We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”
Review of Cooneys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cooneys Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballymahon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We regularly dine in Cooneys hotel with our family and have had numerous celebratory occasions there over the last few years since we moved to the area.
We would highly recommend the food in this establishment and also the staff are very friendly, accommodating and never forget a face.
Only thing missing is a swimming pool :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank redcorsamaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, Owner at Cooneys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

Dear redcorsamaisy,

Thank you for taking the time for posting your great review and for recommending us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visits to the hotel and we value your custom. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Michael Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 148 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012

What an amazing hotel. I stayed in Cooney's Hotel for one night and I didn't want to leave as it was such a briliant place. The food was just delicious... The staff was so friendly and welcoming. I will most certainly be back and would definately recommend! Could honestly never say a bad word! :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kate Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, Owner at Cooneys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

Dear Kate Q,

Thank you for taking the time to post your great review and for recommending us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Michael Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stayed one night for a friends 30th birthday. Room very spacious and absolutely spotless. Ate in the hotel restaurant and must say the meal was excellent. Steak was great quality and starter and dessert were delicious also. The family who own the hotel were lovely.

Great atmosphere in the bar and liveusic was brilliant. Great value for money. Will definitely go back.

Great spot for non Irish to appreciate a good night of Irish craic..

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank GaelFlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, Owner at Cooneys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

Dear GaelFlynn,

Thank you for taking the time to post your great review and for recommending us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Michael Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This hotel is spotless, the food is excellent, the service the owners and the staff are amazing. Have stayed at the hotel several times. Without hesitation would recommend this hotel. Have just come back from a stay in Egypt in a 5* hotel and this is far superior. I have ticked the swimming pool, please note that there is no swimming pool.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms, have a few drinks and you wont hear a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ANTHEA18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, Owner at Cooneys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

Dear Anthea18,

Thank you for taking the time to post your great review and for recommending us. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your visits to us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Michael Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This is my 3rd time to have a lovley meal in Cooneys . It was a busy bank holiday monday , so was expecting to have to wait a while but as usual , There were plenty of staff on ,all well trained .Our food arrived piping hot ,delicous and good portions . I can usually manage a dessert but not this time , I really was full after my turkey and ham . The hotel itself was spotless , and the owner mike took the time to go round and chat , it looked like he knew a lot of the customers ,like they were regulars or friends either way its a good sign .He was also tellin me about a festival comming up in june, i think we might just havta book in for that it sounds like a good weekend . we will def b back as we would consider this to one of the better spots for service and value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank olive w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, Owner at Cooneys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

Dear Olive W,

Thank you for taking the time to post your great review and for recommending us. We are delighted you enjoyed your dining experience at the hotel and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Michael Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed in cooney's on main st ballymahon on the 21-4-2012. I found no problem with the staff very polite. It was the amount of noise from the nightclub and the shouting on the streets afterwards. I felt like calling the police as the amount of children (under 18) who were very drunk who had either brought in their own drink or were served in the nightclub ran riot outside. I am not a light sleeper but the constant drum beat from the music kept me awake. the room was very warm so i opened a window that is now i heard the shouting and roaring. Will not be staying again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pat h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, General Manager at Cooneys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2014

Dear Pat H,

The nightclub is no longer in operation

Kind Regards,
Michael Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

On my travels, I stopped at this hotel for lunch. This place is spotless, Bathrooms are sparkling. On arrival i was promptly offered the menu by a friendly waitress,I ordered Battered Whiting. Food was piping hot, and the fish was delicious.As for dessert I sampled the baileys trifle,recommended by the waitress, Presentation wasnt the best,but it was lovely with lots of cream.I would recommend this Hotel highly, Lovely homely feel and atmosphere.Staff are lovely and pleasent and helpful I may add.I've travelled most of the country and there's very few places like this,i asked the waitress did she know off any hotels in the area i was travelling to,before leaving she had them printed offfor me.Will definitily stop again, to this lovely hidden gem in the midlands.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, General Manager at Cooneys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Dear John H,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Stephen Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballymahon
11 mi away
Viewmount House
Viewmount House
#1 of 2 in Longford
236 reviews
12.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.3 mi away
Skelly's Guesthouse
Skelly's Guesthouse
#1 of 3 in Ballymahon
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
No photo provided
Newcastle House
#3 of 3 in Ballymahon
1 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lough Rea Bed & Breakfast
Lough Rea Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Ballymahon
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooneys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooneys Hotel

Address: Main Street, Ballymahon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Longford > Ballymahon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballymahon
Price Range: $163 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cooneys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cooneys Hotel is classically situated in the heart of Irelands Lake District. The hotel which stands majestically overlooking the beautiful town of Ballymahon opens a gateway to this relatively undiscovered part of the midlands. This boutique style hotel owned and managed by Michael & Josephine Cooney & Their Family is situated on the river Inny and in close proximity to Lough Ree on the river Shannon. Within easy driving distance you can explore the midland region with its lovely towns, villages, lakes and other tourist attractions. At Cooney's Hotel we pride ourselves as a family run hotel. We are ideally located on the main street in Ballymahon. Our Hotel's warm and cosy atmosphere will help you and your family relax and unwind. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cooneys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing