We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shame to come home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robertstown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Robertstown Holiday Village
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed for one week with Karen and Marguerite at Roberstown holiday village. Can't thank them enough for a wonderful stay. Every thing we wanted and more. Very comfortable, everything needed to cook if you want to, plenty of hot water, peaceful location and probably the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in!. Wonderful people in a wonderful place, and a visit to the Charlie Weld pub a must for a proper warm Irish welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank casCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 37 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

Having sold our house and needing some place to stay until our new house was ready, my husband and I stayed in Robertstown Village for six weeks. The cottages had everything we needed and Karen had no objections when we asked if we could bring some of our own stuff from home. Everything was supplied from cutlery to bed linen and there was a laundry room available which was much appreciated. Members of our family came to stay on a regular basis as they loved to watch the ducks come to the back door every day and my grandchildren took great delight in throwing scraps of bread to them. Thank you Karen for being such a wonderful hostess and we definitely will be back again very soon.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erins-Isle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We felt welcome right from the very first email communication. Karen coudn't do enough to provide information on the surrounding area and we thoroughly enjoyed all her recommendations. The National Irish Stud was a highlight, as was dinner at the Hanged Man's - absolutely brilliant and good value. We travelled with two young children and an older teenager, the area catered for all of us in one way or another. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eatonsof68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

I am just back from a mid week break in Robertstown Holiday Village with hubbie....a sneak treat away from kids on our own. I had been a few years back with kids and loved it and Karen who owns it,its real irish living with modern world a short drive away and you can make it the holiday you want because plenty of variety. I think what makes it so different is that it is a real irish experience, its not tourist industry aimed at making it that "begura and top of the morning" style that you find in other parts of ireland. We stayed for st patricks day and we were given a little history of st Patricks and we met a Spanish family who were going to parade close by proudly wearing their Patrick day badges only to be told that Karen and Marguerite had given them the badges to celebrate being in Ireland......nice personal touch. Forgot that Marguerite new there since last stay a few years back but I can see why her and Karen get on....two charaghters who enoy a good laugh with guests and no fancy airs about them, even hubby enjoyed the banter as they showed him and not me where the iron board was.....some hope but worth a try! Will be back again, am trying to persuade a few friends to come shopping in November for Christmas ......Dublin close by and you dont know what peaceful sleep is until you sleep in the quiteness of these cottages,,,,,,,a liitle piece of heaven tucked away in lovely kildare. Thanks Girls oh and forgot houses all newly done up since last there....in lovely colours......and kingsize bed went down well!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scampbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2009

Hi Karen & Margerite,
Just to say a big thanks to you both for such a wonderfull holiday and for looking after us the cottage was excellent so well equiped and in the most wonderfull setting best wishes to you both and we hope to return in the future. Thanks Mark, Heather, Daniel, Ruth and Luke.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markscone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Stayed for one week with Karen and Marguerite at Holiday Village, wonderful relaxing experience. Two girls were a font of information from recommending restuarants to trips to suit todays mood. Booked us on a barge trip with a meal.......wow........wont spoil the suprise but would say try it, wonderful day.
We visit National Stud and japanese Gardens which were great and browsed over to whitewater shopping centre in Newbridge- great sale on at the time-left with tonnes more than I brought.......! Visited Newbridge Silver because I had just seen Rose of tralee it was fabolous and have a lovely restuarant with full silver service of course- only had coffee but then saw pavlova..............to die for .......weightwatchers will be seeing me soon! Had great nights in local pubs, people very friendly and chatty and went to dowlings one night for trad session great.
Close to dublin so himself wanted to see guiness brewery- was cool and I got to do more shopping. last two days we just drove around where the road took us and found ourselves in some fantastic scenery-I would just love someone to drop wicklow into my garden in was sheer heaven. Left feeling I would be back and have to say daily chats with girls were great- even my Partner enjoyed their witty twosome act. Couldnt do enough for us during the stay and even before hand were in touch to see had we special requests etc- had also arranged lots of discounts to tourist places which is always a plus.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TRAVELINGROSE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

My spouse and I Just returned from 2 weeks in Ireland. We stayed for a week at Robertstown Holiday Village. It is an excellent and relaxing place to stay. While it is in a tranquil location it is also an excellent base for touring the east and south of Ireland.

A medical issue developed during our stay and Karen, the property owner could not have been more helpful. She is a font of knowledge and local information. She is a great resource for any visitor.

I highly recommend Robertstown Holiday Village

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Robertstown Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robertstown Holiday Village

Address: Lowtown Road | Robertstown, Naas County Kildare W91 N625, Robertstown W91 N625, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Robertstown
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Robertstown
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Robertstown Holiday Village is situated 10km from Naas, Newbridge and Kildare towns and in the rural Village of Robertstown itself. In the village we have three pubs, a traditional Irish Grocery Shop, a mini market, a post office and the ubiquitous Chinese Take away. Robertstown Holiday Village comprises of 8 self-catering cottages, all are ground level and suitable for wheelchair users. Each cottage has two bed rooms; one being a double room with a king size bed and the second bedroom has two single beds. The Kitchen, Dining room & Living room area is open plan with dining table & chairs, comfy sofa and armchairs, and a multi-channel TV and DVD player. In the living room there is an open fire where you to relax and unwind in front of. The Living room overlooks the patio area and the Grand Canal. The kitchen is fully equipped with all that you need for your stay including refrigerator, oven, grill and hob, microwave, toaster and electric kettle. We also provide crockery, cutlery, glassware, pots, pans, Tea towels and Dish cloths.Our bathroom is a wet room and has a shower area with electric shower, a toilet & wash hand basin. This is suitable for wheelchair users too and we can provide a shower chair if required. We also have a second WC.Onsite we have a reception area where guests can avail of travel information, itineraries of things to do here in Kildare, Dublin, Wicklow and further afield. We have discounts to a large variety of attractions. Onsite we have ample private parking and a play area which children love.Dublin is 30minutes away. Belfast is 2.5 Hours & Rosslare is 1.75 hours away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing