly helpful staff. We had a really great deal that included a champagne afternoon tea, which was excellent. Bedrooms comfortable and nice a warm. Good sized bathroom with selection of goodies. Extensive choice for breakfast and nice to have hot breakfast brought to table and not self service.

Room Tip: If you have anyone with walking difficulties request a room near to reception as hotel has sprawling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetotravel1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnONeill4368, Owner at Hamlet Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Many thanks for taken the time to give us a review, I am glad to read you had a enjoyable stay with us here at the Hamlet Court. The team always strives to look after each and every guest. The Kitchen team were delighted that you enjoyed you food and had a good experience again many thanks for you review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just recently a group of 8 mad women stayed at Hamlet Court. We shared two rooms a family room and a room for 3. It was excellent value and very comfortable. Staff could not do enough for you, friendly and very helpful. The meal we had Saturday night was great value, tasty and presented very well. The breakfast was excellent. Again staff were very helpful and nice.
Why stay here? Great value all round, easy access to Dublin, the main roads etc. All eight mad women would recommend this hotel, thanks for putting up with us, bad news WE WILL BE BACK !

Room Tip: This was not a problem for any of us we all had nice comfortable rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnONeill4368, Owner at Hamlet Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review, The team here remember your party with great fondness and you were a pleasure to as guest here in the hotel. I am delighted as an owner to read that you really enjoyed you time with us here and you will return. Again many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

As a family we recently enjoyed bar food here. The food was good, there was alot of choice from the menu. The ambience was nice & the staff were very helpful & friendly. The portions of food were of average size. We had a pleasant meal at an alright price. We had visited here in past & noticed that the menu had been updated which was nice to see.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tashamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnONeill4368, Owner at Hamlet Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Many thanks for your review it is our aim here to keep changing with the seasons and the availability of local product the menus we offer. Mark our Bar Manager was delighted to get a review about the Bar and Bar food.We hope you visit us again and have some more good food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The staff are extremely attentive to the wedding parties needs and the food was absolutely lovely, well prepared and presented and very tasty. A real nice cosy and private affair with only one party catered for at any one time. The rooms very clean and warm especially nice as it was freezing at the time of our stay. Pretty easy to find also but maybe I should have updated my garmin as it wasn't recognised but if you just head for Enfield Co Meath and then to Johnstown it can't be missed, there's only a Londis, a funeral directors and the hotel which is deceptive from the front until you head down the Donadea road and see its expanded profile. Check in and out very easy, loads of choice for breakfasts and some great offers coming up for Christmas and New Years.

Room Tip: Only saw our own room and think they are all similar with exceptions to bridal suites but I didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabester2872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnONeill4368, Owner at Hamlet Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Many thanks for your great review, Glad to read you had a great experience with us here. The team we delighted to read your comments. We strive to ensure the all weddings are unique and special as it the bride and grooms special day. I am delighted that the team performed well and looked after you . Again many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enfield
0.8 mi away
The Johnstown Estate Hotel
3.0 mi away
Moyvalley Hotel & Golf Resort
10.8 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
18.7 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
641 reviews
10.6 mi away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamlet Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamlet Court Hotel

Property: Hamlet Court Hotel
Address: Johnstownbridge, Enfield, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Enfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Enfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hamlet Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing