We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Las Lajas Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Show Pony Beach Resort(Hato del Rosario)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Bay Resort(Punta Bejuco)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roxy Fishing Club(Boca Chica)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Isla Palenque(Boca Chica)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cala Mia Island Resort(Isla Boca Brava)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveler rating
149
106
26
6
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
106
26
6
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are largehot waterget awaybeach resortpanama cityeither directionstayed longergreat varietygreat roomtwo queen bedsfood is excellentfood and drinkspacific sidenice poolbar restaurantricebeautiful flowers
Filter
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 300 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2011

The hotel is nicely located at the beach. The beach is great for long walks. They have 12 rooms, 2 suites. The price was 165 USD (!!!) for a room with 2 queen beds without breakfast. Far too much, 75 USD would be a fair price. This place is a good deal when prices drop in the off season to 50 - 80 usd. The rooms are big, the bathroom is huge. The decoration in the rooms is poor. Rooms can be pretty noisy since the wall facing the central corridor consists of big glass windows and door. Our safety box was broken, no control for the airco, no cable.

Food is ok and the price is reasonable. The menu is small and basic (burgers, spaghetti, rice & beans).

Several tours are offered like horseback riding and visiting an indigenous village in the mountains. The Panamanian guide is really enthusiastic about the region and takes you into the hills to meet an indigenous family and visit a nice waterfall for swimming.
Both are recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PELOWELOMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Perfect place to unwind!!! Great hotel right on a super wide sandy beach. You can walk a few hundred feet and have a mile of beach to yourselves, we dropped trau and did not bother anyone and had perfect privacy to enjoy nature at it's finest. We ate and drank at the bar and the food was stellar, super large shrimp in a white wine, garlic and butter sauce. The owner was on site and was very gracious.
He is a big friendly chap who makes sure the rum keeps flowing and the food keeps coming. The room are nice and clean and the views are great. The couple who manages the hotel Lise and Gama are true gems, Gama took our 6 yr old son horseback riding on the beach while Lise served wine and snacks to us poolside. We can't wait to get back!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asiangirl2564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

We really felt welcome at Las Lajas Beach Resort. Beach front this hotel is a superb place to rest, ride horses (ask Lize or Gama at the reception!),
take a tour to Indian villages or whatever you want to do. My sister and I dived into the ocean every day and enjoyed the quiet and beautiful beach. After having camped here
for two weeks the bartenders, cooks, cleaning ladies and receptionists really felt like family. One note for owner Peter who offered us a drink:
thanks for the hospitility, but keep on studying on drinks and the country in which they're fabricated: Jägermeister is a German, NOT a Dutch drink :)

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamKoopman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2010

ice hotel on a quiet beach. We had an awesome time in the water all day - either in the ocean or in their fantastic pool. Lots of places to relax and catch up on reading. Dinner was really good - I loved all the Mexican dishes and their cocktails are perfect!! And at night, the atmosphere is wonderful - sit poolside and and watch the water turn from purple to blue to green and watch the bats swoop down. It's really relaxing. There aren't tons of tours/excursion - but that's not why we were there! It is the perfect spot if you want some beach time and you want to relax. Loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

From all the review we have read on here, we expected way more than we actually got.

The day we arrived the hotel had no water in the rooms, and the public restroom was dirty as it had been used many times without the ability to flush. This we could forgive as losing water often happens in Panama.
The room we were given was bare, 2 Queen Beds and a table and chairs and a TV. No pictures on the wall, very very basic for the $65.00. The bathroom was ok, we were given 2 tiny bars of soap, no shampoo or conditioner in sight!! Who takes their own shampoo to a hotel??????
There was mold growing up the wall and parts of the ceiling was coming away from the wall and hanging down from the bed. I can honestly say we were not impressed and were thinking of not even staying the night.
The staff was very friendly, especially Julio and I believe the other guys name was Gama? They treated us very well. Unfortunately we found the menu to be very limited and extremely overpriced.
The biggest issue we found was the lack of TV. They do say that there is no TV in the room but a DVD is provided with DVD's available at the front desk. What a joke! The DVD's were old and outdated and most of them were Chinese pirate copies.
On the whole our stay at Las Lajas was extremely disappointing, and we will not be going back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panamasammii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews