We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“don't let the facade fool you” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cooneys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cooneys Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballymahon
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“don't let the facade fool you”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I recently spent the evening at Cooney's in Ballymahon and upon my arrival wondered what I had got myself into. The outside of the Hotel/Pub was not an indication of the quality of service that I would receive inside. The staff was very friendly and efficient. The food was cooked to perfection and served hot. Breakfast was include with my room and there was a lot of choice, again served quickly and hot!
My room was clean and large with two beds. Although there were not a lot of channels available on the TV, I managed to get through the evening on a comfy bed.
Although my stay was short, if ever I get back to Ballymahon I would stay here and I recommend it for anyone passing thru the area

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, Owner at Cooneys Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Ken P,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel. Thank you for recommending us.

Best Regards,

Michael Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    22
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
50
29
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel is ran by Michael and Josie and their family. It's a lovely hotel in the Irish Midlands. I recently had a post wedding bash there and the food and service was excellent. Even if your just popping in for a quick bite or a drink the food and service is really great. It's also very reasonable. The steak is yummy and the chips are the real deal, they are cooked in dripping. Excellent for grub and they are very accommodating and thoughtful. Lovely! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eilishg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, Owner at Cooneys Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Eilish,

Thank you for taking the time to post your great review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for recommending us.

Best Regards,

Michael Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Room was very comfortable and spacious. Evening dinner was good value and delicious. Staff were friendly and very helpful with information on how to reach our next destination. Our only disappointment was the Wifi was not available throughout the building, only in certain areas. I believe there was a fault and to be fair staff did make a chair available in the corridor where the Wifi was working.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, Owner at Cooneys Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Annette M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed you stay with us. Since your visit we have fixed the wifi issue and it is now available throughout the hotel.

Best Regards,

Michael Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pettigo, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I travel regularly between Donegal and Tipperary and stop here all the time. It serves excellent food and the staff are wonderful. My recomendation to all hungry travelers is to try the roast Beef. My daughter complains when she goes somewhere else that they can't cook beef properly(because the beef here is top notch). Having stopped here now on trips for years I have always been served great food and always return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Meg b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, Owner at Cooneys Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Meg B,

Thank you for taking the time to post your great review.

Thank you for the recommending us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Michael Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I attended a clan gathering and stayed in Cooneys for the weekend with my family. I really could not find fault with any aspect from accommodation, food and staff friendliness. I had 4 young people with me who attended the night club and they had a wonderful time.There was live entertainment in the bar for the more mature clientele such as myself. My siblings and their children also stayed for the weekend and found it to be without fault. A thoroughly enjoyable stay and would definitely return when in the area. Well done to the owners and staff.

Room Tip: Once you are aware that there is a night club, and what is inevitable as a result, you will have abs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunshineDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, Owner at Cooneys Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear SunshineDublin,

Thank you for taking the time to post your great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you for recommending us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Michael Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and myself were cycling the Royal Canal and stayed overnight in Cooney's. it was the most enjoyable stop during our trip. We had a lovely evening meal and the rack of lamb was probably the best I've ever had both in terms of quality and presentation. The room was spacious and clean and as it was quiet we had a very restful night.
The staff were very friendly and most helpful. We had a problem with one of the bikes and they did everything they could to help us sort out the problem.
We would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone who finds themselves in that part of the country and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DonalOBrollachain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, Owner at Cooneys Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear DonalOBrollachain,

Thank you for taking the time to post your great review and recommending us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Michael Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

My girlfriend and i stayed in cooneys at the weekend. It is a fabulace hotel. the rooms are very comfortable, the staff are very friendly and helpful. The Food is delicious and excellent value for money.Two course meal including a steak option for 19.95 the hotel is in great condition very clean and live entertainment all weekend. we had a brilliant time and will definetly be returning to cooneys in ballymahon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 09Bren84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, Owner at Cooneys Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear 09Bren84,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Michael Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballymahon
13.9 mi away
Keenan's Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
10.9 mi away
Viewmount House
Viewmount House
#1 of 2 in Longford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
12.0 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
8.3 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooneys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooneys Hotel

Property: Cooneys Hotel
Address: Main Street, Ballymahon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Longford > Ballymahon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballymahon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cooneys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cooneys Hotel is classically situated in the heart of Irelands Lake District. The hotel which stands majestically overlooking the beautiful town of Ballymahon opens a gateway to this relatively undiscovered part of the midlands. This boutique style hotel owned and managed by Michael & Josephine Cooney & Their Family is situated on the river Inny and in close proximity to Lough Ree on the river Shannon. Within easy driving distance you can explore the midland region with its lovely towns, villages, lakes and other tourist attractions. At Cooney's Hotel we pride ourselves as a family run hotel. We are ideally located on the main street in Ballymahon. Our Hotel's warm and cosy atmosphere will help you and your family relax and unwind. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cooneys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing