We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay but disappointing food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Johnstown Estate Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Enfield
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Lovely hotel with a nice big room, bathroom and the reception staff were very helpful and friendly. The restaurant was booked out during our stay so we ate in the bar. The menu was very limited with few options to choose from. I ordered the beef burger which was pink in the middle and upon notifying the waiter they just merely apologised. The service itself was poor and the bar was very cold. Overall a very nice hotel but the bar could do with some improvements.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Johnstown Estate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking time to post feedback regarding your recent visit to Johnstown House Hotel and Spa.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay however I am sorry to hear of the short comings in the bar you encountered.

I can assure your feedback is taken into consideration and highlighted with the relevant department.

We hope to see you return again soon
Kindest Regards
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

818 - 824 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

Short drive from Dublin spacious and well decorated food and service in restaurant excellent , room very comfortable staff extremely efficient and friendly , will return . Didn't use spa this time. Liz C Swords

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Johnstown Estate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking time to post feedback regarding your recent visit to Johnstown House Hotel and Spa.

I am pleased to read your review and it is a delight to hear you find Johnstown House so accomodating.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Just back from an overnight stay in this wonderful Hotel with 3 girl friends. We went for the Spa Package which included Dinner, Bed & Breakfast and a Spa treatment - excellent value for the extremely high standard in every area of this Hotel. We were warmly welcomed by Liz at Reception, we arrived early so she put our bags away until our room was ready and we adjourned to the Coach House for a delicious lunch - she arrived just as we had finished eating, with the keys to our rooms which were really lovely. We spent the afternoon in the Spa, two of us opting for the Elemis Facial which was so good that I fell asleep during the treatment! The other two girls had the full body massage and declared it to be the best they ever had! The Hotel was really busy as it was a Bank Holiday weekend but every single member of Staff that we encountered just couldn't do enough for us to ensure our every need was catered for. Dinner that evening was superb, we were extremely well looked after by Flo and the rest of the Staff who were working that evening under extreme pressure due to the large numbers of diners were so friendly and helpful. We adjourned to the Bar after dinner where there was a really good musician playing a good mix of music to suit all tastes/ages. After a great night's sleep, we had a delicious breakfast, lots of fresh fruit, yogurts, cold meats, and a great selection of cooked breakfasts - we met the wonderful Marena who, as well as being extremely efficient and professional at her job, is very entertaining company! She introduced us to the Hotel Manager, Shane - a delightful gentleman, professional to his fingertips and we all agreed, the epitome of what a really good Hotel Manager should be. Hats off to everyone at Johnstown House - to paraphrase Arnold Schwarzenegger - we'll be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clearday3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Johnstown Estate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking time to post feedback regarding your recent visit to Johnstown House Hotel and Spa.

It is a pleasure to read your review and learn you had an enjoyable stay.
I am delighted to learn you were so well looked after as it certainly is our aim to ensure each guest has a very relaxed and enjoyable stay.

Your kind comments will be passed to Liz, Flo, Marena and all of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kindest Regards
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Just back from a stay in Johnstown house hotel . Brought a Groupon deal for 1 nights stay with dinner I had read other reviews & didn't know what to expect .
From the moment we arrived everything was great . Arrived at 1.30 so was a bit early room wasn't ready but the lovely girl at reception told us if we could come back in 1/2 hour it would be ready so went in to Enfield for a walk when we arrived back Shane at reception was very helpful we where told that dinner was booked for 7.15 but I asked was it possible to change to 8 with no problem even thought they where very busy
Room was big & comfortable
What to the pool spend about an hour & a half between the pool & the thermal spa area very relaxed !!
Arrived for dinner & was seated in a lovely room just off the main dining area our waiter Gerry couldn't have been more helpful . I had the cesar salad & my husband had the soup both lovely I then had the pork belly with black pudding mash & my husband had the salmon both gorgeous
Breakfast was lovely with lots of choice & very fresh
Thank you to all the staff that made our stay so enjoyable

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lcollins34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Johnstown Estate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking time to post feedback regarding your recent visit to Johnstown House Hotel and Spa.

It is a pleasure to read your review and learn you had an enjoyable stay.
Your kind comments will be passed to Shane and Gerry and all of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kindest Regards
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

I am here with my wife and it is not the first time, but today the spa was disappointing as the full body massage we had was poor and the steam room bearly warm, other people found the room not working prperly and left soon as well.
After the spa we went to our room and as we were thirsty we looked for water and there was none, not even some tap water. As a result I had to go to the bar and buy some. First time there is no complimentary water in a spa!! I went to the reception to say what happened and the girl said "sorry about that". Poor service indeed. Let's hope for dinner!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DarioStea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Johnstown Estate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback regarding your recent visit to Johnstown House Hotel and Spa.

It is a disappointment to hear you were dissatisfied during your stay.
I can assure you it is not the level of service we would like our guests to experience while with us.

Your comments have all been highlighted and I do apologise for your short comings during your visit.

Kindest Regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

we have just returned from this masterpiece in Enfield. from check in i knew this was going to be a very enjoyable stay. we stayed for one night 14th march. we got a free upgrade to a suite, and the staff on front desk well it was a very different experience, they were so friendly chatty and so easy going. we found this with all the staff we met and as it would be unfair of us to mention people by name, we are also going to email the management directly. the food we were served was the best we have ate, only downside was their red wine was too nice.... however the following morning i was offered painkillers for my greedy hangover. we will return and will encourage others to do so

Room Tip: any of the rooms we saw are simply fantasic looking, enjoy this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil_lou_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Johnstown Estate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback regarding your recent visit to Johnstown House Hotel and Spa.

It is a pleasure to read your review and a delight to learn you were so well looked after during your stay.
We aim to ensure all guests enjoy a comfortable and relaxing stay while all staff make them feel welcome so it is great to hear this was a highlight for you.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Just returned from a 1 night stay, disappointing is an understatement, we had booked with groupon and the booking was so easy I was expecting great things!!
Firstly the signage to find the hotel was non existent, and the hotel this well hidden, reception is also poorly signed! First problem was trying to book a table for dinner, 6.30 was mentioned and the only later time was 6.45, when we arrived down at the appointed time the restaurant was deserted, the area we were seated in had15 tables, and only 4 others were occupied for the entire time we were there, the menu was to say the least poor with salmon appearing twice!! However the good was fair, however my daughter was violently sick shortly after eating great pork!!
We had requested a quiet room, and as per usual the quiet room is farthest away from any facilities in the hotel.....the whole hotel is tired, wallpaper is scuffed and dirty, bedding worn and the tv must be a museum piece.
We tried to use the pool area, once again a small towel is provided and the pool area was occupied by a large number of small children screaming and generally making huge amounts of noise... Possibly due to the fact that the water was freezing.
After a poor nights sleep (due to feral cats outside our back of the hotel quiet room) we had probably the best part of this visit, a good breakfast. It was almost a relief to head towards home. Advice....choose a different hotel, there has to be better on offer in this area.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank joan1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Johnstown Estate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback regarding your recent visit to Johnstown House Hotel and Spa.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed a good breakfast before your departure however I am sorry to hear of your short comings during your stay.

Firstly may I apologise if you found it hard to find us on the day, we certainly have our hotel signs up surrounding in the local area. I will have all of these checked in case they have been removed or positioned wrongly due to weather conditions recently.

Unfortunately it would be best to position a request for a quiet room furthest from the main lobby, this is to avoid noise from the main hotel but also reduces possible traffic of other guests passing the room.

Your comments regarding the restaurant and the pool water temperature have been passed to the relevant departments and I do apologise once again for this.

Kindest Regards
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enfield
14.9 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
3.7 mi away
Moyvalley Hotel & Golf Resort
10.4 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hamlet Court Hotel
Hamlet Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enfield
428 reviews
11.2 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Johnstown Estate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Johnstown Estate Hotel

Address: The Johnstown Estate Enfield-Johnstown Bridge Road, Enfield A83 V070, Ireland (Formerly Johnstown House Hotel & Spa)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Enfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Enfield
Price Range: $81 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Johnstown Estate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Johnstown Estate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Johnstown Hotel Enfield
Marriott County Meath
Marriott Enfield
County Meath Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing