We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cooneys Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$340
$318
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viewmount House(Longford)
$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hodson Bay Hotel(Athlone)
$101
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Creggan Court(Athlone)(Great Value!)
$52
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$103
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Prince of Wales Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
$58
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveler rating
107
27
6
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
107
27
6
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerbar foodsteak sandwichwell worth a visitgreat foodthe pubbreakfast menufor sunday lunchmain streettop classexcellent hostsstayed one nightfollowing morninglambroom was spotlesssea bassa wonderful stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
149 - 153 of 153 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2011

I stopped off at this hotel for lunch while on a long cross country trip. I had never been in it before. But from the moment I stepped inside the front door I felt at ease. I needed to use the restroom before I ordered lunch and was met by a very pleasant member of staff who asked if I was looking for the restrooms. On return and having found myself a lovely seat by the fire another very pleasant waitress dropped over a menu to me. To my surprise moments later she was back with a perfect pot of tea- perfect in that it arrived so quickly and was really hot, which I like. Minutes later my lunch arrived. I was so grateful for this quick service as I had a long journey ahead and didn't want to be delayed. Again the lunch was hot, tasty and fresh. All in all a most pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fuchsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, General Manager at Cooneys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Dear Fuchsia,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Stephen Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Although we did not stay at Cooney's Hotel, my two old school pals from U.K, and I met up to have a little reunion, and we were recommended to try Cooney[s Hotel - so glad we did; the atmosphere, food and service were excellent. The Staff were so courteous and helpful, it was a most pleasant experience. Thank you Cooneys!

Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
Thank Sheila93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, General Manager at Cooneys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Dear Sheila93,

Thank you for taking the time to post your great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience in the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Stephen Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

A nice country feel to the hotel. The staff were very friendly and the room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Good choice of food and no complaints about service.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fincofour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, General Manager at Cooneys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Dear Fincofour,

Thank you for taking the time to post your great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Stephen Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Cooneys is a family run establishment and has a warm friendly environment. The bar food is excellent in particular the steak sandwich is superb. The hotal also has an a la carte restaurant which is also great and very good value for money. The surrounding village is great for a relaxing get away and very calm with some great little old fashioned pubs. The rooms are comfortable andthe reception area is lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, General Manager at Cooneys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Dear NLirl,

Thank you for taking the time to post your great review and for recommending us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Stephen Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews