We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Las Lajas Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
$139
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cala Mia Island Resort(Isla Boca Brava)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Alcala(David)(Great Value!)
$45
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Show Pony Beach Resort(Hato del Rosario)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roxy Fishing Club(Boca Chica)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Isla Palenque(Boca Chica)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveler rating
149
106
26
6
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
106
26
6
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are largehot waterget awaybeach resortpanama cityeither directionstayed longergreat varietygreat roomtwo queen bedsfood is excellentfood and drinkspacific sidenice poolbar restaurantricebeautiful flowers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 300 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Las Lajas Beach Resort is a wonderful small hotel managed by Lisa and Gama, a nice dutch-panamean couple, located on what must be panama best beach, Las Lajas. The beach is 17 km long and has no big resort on it, it is actually nearly empty, mostly visited by Panamean people on week-ends. The sea is very safe for chidren and fun for adults and teenagers. We enjoyed a lot body surfing there during our stay in December 2013. Apparently during other seasons proper surfing is possible. During our stay at Las Lajas Beach Resort, we also went for horse rides on the beach and in the nearby hills. The guide is Gama himself; he doesn't speak much english, but he knows horses and the region very well. I also rented beach bikes, but hey, it's hard work. on the sand.
The hotel itself is lovely, especially the pool and restaurant area. The rooms are simple with AC, we had a double bed for parents and a double + one single for our 2 teens; so plenty of space.
The restaurant is nice, bar tenders can fix good coktails, music is good but not too loud, and the fish is really fresh.
Lisa, the hotelmanager is really super friendly, caring and helpful. For instance, we had a car scratch done in the parking, Lisa helped us a lot, made calls, had a letter written for us to be given to our car rental company; she made everything possible to help.
One of the highlight of our stay was a private tour, with Lisa and Gama, to visit a Guyami community, off the beaten track. A really nice experience.
Superbly located hotel, nice atmosphere and good managers and staff; what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frenchfrog39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skluser, Manager at Las Lajas Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you so much for your excellent review and all your kind words. We were very happy to have you here and to see you were really enjoying everything we offer.
Saludos from Las Lajas Beach Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Hotel in the middle of November for two days. I say hotel, because it is definitely not a resort by comparison of any resort I ever stayed in.
Rooms are spacious and have 3 beds, which gives them a bit of a hostel look. However clean with aircon. Sometimes you find a crab in then as they wander in from the beach.
The infinity pool is an interesting version of "infinity" and quiet smal, however the sea is close and really nice. Beach has grey sand and a few sand flies, which is obviously not the problem of the hotel.
The staff is nice and very helpful, the food is good.
What turned me down was the fact, that a proper vacation sleep-in was close to impossible. Some of the staff were yelling all the way over the hotel ground to each other at around 7:30-8:00. Annoying and way to early for me I stayed in many noise places around the world, but never at 77$ per night.
Over all: Ok place, but don't expect too much of this "Resort".

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Globekiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skluser, Gerente at Las Lajas Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you for your review and compliments about our service and food.
We are terribly sorry you were not able to sleep-in as long as you liked to. We always incourage our guests to give feedback at the moment so we can take action inmediately and find out what happened. Right now it is difficult to know what exactly happened.
At 7.30 am our restaurant opens and lots of our guests get up before that to enjoy our instalations. The day starts early in the tropics.
Our staff is instructed not even to speak to eachother in front of the rooms in the morning and there is no excuse for them to yell at any hour of the day. However it is difficult for us to control our guests on that aspect. We informed all staff members about your complaint.
Regards Las Lajas Beach Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Have stayed at Las Lajas Beach Resort many times and have always enjoyed our stay. The staff is the best have seen in Panama, very friendly and helpful. Rooms are always clean as is
the bar/restaurant area. Food is great (try the fish and chips!!!) and highly recommend the
umbrella drinks!!!! The ocean is safe for swimming and great for the boogie boards. Bring a
camera along with as the sunsets are spectacular.

Room Tip: Number 6 has a HUGE shower and only 2 beds instead of 3.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skluser, Manager at Las Lajas Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

We are very proud you are enjoying our resort so much and we hope you will keep visiting us for a long long time.
Regards,
Las Lajas Beach Resort staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed in a not-so-good place the previous night, this was a welcome change. The staff was very polite (thank you E!) and made me feel right at home. The staff at the restaurant and bar were wonderful. (Thanks P for the Spanish help).

The grounds and beach are very relaxing and I had no issues with the rooms. The no paper in the toilet takes a little getting used too, but many places are like this and it was new to me.

I only marked down the rooms a little for the walls and just because they needed to be wiped down in places (just a little dirty).

The food was awesome.

I would come back here and recommend it to friends and family. Nicely done staff and owners!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skluser, Manager at Las Lajas Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

We are happy we could make you feel at home and that you enjoyed our grounds, the beach and the food so much.
At remote places in several countries in central america you are asked to throw the toilet paper in a waste bin in stead of the toilet itself, because of the type of sceptic tanks made here. Anyhow, like you say yourself, after a while you get used to it. Thank you for your feed back, we cleaned the wall of the room you stayed in.
Regards,
Las Lajas Beach Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I haven't had a beach experience like at Las Lajas Beach Resort. The beach is miles long and at low tide you can walk forever. How about viewing humpback whales,and all kinds of birdlife. Offshore are Islas Secas and other islands almost to Coiba.
The breakfasts are super, lunches are good, supper is ok. They often use frozen langostina and camarones. They can be found fresh very easily.
The rooms are adequate. The pool is very nice, as is the service.
I will go back for the wonderful beach and the homey atmosphere.
Prices are very reasonable..

Room Tip: Stay in rooms 1-6, still beachfront but away from the music. The upstairs suite is also very nice.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skluser, Manager at Las Lajas Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

We are always happy to welcome people like you that truly enjoy the beauty of our beach and all the treasures of nature. And of course it is important to us you enjoyed our food, the pool, our service and homey atmosphere. Thank you for your recommendation about the seafood.
Most of the times we buy frozen langostinos and shrimps of an high and constant standard because it is not easy to get it fresh regularly in the quantities we need and even more difficult to get the shrimps of the right size and the right quality we require.
Regards,
Las Lajas Beach Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews