We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - excellent value!”
Review of Hamlet Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hamlet Court Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed 1 night last week on a Groupon deal with B&B and afternoon tea - it was superb! The hotel is in a "hamlet" but very convenient to the M4 and for visiting the Irish national stud and Japanese garden at Kildare (which incidentally is a must), the Kildare outlet village (for retail therapy) and the Newbridge silver factory and museum of costume ( free! and well worth a visit). The room we had was large, very clean and well appointed and the bathroom was spotless. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We had a meal in the bar (the dining room isn't open in the evening during the week). There was a buzz in the bar and the food was excellent - my husband had the sizzling duck and said it was the best he had ever had! The weather was warm and sunny and we opted to have our tea outside where they have a pleasant area with lots of plants and tables. The afternoon tea was served with a glass of champagne, delicate sandwiches, warm scones with jam and cream, and 4 little patisserie type cakes - we were so full we had to leave 2 of them! The breakfast was superb with a very varied selection on offer and the meals were cooked to order - a rarity nowadays. The whole experience was superb value for money - I hope they do a similar Groupon deal again soon! - we will be there.

Room Tip: Try the duck if you are eating in the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fotrestsidelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnONeill4368, Owner at Hamlet Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Many thanks for your review, delighted your meals were tasty and enjoyable and that you enjoyed your stay, I will pass this onto our kitchen team and head chef Darren.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 417 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

We were attracted by a Groupon deal and it was great value!
Johnstown bridge, where the hotel is located is definitely a hamlet! It has a modern supermarket, a church, a car dealers, a service station a couple of hairdressers and a large funeral undertakers one housing estate and that is it! - so there's no chance of a pubcrawl!
When we arrived at 3pm our room wasn't ready but the very pleasant receptionist took our bags and arranged to have them taken to the room when it was ready. In the meantime we took our afternoon tea outside as it was a beautiful afternoon. We thought the tea was excellent! If the weather hadn't been so nice we could have the tea in the very comfortable foyer or the restaurant.
We were pleasantly surprised by the spacious, modern, clean bedroom. It was ensuite with a fixed shower head over the bath. Very powerful shower! Bathroom nice and clean too.
Problems - pillows were too thick and hard, but we didn't bother to complain. Also, it's mentioned in a previous review about the televisions being old, we had a CRT type in our room with a generic replacement remote control which had not been set up correctly and we couldn't use it to turn the volume down and the buttons on it did not match the functions it was supposed to do. This was a pain but I suppose the tvs will be changed at digital switchover.
We ate in the bar in the evening and were lucky to get a table it was so busy. Staff were brilliant, particularly the Italian? guy and the Bar Manager. Lovely food and HUGE portions. Plenty of staff and a good mix of people in the bar.The toilets were very clean and had those high speed hand driers (why do more establishments not have these?)
After a very good breakfast which is cooked to order while you select cereal, fruit etc from the buffet we were checked out by Lisa, beautiful girl and a credit to the hotel!
If it wasn't so far away we'd go back, or if we got another deal. Well done to the Hamlet Court!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FatherTed1_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnONeill4368, Owner at Hamlet Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Many thanks for your review, the groupon afternoon tea offer was a a huge success and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your thanks to Mo (the Italian guy :-) Mark the bar manager & Lisa the lovely receptionist. We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Four Of us arrived, check in was very fast and the room key cards were handed over well within 2 minutes. Our room had a double and single bed, TV (which may need replacing soon because of digital changeover) decent storage space, table, a few lamps, iron, ironing board etc. The bedrooms are built away from the main hotel, we were rooms 115 & 116. Our son's room had 2 double beds. It was a good 2 minutes walk to reception and the bar. We had afternoon tea including champagne, one round of sandwiches between 2 with 2 very good giant fruit scones, cream, butter and strawberry jam and 4 different mini cakes including carrot cake, chocolate cake, and 2 strawberry types. A giant pot of tea (could have had real coffee - not the instant rubbish). The afternoon tea was served on a black cast iron 3 plate tower wide at the base tapering in at the top - the waitress brought 2 lots and each must have weighed over a kilo! The bar is quaint, lots of wood, 2 tv's 2 friendly bar staff reasonably priced drinks with a pint of guiness 3:95 euro. Breakfast was good to excellent - our son and partner had the cooks Irish breakfast which the said was ok to good, I had excellent salty porridge and kippers with a properly poached egg real coffee (instant was available for those who don't know better) my wife had scrambled egg with salmon again excellent and a good portion. All the usual fruit juices, cereals, yoghurts, they seemed to have an orange juice based smoothie which was excellent too. A special mention for the mini croissants chocolate croissants and Danish - bloody superb taste and those great scones again. Now a few other facts - the place has a giant car park! While the water supply to the room was really powerful and great hot water very fast the pipes made weird loud noises ok in day time but noticeably noisy at night. Despite the place being very clean there was a noticeable but only mildly unpleasant smell at the hotel entrance from the car park and generally the hotel was dimly lit. None of these things are off putting its just our observations. Great wifi in hotel lobby area. All staff very friendly and great location to explore the area with rivers castles right down to Newbridge - just wonderful and we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newryone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnONeill4368, Owner at Hamlet Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

many thanks for your review, as a family run business we aim to look after each and everyone that walks through our door and that they have a pleasant stay with us. Thrilled to hear the afternoon tea was a delight & the breakfast was up to standard. We hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Behind the small mainstreet facade is a much bigger more modern hotel than you might imagine. Spotlessly clean, lovely friendly staff, good bar food and excellent breakfast (even though we were there on a morning when some other guests came down to breakfast in their pyjamas !!!; what is the world coming to?). Public areas offer lots of seating choices, the bar is intimate and friendly, and the restaurant used for breakfast was well set out. Bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious, and our only feedback on checkout was that the double and single bed mattresses in our room (117) are in need of replacing with firmer hotel quality Latex rather than the current sprung ones. There is a nice outdoor seating area at the back of the hotel which could be even nicer if cars were not allowed to park there - the carpark was practically empty but the 'drop off zone' was stuffed with cars, which also spoils the visual approach to the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bailieborough_Blowin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnONeill4368, Owner at Hamlet Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thank you for your review, we strive to keep up a high standard in the hotel so we have looked into the bed situation for future guests, we hope to see you again soon in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Recently availed of a daily deal of b&b and afternoon tea in this hotel. Had nt heard of it before and was really pleasantly surprised when we arrived. It's in a very small village Johnstownbridge a mile from Enfield. Afternoon tea was very nice and quite substantial as was our meal much later in the restaurant suffice to say it was one course after the large tea earlier.
The staff are so friendly & pleasant the owners should be proud of them especially as they seem to multitask in different areas.
The bar is a great lively spot the weekend we were there and I'm glad to say a busy bar,seems to be a good mix of guests and locals. The decor of bar, restaurant & lobby is very nice.
Our room was on the ground floor, nice clean comfortable room with a double and single bed however the bed and tv are small and remote didn't work!!
No bath in our bathroom as it was a wheelchair accessible bathroom but having travelled with someone that needs these facilities in the past its great to see a hotel with accessible bathrooms.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay in the hamlet court and would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leroyrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnONeill4368, Owner at Hamlet Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Many thanks for your great review, we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us here in The Hamlet Court Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

As i said a pure brill hotel. unfortunatly not much to do in enfield but is is on the way to almost everywhere !!! if you stay here you have to head towards kildare . you ll find newbridge a totally fantastic town with tons if shopping and restaraunts and the best exhibition of iconic memerabilia showing you the actual clothes worn by marilan monroe and micheal jackson to name but a few. Its amazing the newbridge silverware shop , this is where the museum is . There are many canals along this road to newbridge so a pint in a beautiful setting while watching the boats pass by is a must . We loved the more than helpful and caring attitude from the staff. The food is excellent and plentyful . We had dinner in the station house in Kilmessen on the way to Enfied and it was amazing this is why i cant comment on the dinner in the Hamlet Court but i can tell you that there afternoon tea with Champaigne is fantastic as is their wide and very varid breakfast ..... yum yum . you ll love this warm and very welcoming hamlet .Enjoy

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnONeill4368, Owner at Hamlet Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Many thanks for your kind review, delighted the team looked after you so well and the afternoon tea was enjoyable. We would love to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I'm just back from an overnight stay in the Hamlet Court Hotel from a recent wedding... When we arrived down we had booked a triple room which had 1 Double & 1 Single; when we rang Reception they straight away came up with an extra bed... That afternoon we have bar food which was lovely....

Later on that night we had an issue with our own room were a member of our own wedding party decided it would be funny to sort of mess up the room....which totally back fired & I have to say I can't thank the nightporter & member of the bar staff enough for the help in arranging the room again....Once again I can only apologize on behalf of the two culprits but have learned my own leason.... Keep my key in my bag at all times..... Thanks again.,..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dos144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnONeill4368, Owner at Hamlet Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Many thanks for your review, We are delighted you had a great day at Ashling & John's wedding. Hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enfield
0.8 mi away
The Johnstown Estate Hotel
3.1 mi away
Moyvalley Hotel & Golf Resort
10.9 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
414 reviews
10.8 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
18.7 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamlet Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamlet Court Hotel

Address: Johnstownbridge, Enfield, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Enfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enfield
Price Range: $107 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hamlet Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing