We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and very friendly staff, highly recommended!”
Review of Cooneys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cooneys Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballymahon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for one night only but I cannot speak highly enough of it! The service was excellent the staff extremely friendly and helpfull and the owner Mike made us feel like we were visiting friends. I had three meals and all were very tasty. I highly recommend this hotel it was like staying in a home away from home, the rooms were basic but spotless clean as were the toilets. Very happy customer would stay again!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samcgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, Owner at Cooneys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

Dear Samcgee,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for recommending us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Michael Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 148 of 148 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2011

We were lucky to spend New Year's Eve in Cooney's Hotel this year,
having heard good things about the hotel we decided to arrange to meet some friends half-way to ring in the New Year. We found the hotel to be warm and welcoming at check-in, the rooms were comfortable and quiet. That night there was a great band playing in the bar, despite this the service was excellent and the atmosphere was fantastic. The next morning, after a late night, and with delicate stomachs, we were late to breakfast- thankfully this was no problem to the staff who brought out a large pot of hot tea while we looked at the breakfast menu. There was a good choice on the menu, some of our friends had the omelette and breakfast rolls, the portion size was generous for both and they went down well. we went the traditional route and had the full Irish breakfast. The highlight of this was the black and white pudding which was so good that we had to ask where we could buy some, turns out all ingredients are sourced from artisan producers, and the pudding came from Kildare. All in all, we had a great time in Cooney's and would highly recommend it for food if you are passing by, but it's also worth planning a visit to stay. We are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, General Manager at Cooneys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Dear ALirl,

Thank you for taking the time to post your great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your New Years Eve celebrations at the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Stephen Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

I stopped off at this hotel for lunch while on a long cross country trip. I had never been in it before. But from the moment I stepped inside the front door I felt at ease. I needed to use the restroom before I ordered lunch and was met by a very pleasant member of staff who asked if I was looking for the restrooms. On return and having found myself a lovely seat by the fire another very pleasant waitress dropped over a menu to me. To my surprise moments later she was back with a perfect pot of tea- perfect in that it arrived so quickly and was really hot, which I like. Minutes later my lunch arrived. I was so grateful for this quick service as I had a long journey ahead and didn't want to be delayed. Again the lunch was hot, tasty and fresh. All in all a most pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fuchsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, General Manager at Cooneys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Dear Fuchsia,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Stephen Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Although we did not stay at Cooney's Hotel, my two old school pals from U.K, and I met up to have a little reunion, and we were recommended to try Cooney[s Hotel - so glad we did; the atmosphere, food and service were excellent. The Staff were so courteous and helpful, it was a most pleasant experience. Thank you Cooneys!

Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
Thank Sheila93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, General Manager at Cooneys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Dear Sheila93,

Thank you for taking the time to post your great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience in the hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Stephen Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

A nice country feel to the hotel. The staff were very friendly and the room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Good choice of food and no complaints about service.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fincofour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, General Manager at Cooneys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Dear Fincofour,

Thank you for taking the time to post your great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Stephen Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Cooneys is a family run establishment and has a warm friendly environment. The bar food is excellent in particular the steak sandwich is superb. The hotal also has an a la carte restaurant which is also great and very good value for money. The surrounding village is great for a relaxing get away and very calm with some great little old fashioned pubs. The rooms are comfortable andthe reception area is lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen C, General Manager at Cooneys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Dear NLirl,

Thank you for taking the time to post your great review and for recommending us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Stephen Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballymahon
11 mi away
Viewmount House
Viewmount House
#1 of 2 in Longford
236 reviews
12.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.3 mi away
Skelly's Guesthouse
Skelly's Guesthouse
#1 of 3 in Ballymahon
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
No photo provided
Newcastle House
#3 of 3 in Ballymahon
1 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lough Rea Bed & Breakfast
Lough Rea Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Ballymahon
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooneys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooneys Hotel

Address: Main Street, Ballymahon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Longford > Ballymahon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballymahon
Price Range: $163 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cooneys Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cooneys Hotel is classically situated in the heart of Irelands Lake District. The hotel which stands majestically overlooking the beautiful town of Ballymahon opens a gateway to this relatively undiscovered part of the midlands. This boutique style hotel owned and managed by Michael & Josephine Cooney & Their Family is situated on the river Inny and in close proximity to Lough Ree on the river Shannon. Within easy driving distance you can explore the midland region with its lovely towns, villages, lakes and other tourist attractions. At Cooney's Hotel we pride ourselves as a family run hotel. We are ideally located on the main street in Ballymahon. Our Hotel's warm and cosy atmosphere will help you and your family relax and unwind. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cooneys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing