We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic experience”
Review of Ballaghmore Castle

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Borris-in-Ossory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ballaghmore Castle
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We were on a bicycle tour through Ireland and we stumbled across this really neat castle and decided to spend a night there. It has everything you expect from a medieval castle: A wonderful dining room and beautiful bedrooms. Modern commodities like showers and even a pool table are also avaiable and if something is missing I´m sure the lady of the castle will help you out as good as possible. A supermarket is not far away and thus you can have a really great night at Ballaghmore Castle.
-The CockyOne

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    7
    0
    1
    9
See reviews for
13
10
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My friend and I paid a recent visit to this medieval stronghold which was hidden behind the majestic trees and at the end of an inviting driveway. Our exploration through the numerous castle rooms prompted feelings of being part of history.
We were greeted on arrival which was unannounced by the castle owner Grace and she most interestingly recounted the castle history and her family connection with the castle Chieftain.
Nestled alongside the Castle is a manor house B&B which looked both cost and inviting. Both guesthouse and Castle are authentic and rustic.
Finding Ballaghmore Castle and chatting with Grace was indeed an unexpected pleasure.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Meenalinehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hmapshire England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I travelled to Coolrain 2 weeks ago for my grandmother's funeral and happened upon Ballaghmore Castle. Nobody was around so we opened the door to the castle and had a look around. The owner (Grant?) showed up after a while. He was very friendly, very knowledgeable and very polite. We spent about an hour there during which time it became apparent, during one of Grant's stories, that a relative of mine had shot and killed the owner of the castle about 100 years ago! When I got home, I asked my mother about the story and she said, "well nobody saw the shooting, there were no witnesses. But he did disappear that night and went to America...... or Australia!!"

Yes the castle is very rustic, BUT IT"S A CASTLE!!! Well worth a visit even if you don't want to sleep there :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We happened upon this hidden piece of Irish History by chance. What a stroke of luck. This Castle is amazing! You instantly feel like you've travelled back in time to Medievel Ireland. With an atmosphere hard to comprehend, but impossible to ignore, you will leave this place with a sense of belonging and a new found pride in what it is to be Irish. A must see!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank POBDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Stayed for a long weekend. We stayed in the guest house. My room was very large overlooking the garden and filled with some beautiful antiques. We had 2 rooms in total and shared a bathroom which was conveniently situated between our 2 rooms. The owner Grace could not have been more welcoming and even provided bathrobes and an electric blanket! . Great breakfast too. Evenings were in their drawing room with a roaring fire. Grace helped plan our days out and even offered to drive us to some of the places we wanted to see. We were also given a tour of her castle Ballaghmore which is the grounds which we found very interesting. Her knowledge of Irish history is amazing.
I would recommend Ballaghmore guest house to anyone who wants to experience the true Ireland in an historic authentic home, filled with antiques an art work. For me the experience was like staying with wonderful long lost relatives and I cant thank Grace, her daughter Sorrel and Grant enough for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: There is another lovely room in the guest house with a 7ft four poster and own ensuite if preferred!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AHF_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed in Ballaghmore Castle and Guest house as a Family party of 22 people celebrating parents/grandparents 50th Wedding anniversary. OK the castle is not your 5 star luxury but it is a reasonably well restored 13th Century castle so it is basic. Roaring log fires and a few bottles of wine around a large banqueting table with my family, brilliant. The group was aged 4 to 70+ and everyone was well catered for with things to do in the locality from walking, shooting and trout fishing in the very well stocked Laois Angling Centre. The owner Grace was a helpful host and very knowlegable of things to do locally. It was an interesting experience for all and the children are still talking about sleeping in a real castle.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymore, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We plan our own trips, which allows us to stay in unique, beautiful places. My husband and I are not tourist we are travelers. Our stay with Grace the owner is one of our most memorable experience ever. Her knowledge of Irerish history, combined with her artistic detail to 14th century decorating resulted in the feeling we where being transported back in time. If your looking for a memory I would (and do) recommend Ballaghmore. It was clean, warm, and peaceful. It's not a generic Holiday Inn, it's a working farm and a true jewel on the Emeral Island. We will return....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borris-in-Ossory
7.3 mi away
Roundwood House
Roundwood House
#1 of 1 in Mountrath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
6.5 mi away
Racket Hall Country House Hotel
11.6 mi away
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
Abbeyleix Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbeyleix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Ballyfin Demesne
Ballyfin Demesne
#1 of 1 in Ballyfin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
24.2 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
16.2 mi away
The Killeshin Hotel
The Killeshin Hotel
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballaghmore Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballaghmore Castle

Property: Ballaghmore Castle
Address: Dublin Road, Borris-in-Ossory, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Laois > Borris-in-Ossory
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Borris-in-Ossory
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballaghmore Castle 1480 Celtic castle - perfect for family holidays. Only one and a half hours from Dublin yet set in beautiful peaceful countryside rich with activities and amenities. The castle is rented exclusively to your family group giving you the peace and privacy of the whole castle for the duration of your stay. Set in thirty acres of private grounds the castle offers sleeping accommodation for up to twenty family members over two floors of shared sleeping accommodation. The castle includes shower, bathroom and four WCs.The spectacular banqueting hall with its long tables, minstrels' alcove and roaring log fire forms the centre for gatherings in the castle. Off the Banqueting hall is a well equipped self-catering kitchen including large oven, microwave, dishwasher, fridge, washing machine and dryer. In addition, the fabulous Great Hall at the top of the castle also offers its cosy open fire, comfortable arm chairs and fun areas for table-tennis, snooker and games. On the ground floor of the castle is the generous flag-stoned basement that is ideal as a bar area if you are having a party whether inside or outside of the castle. The main entrance to the castle leads you to the beautiful mature and natural garden, ponds, woodlands and covered barbecue area with its long banqueting table for all the family. Adjacent to the castle is the owner's Manor House B&B which offers additional accommodation if required for those needing their own bedroom such as parents with babies and older members of the family (the B&B is offered at a separate cost). The Castle is positioned in the centre of its own land with a long grass lined avenue, surrounding paddocks and plenty of space to relax and for children to play. The countryside, small towns and villages within the locality of Ballaghmore Castle are rich with amenities including fishing, golf, horse riding, hiking, sightseeing, ancient heritage sites, eating out, shopping and pubs. A holiday at Ballaghmore Castle is a rare, unique and thrilling experience. The castle has been restored and maintained as close as is possible to its original and thus to stay here gives you a true experience of castle living. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing