We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Irish hospitality.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castlemaine
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palm Grove Farmhouse
Ranked #3 of 4 Castlemaine B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed one night at this lovely farmhouse. Kitty was an amazingly gracious hostess. When she found out this was an anniversary trip, she brought out two flutes of Bailey's while we were sitting by her fire. How thoughtful!!! Room and bath were spacious and very clean and tidy. Breakfast was wonderful. Kitty and her husband were delightful to talk with by the fire in the evening. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Almost stayed another night, but schedule did not permit. A super location for travelling Dingle. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 23 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2011

I stayed with my parents for 3 nights in August and we enjoyed our time in Palm Grove. This is a very lovely place, and very good base to explore Dingle Peninsula and not so far from Killarney.
The owner was very lovely and gave us some advices about visits. We recommande it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

We stayed at palm Grove after touring on the Dingle. It was a great place to stay to start our trip up to County Clare without the long drive off dingle Peninsula. Kitty was gracious and welcoming, and helpful in every way. We really enjoyed seeing the cows from the bedroom windows, and the quiet location was very restful. i enjoyed every minute of the stay, and Kitty could not have been nicer. I recommend Palm Grove highly, and would happily return there.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

A trip to Ireland was hoped for by my grandmother, aunts, uncle, but never was realized. We were raised knowing that my great-grandparents had left parents that farmed, in County Kerry and County Roscommon. My great-grandmother had also left one brother. Geneology research found this to be true in the 1911 Irish Census. My sister and our daughters were so blessed to find and meet one of our cousins, Kitty Nagle and her husband, Pat, two of their children and even their beautiful grand-daughter, at The Palmgrove, a working dairy farm, in Castlemaine. We were scheduled to stay one night, but stayed for two. The farm is close to Killarney for the "main day tours" of the Ring of Kerry, Dingle, and the Gap of Dunloe. Kitty will not let you leave hungry, and her table holds loads of home-cooking, including homemade jam, and her beautiful roses are are both in and out of the house. Pat makes sure there is a cozy fire in the family room, and told us he loves it when guests asks to watch him milk the cows. For the Irish all over the world, that yearn to return to an Ireland, close to the one left by the Ol' folks...THE PALMGROVE...is calling to you.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishTripper2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Since the arrivel we fellt like were a part of the family. We were able to see the farmers work and enjojed the quetness during the night.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika0084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

It is off the beaten path (and most definitely a working farm), but still a good spot for exploring Dingle. If you go in the summer, the roses in the gardens are numerous and gorgeous. The ensuite baths are good sized, and Kitty's breakfast are custom-cooked.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knittermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Kitty was warm and welcoming through out our entire stay. The food was wonderful, the rooms were richly decorated and cozy. The bathrooms were big for a B&B. I loved watching the cows parade in and out for milking. The house was clean and the scenery was prestine. A truely wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NapaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castlemaine hotels
3.8 mi away
Mountain View B & B
Mountain View B & B
#1 of 4 in Castlemaine
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castlemaine House
Castlemaine House
#2 of 4 in Castlemaine
18 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tom & Eileen's Farm
Tom & Eileen's Farm
#1 of 3 in Castlemaine
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Phoenix B&B
The Phoenix B&B
#2 of 3 in Castlemaine
22 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Palm Grove Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Grove Farmhouse

Address: Ardcanaught, Castlemaine, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Castlemaine
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Castlemaine
Price Range: $66 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Palm Grove Farmhouse Ireland/Castlemaine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing