We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort in remote Rakhine village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mrauk Oo Princess Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mrauk U
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort in remote Rakhine village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We managed to get to Mrauk U just before the latest round of violence erupted in October, and due to the active travel advisory we were the only guests in the hotel. The service was extremely attentive, and we were boggled at how responsive the kitchen/chef was. It is a remote village, so this means no wifi and the occasional electrical outage -- but to me this is a small price to pay for seeing the beauty of the surrounding area before it turns in to a "mini" Bagan. Cash only, no credit cards. Fantastic 60-minute massage for $30.

Yes, there's a 7 to 8 hour boat ride from Sittwe, so bring reading material as you can only take so many photos and the landscape doesn't have a great deal of variety.

I cannot recommend Mrauk U enough, so I'd encourage people to make the trek and stay at this lovely hotel when the travel advisory lifts. At the moment, it's the only option, which is just fine as I don't know how they'd improve upon it.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank ACS416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    33
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
10
69
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Wow, what a jewel of a place in the crown country of Myanmar!
The room was huge, more importantly spotless and they treated us to flower petals on the bed each evening with the turndown service. A nice touch but somewhat wasted on an old married couple but it made us smile! All in all a great place to stay.
My only disappointment, I happened to fall on the stairs coming from the dining room (it was raining). I fell very hard and was bruised and since the owner was actually present, I fully expected him to at least inquire about me and my injuries, yet he never did ask if I was okay. It would have been a kind, professional, businesslike gesture.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
422 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

As mention in my title , I took an 8 hours boat ride from Sittwe to arrive to this hotel , it was a long journey for me ! When I arrive it was 10 pm at night , the receptionist was very helpful , she gave me a massage and a drink when I check in , had my dinner at their restaurant , the lemongrass soup was excellent so was my food which is sea bass , my hotel room was cosy , with a jacuzzi . The breakfast was good , overall I'm happy with this quiet resort except for the journey ..

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kenkeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed there 3 nights during our 3 week trip through Myanmar. One of the best hotels during the whole trip. The hotel is situated at the end of the village, next to the river with an own jetty (you arrive usually by boat from Sittwe which is a nice, relaxing trip in itself but takes about 7h)The hotel is situated among well maintained gardens and ponds wth a large main buidling (including the restaurant) surrounded by individual guest bungalows which are scattered around the area (nice privacy as shrubs are between the bungalows). Very luxurious spacious bungalow rooms with large bathrooms - comfortable beds, very clean and tidy and nice wooden interior. Good breakfast and very friendly staff. Restaurant is excellent for dinner - we looked at other options but decided after our first dinner to stay there - very nice food at very reasonable prices (typically dinner is included in the package - locally you can obvisouly get cheap dinners but then have to leave the compund at night which is a bit of an adventure).

Only issue is the distance between the luxury in the hotel and the humble surroundings in the village - we felt always a bit awkward when driving with the Jeep to the village and the temples - this is still typical rural Myanmar i. e. no public water supply, no electricity, dogs and pigs roaming the dirt road etc. Nevertheless highly recommended - very friendly people, wonderful temples and less tourists then e. g. in Bagan.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tueby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

After the boat trip from Sittwe how wonderful to be greeted with a cold towel and a drink. Our room was just perfect with a very comfortable bed and a wonderful bathroom. The staff we lovely especially in the restaurant and every night we had a wonderful dinner. It made our trip to Mrauk U very special.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Trudie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
138 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

This place is a treat. After the long boat journey from Sittwe, you land at the resort’s private pier to be met by smiling staff offering scented towels. A short walk past lily ponds brings you to the main building – a lovely reception area, offices, shop, etc. Probably there will be fresh lime juice to sip while you check in – the most fragrant lime juice I have ever tasted.

Our room was a one-floor ‘Village-style’ house close to river consisting of a huge bedroom – one of the largest we’ve ever stayed in - and spacious bathroom with both shower and bathtub. We both slept really well here – quiet, very comfortable, beautifully equipped, and nicely furnished.

Dining is a delight – a huge hilltribe-style room, beautifully decorated, with very high ceilings. Even more exotic is the menu… our dishes at one meal included banana flower tempura with tamarind sauce; at another Arakan style banana stem salad. But there are plenty of western options if that’s your mood.

Wish list: it would be wonderful if the rooms could be equipped with Wi-Fi.

All in all we loved this place. Standards are high, the grounds a treat, and the staff are very warm and helpful. Hats off to the owners for their vision, and for building such a terrific hotel. For us it doubled the pleasure of visiting Mrauk-U.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Formerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Just left this lovely hotel after spending 3 nights in mrauk u. The cottages are lovely with plenty of room for our family of 3. We had a fantastic trip up to mrauk u on the princess boat which is ridiculously expensive but as we had a 4 yr old in tow we didn't want to risk the local boats. we arrived just after sunset and then woke up to see the beautiful grounds. As others have said mrauk is utterly magical and we felt very lucky to experience it as it is now. Our local guide was so proud of his town and couldn't have been nicer taking us to local swimming lakes when it all got too hot.
The spa at the hotel is great and the princess massage was a winner.
The owners should improve their road access though, the locals think so and as the hotel has increased traffic on it, it seems only right that they should improve it. if anyone wants out guide's details PM me.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bradburyburrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mrauk U
0.8 mi away
Prince Hotel
Prince Hotel
#2 of 4 in Mrauk U
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mrauk Oo Nawarat Hotel
Mrauk Oo Nawarat Hotel
#4 of 4 in Mrauk U
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mrauk-U Hotel
Mrauk-U Hotel
#3 of 4 in Mrauk U
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Noble Hotel
Noble Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sittwe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
37.7 mi away
Shwe Thazin Hotel
Shwe Thazin Hotel
#1 of 10 in Mrauk U
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mrauk U Palace Resort
Mrauk U Palace Resort
#4 of 10 in Mrauk U
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mrauk Oo Princess Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mrauk Oo Princess Resort

Property: Mrauk Oo Princess Resort
Address: Aung Tat Quarter, Mrauk U 11111, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Rakhine State > Mrauk U
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mrauk U
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mrauk Oo Princess Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A slice of "Arakan Heritage" in a unique historic site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mrauk Oo Princess Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mrauk Oo Princess Hotel Mrauk u

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing