We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nearly cancelled my booking glad i didnt!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Johnstown Estate Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enfield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nearly cancelled my booking glad i didnt!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here on the 15th February for the night and had a brilliant time! The staff were lovely and friendly and the bar staff provided us with excellent service and really made us feel at home. The bar food was nice as far as bar food goes and i would eat there again.

Our hotel room was lovely, nice and big and clean with a nice view over the gardens. We headed over to use the leisure facilities and they were excellent, we used the outdoor hot tub that was a total novelty and a nice touch.

We dined in the pavillion restaurant and i had no complaints other than it was quite a limited menu but again my partner says its one of the nicest meals he ever had and i am quite a fussy eater!

I nearly cancelled my booking when i saw the reviews of the hotel on this, while i agree a lick of paint could be done here or there (especially at the outdoor spa) it certainly did not take away from our experience and i found the staff to be fabulous and service to be first class would totally stay again! :)

Room Tip: the breakfast pancakes are fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniedbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odhran l, General Manager at The Johnstown Estate Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Anniedbd,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding Johnstown House Hotel. We are really delighted you enjoyed your break. Our outdoor hot tub is indeed a novelty and we are one of the few hotels in Ireland to have such a facility. We have started a maintenance programme within the hotel and have recently renovated the restaurant and bar. It is our plan to continue to carry out work throughout the hotel during the year.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Johnstown House Hotel and Spa.

P.S. Delighted to see your partner has good taste in food.


Kind regards,

Odhran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    348
    180
    131
    89
See reviews for
260
462
25
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the hotel a number of times, business mostly, my partner and i decided to stay from a pleasure point of view, upgraded room, used the spa, lovely meal, really enjoyed it, the hotel has allways fullfilled its promise as a good place to head to.
Go and experence.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girvin57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conaatatu, General Manager at The Johnstown Estate Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Girvin57,

Thank you for taking the time to contact Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Johnstown House hotel & Spa. We are delighted you and your partner enjoyed your stay. If there is anything we can do to improve your next visit to the hotel, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Yours sincerely,

Odhran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

stayed at this hotel on the 10th of feb for our 10th wedding anniversary. check in was very fast we had lunch in the bar and it was very good.Our room was really lovely the hotel made our stay very special. Dinner in pavillion restaurant was very good quality.My self and my husband love this hotel and we will be visiting again very soon also there was a guy playing guitar on the night and he was brill well done

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conaatatu, General Manager at The Johnstown Estate Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Jackie,

Thank you for taking the time to visit Johnstown House Hotel & Spa. We are honoured that you chose the hotel in which to celebrate your 10th wedding anniversary. On behalf of the management and staff at the hotel, congratulations and we wish you many more years of happiness.

Yours truly,

Odhran Lawlor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
313 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel has very good facilities and the rooms are comfortable and warm. The location is great - less than an hour from Dublin. My only complaint was that the common areas in the hotel were very very cold - uncomfortable. The staff were very rriendly and the food was ok but they neeed more heat in winter.

Room Tip: The hotel is very spread out and some rooms are a long way from reception - you may want to ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beahive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conaatatu, General Manager at The Johnstown Estate Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Beahive,

Thank you for taking the time to contact Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Johnstown House Hotel. While we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay may we apologise for any inconvenience caused regarding the heat. We have taken your comments on board and will take the necessary action.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Johnstown House Hotel & Spa.

Kind regards,


Odhran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Was here for a wedding, lovely room set up and great lay out. All the staff seemed very friendly and helpful. Food was ok, soup was a bit tasteless so was disappointed with that. But on the whole a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubgal101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conaatatu, General Manager at The Johnstown Estate Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dubgal101,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to the hotel. Yes the hotel set on 120 acres is indeed an ideal location for a wedding. Equally we have some excellent packages available for that special day. While we are delighted you enjoyed the wedding, tasteless soup is just not good enough. Rest assured that I have discussed your comments with the team. Once again thank you for taking the time to contact Trip Advisor.

Kind regards,

Odhran Lawlor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just back from 3 days at this hotel with my daughter and two granddaughters one who was dancing in a feis at the hotel the room was great with a king size bed and two single beds also a sofa a unit with tv and fridge and a great walk in shower will be back next year

Room Tip: Room 344 looked out to the back of the hotel nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hamiltonmolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conaatatu, General Manager at The Johnstown Estate Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear HamiltonMolloy,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the hotel. I am sure that your daughter enjoyed the Feis and I trust she was a winner. The hotel has a number of rooms and apartments which are ideal for families. Equally during the summer and school holiday periods we host a children’s club which is an ideal way for your children to spend their holidays.

Once again thank you for your feedback and continued success to your daughter in her dancing career.

Odhran Lawlor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Room rates are decent value and the hotel seems to be incredibly popular. We weren't expecting the place to be thronged in a weekend in February and I suppose we were hoping to have a more relaxing experience as a group of friends. The queue to check in took around 20 minutes. We then went straight to the spa which was busy but nice with friendly therapists. I had a hot stone massage and it was typical of what you'd expect in a beauty salon, very relaxing, light and gentle but didn't really get into the muscles. It was very difficult to get a booking for dinner. We called at around 6 and were told we couldn't be fitted into the restaurant until 9.30 or 10. There were no seats in the bar either (there was a large upstairs area that was closed off despite the crowds). An Irish dancing competition was being held so the place was very noisy and full of kids until very late in the evening. Rooms were well maintained and comfortable. Pool area was also very busy, but had a few lanes so that anyone who wanted to swim lengths was able to, and it was a decent length - probably around 20 metres. So overall it fit the purpose and was good value, but I wouldn't rush to return at a weekend, as the crowds and overwhelmed staff took away from the relaxation of a weekend away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conaatatu, General Manager at The Johnstown Estate Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Llb,

Thank you for taking the time to contact Johnston House Hotel regarding your recent visit. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we have passed on your feedback to our staff. We are delighted to say that we have being very busy during the month of February. The weekend you visited was indeed extremely busy and we trust that it did not impact too much on your stay. Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Johnstown House Hotel.

Kind regards,

Odhran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enfield
3.6 mi away
Moyvalley Hotel & Golf Resort
10.4 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
14.9 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hamlet Court Hotel
Hamlet Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Enfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
10.4 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
16.2 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Johnstown Estate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Johnstown Estate Hotel

Property: The Johnstown Estate Hotel
Address: Enfield-Johnstown Bridge Road, Enfield, Ireland (Formerly Johnstown House Hotel & Spa)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Enfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Johnstown Estate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HRS, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Johnstown Estate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Johnstown Hotel Enfield
Marriott County Meath
Marriott Enfield
County Meath Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing