We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Camping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Helensvale
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Easter Camping”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We chose an ensuite camping site down the back of the park, mainly to avoid the highway noise for our camper trailer. The sites were extremely large and very accommodating. There is still the drone of the highway, mainly at night.
The park had some great parkland for the kids to play cricket & soccer. The jumping pillow was always overrun by larger kids making it impossible for the under 6's to have a fair go.
The go karts are only single seated and suitable for larger kids 7+, where other parks offer tandems where the parents can ride with the kids.
Swimming pool & water slide were very good, as you would find in most good parks
The park needs to work on more kids activities, especially around school holidays.
A sour taste was left in my mouth with the cafe by the pool. First instance we ordered coffees and were given the wrong order. The blonde waitress thought it was her job to argue the point with the customer. This was very poor customer service. Secondly, if you wish to add a 10% surcharge to alcoholic drinks, please have a sign on display. The staff seemed very unorganised and flustered, this showed in the customer service.

Great park for location close the theme parks but ranked poorly compared to Hastings, Forest Glen & Treasure Island

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starky_1977_07_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCHP, Owner at Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi Starky....

We are very sorry to hear that we didn't meet your expectations. It sounds like you had a rough trot at our cafe which is doubly disappointing because the girls and boys in the Cafe really do try to deliver excellent service to all our valued customers. The matters you raised have been discussed in our staff meetings and we will strive to ensure that a repeat doesn't happen.

We are all a little confused about your comment about a surcharges. I would be keen to understand your concerns more fully as our prices are listed on the menu, so we are a bit at a loss to know more. Would you please call Mark our Manager on 07 55144400 to elaborate.

Your comment about the jumping pillow is noted and we will look at introducing kiddies sessions so the little ones can have a blast too. Thanks for the observation.

We will continue to do our best to deliver great holidays and apologise for not making it great for you.

Hopefully when you are next in town we will be able to do a better job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    121
    34
    13
    16
See reviews for
274
80
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hunter Valley
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Camped for 3 nights over the Easter weekend and could not fault the park. Very friendly staff, one even offered to help put up our tent.
Perfect for kids, tennis, great slip n slide into the pool, jumping pillow, room to ride scooters etc.
They held coloring in comps for the children, Easter egg hunt, outdoor movie cinema, free pancakes on Sunday, reptile show... It kept the kids entertained the whole time.
Amenities were clean, laundry had fabulous machines and dryers.
Walking around the park the cabins look fabulous too.
It's across from MovieWorld, they suggest to walk but with small kids you are better off the quick 5 minute drive.
Would Definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Glenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCHP, Owner at Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi Glenda,

Thanks for the lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Please come back sometime soon - we would love to welcome you again :)

Safe travels till we see you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed one night in a motorhome. I was disappointed when we were taken right to the back of the park as they considered the motorhome as too large that it needed a rig site (even though other motorhomes the same size where on normal sites) but at least it was quiet. The walk to the pool was a distance but once their the pool was spectacular and we enjoyed coffee and dessert while watching the boys swim. The amenities were well maintained.

The maintenance gentleman that took us to the site was very polite! He seems to really enjoy his job!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Shandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCHP, Owner at Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Shandi,

Thanks for the lovely review and great rating. :)

I apologise that we allocated a site further from the pool than you would have preferred. As a result of all the rain we have had over the past months, we have been trying to rotate use of sites (especially big rig sites) to protect the grass and ensure that our lovely guest don't get placed on a muddy site.

Now that the rains have gone and we are back to normal, there are plenty of big rig sites closer to the pool and cafe that have firm grass under foot and lots of space.

Please do visit us again and we will do our best to make sure that we get you the best site for your needs.

Safe travels til we see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed in the 5* villas for a couple of nights in January. We usually stay in surfers but our main purpose of travel was to visit the theme parks and harbour town and a friend recommended this park. I'm glad they did its fantastic. Check in was easy and the girls on reception were welcoming and cheerfull.
My kids loved the beautiful pool area and the jumping pillow and we all enjoyed the cafe and bar right next to the pool so you can watch the kids play while having a drink or two!
It's such a great base for the Gold Coast , and we can highly recommend the villas , they are spotless and really nicely presented. It was also good to be able to walk down the road and get dinner (although the park BBQ area was nice and well kept ).
I would defiantly stay again.

Room Tip: We got a great last minute deal through quickbeds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ackostribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCHP, Owner at Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Ackostribe

So pleased you & the kids enjoyed our little bit of paradise! Our reception girls were thrilled to get mentioned in your review (plus they didn't mind the box of Chocolates we passed around to say thanks to them all!!).

We hope you can stay with us again at some time in the near future and with you safe travels till then.

Best wishes from the Gold Coast :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon, and we certainly picked well!! The GCHP is so close to everything, including the themeparks, supermarket,restaurants etc. The staff provide a service that is second to none and are all lovely people with good humour. The park is as clean as a whistle and has excellent facilities for all ages. The Nibbles cafe is staffed with great people who provide lovely food and a comfortable environment. I can't recommend this place enough!! Keep up the fantastic work!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theressa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCHP, Owner at Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Theresa,

Congratulations on your wedding! We are so glad we were able to assist in some small way towards making your honeymoon great.

If you have any photos of you both in the park relaxing at the pool etc please send them to us on Facebook - we would love to include them in our staff guessing competition and share them with our extended Facebook family.

We wish you every happiness and many years of enjoyment together.

Please come back and see us soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We used the park as “base” while we visited the Gold Coast in December 2012. Easy to find and although it’s right next to the Pacific High Way you don’t hear the traffic after a few hours. The best place to book if the main purpose of your trip is to visit Wet ‘n’ Wild, Movie World etc. Sea world is a longer drive away but as it’s the only park next to the sea it’s no big deal really. There’s a Spar just up the road (as well as a McD, petrol station) and the nearest Coles supermarket is about 10min away by car. Brisbane is a 50min drive but who needs the city with all the fun places to visit just minutes away.
The swimming pool is an oasis in the hot summer weather and a big hit for children of all ages...even the grey once as well. The staff is friendly and the facilities is clean, working 100% and easy accessible from anywhere in the park. The mosquito’s is not very friendly so take some repellent or burn a candle while you watch the flying foxes during sunset.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCHP, General Manager at Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Hi HappyCamper,

Thanks for the lovely review and the 5/5 score! Your the first person to comment on the sunset flyover of the Fruit Bats! We love 'em (although were quite happy that they keep flying rather than stopping in with us!). They are heading inland to the fertile feeding grounds up around Mt Tambourine and further inland. They really are an interesting little addition to a holiday experience!

I note comment on the Mozzies.... sadly they were are result of the flooding & the aftermath of all the tropical storms that emanated from Tropical Cyclone Oswald.

We don't usually have a Mozzie problem and as long as the Tropical Cyclones (and the floods) stay away so do they.

With any luck we will see you again soon and wish you safe travel in the meantime.

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Fantastic park. Great for travellers with their four legged friends. Best pet friendly park we've stayed in by a mile and one of the best parks we've stayed at.
Great pool, restaurant facility with excellent meals.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Anfos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCHP, Owner at Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hi Anfos,

Thanks for the great review. So pleased you enjoyed your time with us and hopefully we will see you again as you continue your travels around Australia.

With best wishes from all the Team at Gold Coast Holiday Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helensvale
9.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
10.0 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
5.3 mi away
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Sea World Resort
Sea World Resort
#2 of 5 in Main Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,259 reviews
12.7 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Mermaid Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel Hope Harbour
Ramada Hotel Hope Harbour
#2 of 3 in Hope Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel

Property: Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel
Address: 66-86 Siganto Dr, Helensvale, Gold Coast, Queensland 4212, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Helensvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Helensvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG4 Gold Coast Holiday Park is the nearest caravan park to the Gold Coast Theme Parks with family and pet friendly accommodation located across the road from Movie World, Wet'n'Wild, Outback Spectacular & only 2 minutes' drive from Dream World & White Water World. It's the perfect place to base yourself when exploring the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel Helensvale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing