We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly family focussed place, great prices and and food”
Review of Hamlet Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hamlet Court Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Four Of us arrived, check in was very fast and the room key cards were handed over well within 2 minutes. Our room had a double and single bed, TV (which may need replacing soon because of digital changeover) decent storage space, table, a few lamps, iron, ironing board etc. The bedrooms are built away from the main hotel, we were rooms 115 & 116. Our son's room had 2 double beds. It was a good 2 minutes walk to reception and the bar. We had afternoon tea including champagne, one round of sandwiches between 2 with 2 very good giant fruit scones, cream, butter and strawberry jam and 4 different mini cakes including carrot cake, chocolate cake, and 2 strawberry types. A giant pot of tea (could have had real coffee - not the instant rubbish). The afternoon tea was served on a black cast iron 3 plate tower wide at the base tapering in at the top - the waitress brought 2 lots and each must have weighed over a kilo! The bar is quaint, lots of wood, 2 tv's 2 friendly bar staff reasonably priced drinks with a pint of guiness 3:95 euro. Breakfast was good to excellent - our son and partner had the cooks Irish breakfast which the said was ok to good, I had excellent salty porridge and kippers with a properly poached egg real coffee (instant was available for those who don't know better) my wife had scrambled egg with salmon again excellent and a good portion. All the usual fruit juices, cereals, yoghurts, they seemed to have an orange juice based smoothie which was excellent too. A special mention for the mini croissants chocolate croissants and Danish - bloody superb taste and those great scones again. Now a few other facts - the place has a giant car park! While the water supply to the room was really powerful and great hot water very fast the pipes made weird loud noises ok in day time but noticeably noisy at night. Despite the place being very clean there was a noticeable but only mildly unpleasant smell at the hotel entrance from the car park and generally the hotel was dimly lit. None of these things are off putting its just our observations. Great wifi in hotel lobby area. All staff very friendly and great location to explore the area with rivers castles right down to Newbridge - just wonderful and we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newryone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnONeill4368, Owner at Hamlet Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

many thanks for your review, as a family run business we aim to look after each and everyone that walks through our door and that they have a pleasant stay with us. Thrilled to hear the afternoon tea was a delight & the breakfast was up to standard. We hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 428 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2012

Behind the small mainstreet facade is a much bigger more modern hotel than you might imagine. Spotlessly clean, lovely friendly staff, good bar food and excellent breakfast (even though we were there on a morning when some other guests came down to breakfast in their pyjamas !!!; what is the world coming to?). Public areas offer lots of seating choices, the bar is intimate and friendly, and the restaurant used for breakfast was well set out. Bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious, and our only feedback on checkout was that the double and single bed mattresses in our room (117) are in need of replacing with firmer hotel quality Latex rather than the current sprung ones. There is a nice outdoor seating area at the back of the hotel which could be even nicer if cars were not allowed to park there - the carpark was practically empty but the 'drop off zone' was stuffed with cars, which also spoils the visual approach to the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bailieborough_Blowin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnONeill4368, Owner at Hamlet Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thank you for your review, we strive to keep up a high standard in the hotel so we have looked into the bed situation for future guests, we hope to see you again soon in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Recently availed of a daily deal of b&b and afternoon tea in this hotel. Had nt heard of it before and was really pleasantly surprised when we arrived. It's in a very small village Johnstownbridge a mile from Enfield. Afternoon tea was very nice and quite substantial as was our meal much later in the restaurant suffice to say it was one course after the large tea earlier.
The staff are so friendly & pleasant the owners should be proud of them especially as they seem to multitask in different areas.
The bar is a great lively spot the weekend we were there and I'm glad to say a busy bar,seems to be a good mix of guests and locals. The decor of bar, restaurant & lobby is very nice.
Our room was on the ground floor, nice clean comfortable room with a double and single bed however the bed and tv are small and remote didn't work!!
No bath in our bathroom as it was a wheelchair accessible bathroom but having travelled with someone that needs these facilities in the past its great to see a hotel with accessible bathrooms.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay in the hamlet court and would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leroyrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnONeill4368, Owner at Hamlet Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Many thanks for your great review, we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us here in The Hamlet Court Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

As i said a pure brill hotel. unfortunatly not much to do in enfield but is is on the way to almost everywhere !!! if you stay here you have to head towards kildare . you ll find newbridge a totally fantastic town with tons if shopping and restaraunts and the best exhibition of iconic memerabilia showing you the actual clothes worn by marilan monroe and micheal jackson to name but a few. Its amazing the newbridge silverware shop , this is where the museum is . There are many canals along this road to newbridge so a pint in a beautiful setting while watching the boats pass by is a must . We loved the more than helpful and caring attitude from the staff. The food is excellent and plentyful . We had dinner in the station house in Kilmessen on the way to Enfied and it was amazing this is why i cant comment on the dinner in the Hamlet Court but i can tell you that there afternoon tea with Champaigne is fantastic as is their wide and very varid breakfast ..... yum yum . you ll love this warm and very welcoming hamlet .Enjoy

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnONeill4368, Owner at Hamlet Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Many thanks for your kind review, delighted the team looked after you so well and the afternoon tea was enjoyable. We would love to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I'm just back from an overnight stay in the Hamlet Court Hotel from a recent wedding... When we arrived down we had booked a triple room which had 1 Double & 1 Single; when we rang Reception they straight away came up with an extra bed... That afternoon we have bar food which was lovely....

Later on that night we had an issue with our own room were a member of our own wedding party decided it would be funny to sort of mess up the room....which totally back fired & I have to say I can't thank the nightporter & member of the bar staff enough for the help in arranging the room again....Once again I can only apologize on behalf of the two culprits but have learned my own leason.... Keep my key in my bag at all times..... Thanks again.,..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dos144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnONeill4368, Owner at Hamlet Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Many thanks for your review, We are delighted you had a great day at Ashling & John's wedding. Hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just back from a stay in the Hamlet, We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist Edwina, and the owner was also very friendly. I had purchased a voucher for a Groupon offer of Bed and Breakfast and Afternoon Tea. Great Hotel very nice staff great room nice size very clean comfortable beds the only complaint I would have is the duvet was very heavy. The hotel was b usy with a wedding, two christening and a party. The waiter who served us our afternoon tea was very chatty and friendly. The breakfast was cooked to order which was lovely good choice in buffet the waitress was lovely. Plan to come back later in the year with my husband and my friend and her partner. There is a nice atmosphere in the hotel. There is not alot to do around the hotel as it is in a little village great if you just want to relax and chill out. There is plenty to see and do if you want to go further into Co Meath.

Room Tip: We had Room 208.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aly56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnONeill4368, Manager at Hamlet Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Many thanks for your review, Yes indeed Edwina is a star along with the rest of the team, our staff is our unique asset here in the hotel and they work tireless to give a great customer experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We took advantage of a Groupon offer of bed and breakfast and afternoon tea, spurred on by the very good ratings on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. We had a very pleasant stay.

The staff are very friendly and professional. It's obvious that everyone works as part of a team, doubling up as required and doing everything to ensure you have a good experience. We were treated with consideration, generosity and friendliness at all times. It seems like a nice place to work.

Our bedroom was a good size, clean and on the ground floor. The restaurant was not open when we were there mid week. We had filling food from the bar menu which was extensive. We had breakfast from the restaurant and that was very good.

There is not much to see in Johnstownbridge and one of the gardens advertised as being open to the public closed at the end of July but we stopped off in Edenderry which is just a few miles away and enjoyed that very much. The Royal Canal finishes here (keep mixing it up with the Grand Canal) and there are loads of little shops, a marketplace, old stone houses and so on. It's original with no chains.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank visittyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnONeill4368, Owner at Hamlet Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

So many thanks for your Kind review The team here were delighted to read you experience here in the Hotel. The Royal Canal group in Enfield has done a fantastic job on the habour and walk ways of the Canal really is a beautiful walk.
WE would be delighted should you return for another visit with us here in the Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enfield
0.8 mi away
The Johnstown Estate Hotel
3.1 mi away
Moyvalley Hotel & Golf Resort
10.9 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
22.5 mi away
Headfort Arms Hotel
Headfort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kells
676 reviews
10.8 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamlet Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamlet Court Hotel

Address: Johnstownbridge, Enfield, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Enfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enfield
Price Range: $89 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hamlet Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing