We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, terrible food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Johnstown Estate Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enfield
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great room, terrible food!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Upon arrival to an empty hotel, the manager offered us an upgrade, assumingly at no extra charge, to an executive suite. The room was spacious and freezing cold. After phoning the front desk, a heater was placed in the room, immediately fixing the problem.

The gym was crowded but stocked with all the necessary equipment. The spa/pool area could have used a deep cleaning. Everything was stained yellow and smelled of old sweat. The sauna had a clogged drain and therefore had 3 inches of stagnant, sweat filled water of which you had to step in to get into, DISGUSTING!! The steam room was out of order, which we were told was being cleaned, only to see the following day that it was still not working and definitely not clean.

Our meal that afternoon was shockingly bad. 25 minutes after ordering a roast beef sandwich and pork shoulder main, the server arrived to the table to inform us that they were out of roast beef. It took the kitchen 25 minutes to realise this??. 20 minutes later the orders arrived. My pork main was overcooked, tough and extremely poorly presented. My sweet potato wedges, which I was extremely excited for, were drenched in a jus, which flooded the plate and garnished with 50 pearl onions, no joke 50 onions.

Our meal the next night was no different. My steak was ordered medium rare, and was delivered medium well, which I chose not to return because I was starving. My partner ordered the fish n chips, advertised as cod. The fish arrived, definitely not shaped like a cod fillet. We asked the server what fish it was and were told it was codling. This should have been relayed to us before/during ordering, as codling is a very inferior fish. The fish had a dense, chewy breading. This was the worst fish n chips we have ever had!!!

The only good part about the food was the fact that you were using Waterford Blaa as the burger bun. For this I applaud you!!

At checkout, we informed management of our complaints of which he handled very well. He then noticed on the system that we owed for an upgrade, which was hugely embarrassing to have to say that the first manager had offered us the upgrade complimentary.

I will not be recommending nor returning to this venue.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Johnstown Estate Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback in relation to your recent visit at the Johnstown House Hotel and Spa.

I am very sorry for the shortcomings in standards that you have experienced, let me assure you that these comments are acknowledged and will be addressed to the relevant departments in the hotel.


We hope to see you return soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    349
    180
    131
    89
See reviews for
260
462
25
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

It was my daughters birthday and I seen a great deal for this lovely hotel. Ten of us went on the Friday before Christmas and had a one night stay. I have stayed here in the past with my husband and knew the hotel was good but none of the others have been here before but will be going back as they were very impressed. The rooms are clean and beautifully finished and the hotel over all is well looked after. Five of us had spa treatments and enjoyed them and the relax area afterwards. The swimming pool was used by all and the hot tub out side was a real treat and make sure you use the hot stone beds afterwards. The deal we had included a two course meal in the bar and breakfast. The food was lovely and over all the hotel is excellent. We cant wait to go back and are looking for another deal.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Johnstown Estate Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback in relation to your recent visit at the Johnstown House Hotel and Spa.

I am delighted to see you have returned to us and once again enjoyed your stay and that your friends were looked after also upon your return.

I will certainly pass your kind comments to all of the team here at Johnstown House Hotel and Spa.


We look forward to welcome you back to us in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This hotel is fronted by a beautiful country house, the hotel itself is modern and the spa is well equipped. The rooms are a good size and well presented and the staff are professional and friendly. I stayed here as I was attending a wedding, and the food was very good, a notch above some other wedding food which I have experienced in other establishments.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herbivore23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Johnstown Estate Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback in relation to your recent visit at the Johnstown House Hotel and Spa.

I am delighted to see that you found your stay enjoyable and that the food was a delight for you.

We look forward to welcome you back to us in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I'm a bit late putting my review up, but I wanted to do one as when I reviewed this hotel the comments helped me in choosing it for my wedding. We got married in June 2013 and I can't recommend this hotel more. I met with Louise Rowe, the wedding organiser who was absolutely lovely to deal with, even when I hadn't sent in my table planner late the night before the wedding she was really kind and completely understood the madness and stress around a wedding and especially the week coming up to the wedding. The ballroom was perfect, there are two bars in the ballroom which is great for keeping people in the room. On the day of the wedding we asked would they mind closing one of the bars because we thought it was separating the room and they did it immediately, little things like that make a big difference when your stressed, that they just do it without questioning you, fantastic! The meal was really good, we had a choice of fillet of seabass or fillet of beef for the mains and people were raving about it and especially that they came out with seconds, bonus! The area where we had the reception drinks was bright and classy, with a grand piano. The rooms were fabulous, my parents and new inlaws were so happy with their rooms. I have to say I had full confidence in the staff and the hotel and was just so happy with the way it went.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Johnstown Estate Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback in relation to your recent visit at the Johnstown House Hotel and Spa.

I am delighted to see that you had the most enjoyable day with us.
I will certainly pass on your kind comments to Louise and the staff.

We look forward to welcome you back to us in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

12 ladies booked into the houses at the Johnstown house hotel for spa treatments and a nice birthday for my mother and to wind down after Christmas it was 28/12/2013.we had lovely lunch in the bar and headed to the spa area where the ladies looked after us brilliantly except for a couple of things . The showers were not working in the spa area and the jacuzzi was not working either and considering it was for my 68 year old mothers birthday dragging her up and down the stairs to discover this and back up and back down to use showers and back up to collect belongings I needn't tell u relaxing is not what she felt when we finished . My own massage was 25 minutes delayed and I had to go out to reception to find this out because I was just left alone in a room with no one around to ask . Eventually Davina did my treatment and she was lovely and I enjoyed it .the houses were lovely and the breakfast gorgeous and we had a nice time .

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Adrienneodowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Johnstown Estate Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback in relation to your recent visit at the Johnstown House Hotel and Spa.

I am delighted to see that you found lunch in the bar enjoyable.

I am very sorry for the shortcomings in standards that you have experienced, let me assure you that these comments are acknowledged and will be address to the relevant departments in the hotel.


We hope to see you return soon.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is the first poor review I have posted and it saddens me that a hotel I visited about five years ago could have deteriorated so much in such a short space of time.
A group of 5 of us spent one night in this hotel. We had 2 double rooms booked initially & a fifth person decided to join us. Having enquired beforehand about getting a third bed into one of the double bedrooms I was told that they would try to facilitate us by giving us a triple & a double room instead. This was great! I specifically asked that we have 5 single beds & no camp bed irrespective of what way rooms were to be arranged. Upon checkin I was given 2 keycards & knew by the look on the receptionist face when I asked which room was the triple that this had not been arranged. I said nothing and left well enough alone. When we went up to the room low and behold a campbed in one of the rooms. Again I left well enough alone & said nothing. We went to make a cup of coffee & realised that we only had cups//coffee & tea sachets/towels/pillows/glasses for 2 people. I rang reception & asked if they could sort this out as there were 3 of us in the room. I was told that she would sort it out this time but if I had any other problems to seek out the staff member on each level of the hotel whose job it was to look after issues like this. My sister who was in the other room then came into our room disgusted that the toilet in her room had not been cleaned and had poo all along the inside of the bowl. She rang reception about this. This wasn't a good start! I'm not going to go into all the details of the Fawlty Towers experiences we had but instead list them:
- Mini bar was completely empty in both room
- Safe in both rooms - batteries were dead and no power going to them
- Safety chain in one room broken and we could not use it that night
- The sink in the bathroom did not empty and we had to plunge it with its own stopper to empty it
- Four of the five meals ordered were cold - the hot one being the deep fried option
- In the Coach Bar we asked on three occasions for milk for our coffee to no avail - eventually we had to order fresh coffee +milk

The only two redeeming things about this hotel is the beautiful spa area and facilities in it and Patrick, who served us in the Coach Bar. I don't think I will be back there again unfortunately.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happygirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Kildare, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Just had a full body massage with Claire and I thought it was amazing, staff are very polite and we'll mannered including reception ( Louise and Maggie) everywhere was spotless and very relaxing, would recommend to anyone great value too.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeanne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enfield
3.6 mi away
Moyvalley Hotel & Golf Resort
10.4 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
14.9 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hamlet Court Hotel
Hamlet Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Enfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
10.4 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
16.2 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Johnstown Estate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Johnstown Estate Hotel

Property: The Johnstown Estate Hotel
Address: Enfield-Johnstown Bridge Road, Enfield, Ireland (Formerly Johnstown House Hotel & Spa)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Enfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Johnstown Estate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HRS, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Johnstown Estate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Johnstown Hotel Enfield
Marriott County Meath
Marriott Enfield
County Meath Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing