We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special Restaurant”

The Courthouse Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Kinlough
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Special Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

I would recommend Courthouse Restaurant in Kinlough Co Leitrim close to Atlantic Coast between North Sligo and South Donegal. Have been there on numerous occasions and food is always excellent with fresh salads and vegetables from own garden. Owner Piero Melis is chef.

Helpful?
1 Thank flausacanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    10
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Myself and my husband were at the courthouse restaurant on fri 20th June 2014.The restaurant had been recommended by the owner of the cottage we were renting in nearby village of Belleek.We were not disappointed. The staff were lovely and very attentive. The food and atmosphere was excellent..with a few sample courses included. Would highly recommend this place and will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Colette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fab!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Loved our meal here. You could tell the waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu and wine. Had an amazing zuppa di pesce and zucchini fritti! Staff v attentive, faultless food, can't wait to go back and have already recommended to all! Such a sophisticated place in a teeny village i love it!

Helpful?
1 Thank cwkf725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbellaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Worth a detour.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We first came here about ten years ago, and were made to feel about as welcome as the 'flu.
I'm pleased to say things have improved greatly since then, borne out by the many recent awards in the hallway.

If you want a good meal in North Sligo or Leitrim, this place is worth the drive - it's only a few minutes from Mullaghmore, Bundoran, Ballyshannon, or Cliffoney, and there is parking at the door.

The ambience is "bustling Trattoria" on a busy evening. No place for a cosy, romantic meal for two then.
We also thought the decor could do with freshening up, particularly in the side room.
The starters are quite pricey on reading the menu, which focuses on seafood, but are worth it. We had the scallops and chicken salad.

Main courses were the fish of the day and the chicken and bacon. Both great, and I recommend the battered courgettes as an alternative to chips.

Desserts, often a let-down, were equally good, and the bill for two with wine came to 104 euros.

The wine list is mainly Sicilian, and there are few familiar names - some insanely expensive - but ours was the perfectly passable "wine of the month" for 21.50 euros.

Service is wonderfully pleasant and plentiful without being intrusive.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 57Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Down, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Visited The Courthouse with family and friends on Easter Sunday for lunch. Six adults and two children. We were welcomed most warmly and there was a good buzz about the place! The set menu offered was excellent, and we all enjoyed our meal.

Four adults returned the following Friday for dinner and again were delighted. The menu had wonderful choices and the food delicious. The scallops as my starter were delicious, my husband loved the squid, and our two friends enjoyed theirs. Main courses of fillet steak, lamb and chicken were superb. Desserts of crime brûlée lovely too. We enjoyed a beet root appetiser which the chef prepared. Also good.

We have visited the courthouse previously around eight or nine years ago. We enjoyed our food then. I can only say that it has certainly moved forward and we are all in total agreement that we will return!! Congratulations to the chef and his wonderful staff.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Courthouse Restaurant also viewed

Bundoran, County Donegal
Bundoran, County Donegal
 
Mullaghmore, County Sligo
Bundoran, County Donegal
 

Been to The Courthouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing