We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved it!”
Authentic Log Cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Authentic Log Cabin
Bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Authentic Log Cabin
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Fully equipped kitchen
Spa bath
Bathroom
Varanda
Secluded gardens
River frontage
Secluded gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Porepunkah, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lmdow2
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Loved it!”
Reviewed February 12, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Stayed here for partners birthday weekend. Paul and Claudia were very helpful, the surroundings were stunning and the house was beautiful and unique. Everyone we spoke to made us feel welcome and were happy to answer our questions. We went kayaking, fishing and climbed up to the top of Mount Buffalo.. All of these activities were fantastic. A must visit!

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't book through TripAdvisor!”
Reviewed July 29, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

TripAdvisor are not authorised to take payment for this accommodation. Was contacted by owner as fees are wrong for more than 2 people. Had to stuff around to get funds released from TripAdvisor to pay for accommodation directly. Either book though their website or call them. Extremely friendly and helpful!

Date of stay: July 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2016
Hi Mandy,
We are trying to resolve this with TripAdvisor, and in the interim we have turned off the online payment request within TripAdvisor. So future bookings will arrive as enquiries. People will not be requested to enter their Credit Card details until this issue is fully resolved.
Glad you otherwise enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happytrav...
Crafers, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved it again :)”
Reviewed January 18, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We've loved out stay here again and feel very spoiled to have spent 9 beautiful nights here. The cabin is in a quiet setting yet close to Porpunkah and lots of fabulous swimming holes on the Ovens River. Claudia and Paul made us feel very welcomed with their warmth and thoughtfulness. The Lodge is so comfortable and it's such a pleasure to stay here. Everything has been thought of and if there is something we needed (tomato sauce we forgot to buy!) they are very happy to help out. Loved the bunnies (pets), our daughter adored being able to feed them and give them a cuddle every day. We'll be back...the Lodge and this area are just too beautiful to stay away for too long.

Date of stay: January 2015
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhys D
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wants for nothing”
Reviewed January 17, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This is quite simply the perfect getaway spot and base for exploring Bright and the High Country of Victoria. I can think of nothing that needs to change with Tewksbury Lodge and the owners are to be congratulated for such a wonderful property.
There are so many little touches that make the cabin feel like home. From the very well appointed kitchen to the extremely comfortable beds and reclining sofa Claudia has created somewhere that is a destination in its own right rather than just somewhere to spend a couple of nights. We will be back!

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sofa is more comfortable than the one I have at home
Liked least: Sofa is more comfortable than the one I have at home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fossie
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place to stay near Bright”
Reviewed March 12, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was a wonderful place to stay - the cabin is quiet and private and extremely well set up. You might get the impression from the word cabin that it's small, but that's not the case - it is very spacious. It's on the banks of the Ovens River, and in a delightful garden setting. The owners have really set the cabin up extremely well. Excellent beds and furnishings, and the bathroom is great with a huge spa. However, it's all the little touches that count. The lovely bottle of local wine and chocolate when you check in, and the very well set up kitchen and laundry. They make such a difference when you are travelling and you find a place as nice as this one is. Bright is a lovely town - great to wander around in and I love the tree-lined streets, but this cabin is an absolute gem, and we were sad to leave. There are so many things to do around this area, and you really could not have a better base for exploring the area that this lovely log cabin.

Date of stay: March 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space, location, ambience and facilities of the cabin
Liked least: There wasn't anything I didn't like about the cabin
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words Prue. We appreciate the feedback. If you are happy, we are happy too! Regards, Claudia & Paul.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haegens
Rosebud, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 3 nights as family of four with our boys aged 8 and 4 years old. Paul is a great host and when chatting about gold panning offered us his gold pan and shovel. The kids loved the experience and thought we may strike it rich! The log cabin is beautifully equipped including a Nespresso coffee machine which was certainly something to look forward to in the morning. Each night we sat out on the deck of the log cabin, with an ale from the Bright Brewery, watching the king parrots feed. We would highly recommend staying here and will be back in winter as snow is just a short drive away.

Date of stay: November 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staying in a Canadian log cabin
Liked least: Should have stayed longer
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2012
Hi David,
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back!
Claudia & Paul.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff T
Taipei
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A PEACEFUL INTERLUDE”
Reviewed September 25, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My wife,daughter and I arrived on Friday evening and stayed until the following Tuesday an interlude of 4 nights and 3 days, we were stunned by the Lodge, the fittings were very good and very comfortable, all we looked forward to was a few days of rest, we certainly got that, we had quality family time that one doesn't seem to get at home. Anyone who wants a peaceful interlude could do no better than stay at Tewksbury Lodge, with the river at the bottom of the property and the snowfields only a short distance away it is ideal. I will go again and thoroughly recommend it. Definitely a 10/10.

Date of stay: September 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gardens, the quiet and the peaceful feeling
Liked least: could not stay longer
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing