We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indulge in peace and harmony”
Review of The Peacock Garden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Peacock Garden
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baclayon
Certificate of Excellence
Manila
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Indulge in peace and harmony”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Although I am late in reviewing this visit, since was busy traveling :)
4 of us stayed in this hotel for 3 days in Feb 2013. I would say it met our expectations since we heard so much about this hotel from various people.

Located in secluded area in Bohol not only gives privacy you need but also has some brilliant view and romantic setup.

Booking Experience (4/5)
Booking experience was as smooth as it can be, 1 rating less as the on-ground staff at the hotel took some time to find our booking arrangement and discount we had availed, but that's not much of trouble.
Remember to book your rooms in advance to make sure your preferred rooms can be available.
Believe me during peak season this hotel gets jammed packed.

Rooms (5/5)
We were give 2nd floor room on the far end of main building (near Spa), which suited our preference of having privacy and peace.
Rooms are well equipped with all the necessary amenities like TV, Minibar etc.
Furniture in the Room as well as across the hotel gives some good European touch, very comfortable living.
Bathrooms are equipped with nice hot water shower and all the items like shampoo, soap etc has its own class.

TIP: Go for 2nd floor rooms if you really need some good privacy and peace. The one near pool is also good as it gives easy access to pool and you don't have to walk long for the restaurant

Service (4/5)
Staff is very nice and friendly, will go extra-mile to meet customer's need.

Food (3/5)
While the food range is mostly European range, we being Vegetarian had very few choices, most of the time we had to rely on the bread (well this is the price you pay sometimes for being Vegetarian)

One of the biggest challenge we had was no availability of any sort of food whatsoever after 11:00pm which is little surprising. If you are gone to the spa and taken the last slot you can forget the dinner as it will take about 2 hours in the spa and by the time you are out there is no food.

TIP: As staff to arrange for a table near the swimming pool, you will get nice romantic candle light dinner with your loved one with brilliant sun-set view

Way Around (4/5)
Since the hotel itself is little away from all the beach and attractions, you really need to plan your day very well to go around.
Nearest beach is about 45 mins drive, Chocolate hills takes about 2 hours, Fireflies watching is about 1 hours drive from the hotel.

Despite of such distances the hotel staff is very kind and helpful in arranging for a car for you and will make sure you get the driver who has local knowledge and not too expensive.
For the island hopping I suggest not to book through hotel as their contacts are little expensive and might have some prior bookings.

Must Do:
If you stay at this resort and not visit the Spa you will make a biggest mistake.
One of the best spa I have visited in the Philippines, Spa is equipped with nice special rooms, private Jacuzzi, Sauna and steam bath.

Spend at-least 2 hours in the spa to make most of it :)

--------
Over all brilliant experience and I recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to visit with their loved ones and spend some romantic weekend together in peace.

Room Tip: Rooms on the far end (Near Spa) are quiet while rooms at the back of the pool has better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mehul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    44
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
77
129
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The three days spent at the Peacock Garden were some of the best in the two months we were in the Philippines. The facility is immaculate, the staff are splendid, and lucky for us, the weather was near perfect. From the airport pickup to drop off, we were constantly impressed and pampered. I know some will think this is a bit outside their budget, but I'm telling you that the extra attention and amenities more than make up for it. You will fee like a foreign dignitary. The pool is fantastic! The spa is incredible, and the staff is amazing, especially the spa supervisor!
We stayed in a couple of other locations as well, but the Peacock Garden is without compare.
Several of the staff called us by name, not just sir or ma'am, and it was such a great feeling to be treated in such a person and professional manner. Truly, the only negative aspect of the Peacock Garden is that at some point you will have to leave! Worth every centavo!

Room Tip: I'm not familiar with other rooms, but make sure you face the ocean. The view in the evening is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idahonomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Just got home from our stay in Peacock Garden. WOW--is one word that aptly describes our stay. Let me begin with the staff--they have the friendliest, most accommodating, THOUGHTFUL and ATTENTIVE hotel staff we've met. We rarely had to ask them to do stuff for us. They took INITIATIVE and gladly went the EXTRA MILE in making sure we're comfortable and that we had a good time--from accommodating us for early check-in, to packing towels and snacks for us on our tours (which we thought was a nice touch), to instantly providing towels for us when we went for a swim in their pool and replenishing these towels at once as soon as we were through using them, to leaving packs of Peanut Kisses on our beds upon tidying up our room, to offering to serve us our complimentary breakfast when we came back from our dolphin-watching tour even if it was already 12NN (!!), among others. All these they did without us having to ask. They thoughtfully anticipated our needs.

The place is PEACEFUL, WELL-KEPT, and BEAUTIFUL. Understand though that it's not a beach resort (Panglao Island, where Alona Beach and Dumaluan Beach are, is about 15-20 mins away by car). It's perched on top of a hill, with a panoramic, breathtaking view of the sea. Lots of trees, landscape is manicured, and grounds look well-maintained. It's the perfect place to unwind, reflect, and get some peace and QUIET.

ROOMS: Clean, really comfortable and sturdy beds. Clean bathroom with L'Occitane products (Trust me, I'm very particular with bathrooms). Huge flat-screen Sony TV mounted on the wall, with DVD player.

Food was also good (lunch and dinner are a bit pricey though). We liked the breakfast choices. They had a buffet table with breads, cereals, and fruit (Try the peanut bars, they are amazing!). And they also had a cooked-to-order menu, likewise part of their complimentary breakfast. My only wish is that they have a wider selection of Filipino dishes (grilled stuff, seafood); these are the things you (at least, us Filipinos) usually crave for on vacations like this.

On the overall, Peacock Garden is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I would definitely go back here. :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charmie091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
139 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Lovely resort. The free airport transfer service was excellent. We were given refreshing wet towels to freshen up the moment we boarded the car. Love the infinity pool - I swam everyday. Spa is also wonderful - fantastic massage - apparently highly recommended by Conde Nast! Great service and when we were there for Chinese New Year there was fireworks! Hotel is able to organise day trips around Bohol for you. Great resort just for relaxation.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool-facing ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

A spent the first week of my trip to Bohol on Alona beach. Simply due to its price and proximity to the ferry terminal, I thought I would spend a night at this higher-end resort in Baclayon. I could not have been happier with my decision.

The property is gorgeous and the staff is friendly. What makes this property special, however, is that every little detail has been thought through and there is practically nobody there. It is almost spooky how perfect they keep this place. Not a leaf is in the pool, spotless rooms, and even your receipts are printed on beautiful paper. When I was there, the resort was also incredibly quiet. It made everything feel tranquil and was a great way to wrap up a week of diving on the crowded and noisy Panglao beaches.

This resort would be a great place for a romantic getaway. If i find myself returning to Bohol, i will definitely stay here again.

Also, you can get great internet from almost anywhere on the resort. This is important as most of the places on Panglao use an ADSL service that goes down half the time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank freerobots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

First things first, if you're looking for beach front, that this place is not... but keep reading because there's a lot going for this place.

The infinity pool is amazing. The staff is amongst the friendliest I've encountered, they really go out of their way to make sure you have a comfortable stay. We were at the pool and it started raining, and just on his own one of staff came over and put an umbrella over our things, placed extra towels for us.

The location isn't near anywhere really walkable and you don't have a lot of options for meals within the property but that also means more time for r&r. They have a good spa within the property. Prices are very reasonable, even more so because the whole ambiance is very classy and the staff knew what they were doing.

They also booked our Bohol trips and apparently they don't tack on surcharges, which was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeiaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antipolo, Rizal, Philippines
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked three rooms at The Peacock Garden through Deal Grocer buying site at a very good deal and extended another day for a four day, three nights stay for seven adults. We were only so happy there were only a few guests when we arrived Friday and would have the hotel just to ourselves but a few more guests arrived for the weekend. Peacock was just a few minutes drive from Tagbilaran airport. The staff welcomed us with a refreshing "PIKWAN" (pineapple-watermelon or pinya-pakwan in Pilipino) juice drink when we arrived. The view of the Bohol Sea from the infinity pool was breathtaking. Our rooms were well appointed and since I was with my 84 year old mom and her sister, we preferred a ground floor room. I would imagine the view from the 2 other rooms at the second floor balcony was a little better but I didn't mind. The beds were higher than usual which i loved except for the little squeaking noise it gave whenever i moved. We had an extra bed which didn't make the room feel cramped. The bathrooms with thick white beach towels was large and the small L'Occitane bath and body products made it specially elegant. We enjoyed the sumptuous buffet breakfast with hot meals and dinners we had at the hotel as we usually ate out for lunch on our tours of the islands' sites. The vouchers gave us 30 minutes free fabulous massage for six, and even though some of the fitness equipment were not working, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joeyenriquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baclayon
4.1 mi away
Ocean Suites Boutique Hotel Bohol
Ocean Suites Boutique Hotel Boho...
#1 of 11 in Tagbilaran City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
40.7 mi away
Amun Ini Beach Resort & Spa
43.0 mi away
J&R Residence
J&R Residence
#2 of 6 in Anda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.1 mi away
Anda White Beach Resort
14.4 mi away
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
#4 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
12.2 mi away
Amorita Resort
Amorita Resort
#1 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peacock Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peacock Garden

Property: The Peacock Garden
Address: Upper Laya, Baclayon 6301, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Bohol Island > Baclayon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Baclayon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Peacock Garden 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peacock Garden is a boutique hotel and spa located on the island of Bohol, featuring a distinct blend of Old World ambience and Filipino hospitality. An idyllic retreat - tucked away on a hilltop and spread over 11 hectares - welcomes guests to sprawling gardens, luxury rooms, and stunning views of the Bohol Sea. With its tranquil environment, the island's finest dining experience, natural spa treatments, and captivating sea views, The Peacock Garden is the ideal hideaway for a romantic holiday, wedding weekend, or special event. It is a 15-minute drive from Tagbilaran City, and eco-cultural, beach, and outdoor activities are offered nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Peacock Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peacock Garden Hotel Baclayon
Peacock Garden Luxury Hotel
The Peacock Garden Bohol Province/Baclayon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing