We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another fantastic time at Las Lajas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Las Lajas Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another fantastic time at Las Lajas”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We have been here many times with no complaints and this time was no different. We took visiting friends from California who also concurred that the Beach Resort was wonderful. The Staff was friendly and attentive as always and it troubles me to see that some other reviewers complain about them being slow. Come on people! You're not in Miami Beach, everything moves more slowly in Panama. That's why we love it here! Compared with other places in Panama, the employees at Las Lajas are very well trained and do a great job. In any case, we plan on going again next month for a couple nights as this is our favorite place in Panama to "get away from it all."

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceandNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skluser, Owner at Las Lajas Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments and for explaining some things to people who just dont know where they are in the world at times. We look forward to your returning visits, what a pleasure it is to host people who get it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    97
    25
    6
    13
See reviews for
66
129
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

While traveling in Panama I found I did not like the food so well.. Then we went to las lajas and life gotten better. The food is good the staff is great and I would come back.

It is a little hard to find. Do not try to find this place at nite. I wish I would have stayed longer. On the massages be sure to ask for the type you would like and I am sure you will be happy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanAntonioTexas78229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skluser, Owner at Las Lajas Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you! We are very proud of our food and take great pride in serving you great food.
even thought we have many signs to guide you to us, you are right that finding us at night can be tricky...should you arrive at night call us and we will guide you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Loved this place. I wish I would have know of this place before I would have stayed a week. Great beach. Walk for miles and swimming safe. Great on premiss restaurant. Basic rooms but great for families. Didn't bother us as the rest made up for it. I would stay here again, but longer.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skluser, Owner at Las Lajas Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My family recently stayed at Las Lajas Beach resort for 2 nights while on vacation in Panama. When we first arrived we found our rooms to be quit spacious and the beach was beautiful. Our first nights stay was fine, despite the kids yelling and screaming outside our window until roughly 1030p. We ordered dinner with no issue and enjoyed the beautiful sunset. However, when we woke up the 2nd day and tried to order breakfast we found that the service was incredibly slow and that the servers were not so friendly. It took several minutes to order, we had to practically flag someone down to get more coffee and the server seemed annoyed anytime we asked for something. We simply shrugged it off and figured it was because it was early and went about our day. However, when we tried to order lunch we had the same experience. There were roughly a handful of tables and everyone seemed to be getting service, yet the server walked by our table several times without stopping and it took nearly 30 min. to get a menu. Eventually the woman who I believe is the owner came over to our table and asked if we would like to order. She was nice enough, but not overly friendly. It would have been ok had it been easy to simply go some where else to eat but unfortunately the resort is one of the only places to eat on the beach and we did not have a car. The whole experience left us with little desire to return to the resort. A little customer service goes a long way in my book.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skluser, Propietario at Las Lajas Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write trip advisor about your stay and we are happy that you have aknowledged just how beauiful our beach really is here.
However I would like to address your criticisms. Quiet time is from 11 to 7 in the morning and so noise at about 10:30 is generally rare but not unacceptable either. You could of gone to the front desk and asked the manager about it, or go the guard if it was after 10:30? Did you find the parents of the children and ask them to please play elsewhere? This could of been handled in many and much better ways then just writing to trip advisor about it. If there was indeed a legitamite problem, we could of handled it right then and there. If you check our reviews you will see that we get high marks for our sleep quality. As for for our service, I would again point out we get very high marks for that as well and we are constantly told that we have have a great and caring staff. That being said, it doesnt mean that your service was up to par that day and for that we are truly sorry. My manager came over and took your order and explained to you that it had been extremely busy that morning before you arrived for breakfast and was sorry for your wait. As you pointed out, you could not go elsewhere as there is little or no western standards restaurants on the beach. Instead people staying at other places on the beach and from the village come to us and thus sometimes it gets very busy and we cannot maintain the short wait for your food that we would like to. We have worked hard to teach our people to provide good service but sometimes people have bad days or its just plain busy. We are starting some new policies to see if we can improve service. The next time you are travelling in panama just remember that a shout of "joven" will bring your service provider over to you. Thank you for your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red River\
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We just got back from a two week stay in Panama. We spent the last few days here at Las Lajas. We absolutely loved it! We were right on the beach with a really nice restaurant and bar open to the ocean. The rooms are simple but that's what makes this experience so relaxing! Oh and also the sound of the ocean!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gadgetgalxxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skluser, Owner at Las Lajas Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thanks so much for your nice review and we hope to see you againsoon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcan, Panama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We had made reservations well in advance. My wife and I were about to leave from our home in Volcan to go to the beach resort and sadly I was attacked by another North American. It is a very long story but after trying to beat me up as well as my wife, we immediately went to the police and began to file a protection order against this person. This was a very lengthy process and it took most of the day, not to mention the fact that we were extremely shook up. We forgot to cancel the hotel in light of all of this commotion. They charged us the next day for the stay. We wrote to the hotel, explained the situation and they refused to refund our money.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JoelyTerre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skluser, Owner at Las Lajas Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
We have contacted this person to ask them to provide some sort of evidence that they did in deed have a reservation with us. They wrote back saying they did not feel that they had to provide "personal information" with us to prove their story. We wrote back again asking for emails or something to confirm that they had made contact with us, it has been over a week and we still have no response. We have no record of any of the names, email addresses, or telephone numbers they gave us. We believe that they may of made reservations with someone else and are confusing us with them, or that it just isnt true. If they can provide evidence of making a reservation with us, then we will honor it with another date in the future, otherwise please remove this posting. thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Family trip to Panama with 10 family members all ranging from Canada, USA, Chile and the UK. Initially the plan was to go to the public beach for the day and then return back to Boquete but then we came upon this resort and decided to stay for one night. Great pool area, clean and nicely decorated rooms with AC and a safe and a nice restaurant and private area of the beach. Prices for a room and food were fairly decent and staff were very accommodating however were not very social or talkative with the guests (probably my only critique). Overall it was a lovely place to stay and would recommend it for anyone wanting to enjoy the sun, beach and poolside.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcela32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skluser, Gerente at Las Lajas Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
It feels good to read you were really enjoying our place and recommend everything we offer.
Not all of our staff speaks fluent english and because of that some of them are shy. But they are all studying english and trying to improve their conversational skills.
Kind regards from the Las Lajas Beach Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Las Lajas
23.3 mi away
Hotel Bocas del Mar
Hotel Bocas del Mar
#1 of 5 in Boca Chica
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
23.4 mi away
Seagull Cove Resort
Seagull Cove Resort
#2 of 5 in Boca Chica
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Laguna
Casa Laguna
#2 of 6 in Playa Las Lajas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hospedaje y Restaurante Refugio Tropical las Lajas
Hospedaje y Restaurante Refugio ...
#4 of 4 in Playa Las Lajas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Inn
Paradise Inn
#5 of 6 in Playa Las Lajas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
5.2 mi away
Finca Buena Vista
Finca Buena Vista
#1 of 11 in Las Lajas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Lajas Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Lajas Beach Resort

Property: Las Lajas Beach Resort
Address: Playa Las Lajas, Playa Las Lajas, Las Lajas 123456, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Las Lajas > Playa Las Lajas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Las Lajas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Lajas Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ONLY hotel directly on the beach with a pool and a beachfront bar-restaurant. All 12 rooms have 2 queen, and 1 single sized bed with A/C, free WIFI, hot water showers, ceiling fan, safe box, satellite TV on 42 inch screens. Our restaurant offers a wide variety of cuisine from Panamanian, American to Mexican, local fresh fish, and everything in between. From a large selection of beers to blended drinks, our bar has it all. Our grass covered grounds include a large swimming pool, outside showers, and large shaded areas around the pool as well as the native beach front grass ¨umbrella´s¨. Hammocks can be found in front of your room. Playa Las Lasjas is a wide, long, and safe swimming beach that can be lively on weekends but deserted during the week ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Las Lajas Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Lajas Beach Hotel Playa Las Lajas
Las Lajas Beach Resort Panama/Playa Las Lajas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing