We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best accommodation in Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tom & Eileen's Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Salerno, Italy
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“The best accommodation in Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

This B&B is exactly what you dream of when booking in advance a room. Perfect accommodation, clean, nice design and lovely owners, that are in addition clever chefs for the morning breakfast, where you order and eat. Only the position is uncomfortable and impossible to reach without a car, but the farmhouse is surrounded by the green and animals, typical Irish. Th best location we have been for all the 5 days. Strategical starting point for the ring of Kerry or Dingle peninsula tour.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Arturo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

It is no accident that all the reviews are positive. If you are in the west of Ireland, you must stay at Tom and Eileen's (who are incidentally Phena's mother and father). We stayed at a few posh hotels in a recent trip and none compared with this place. Lovely people, superb breakfasts and beautiful countryside. What more do you want? Just a word of warning about signs: if you come from Tralee by car, it is not signposted so you might have to go into Castlemaine, turn round and come back as it is signposted the other way. But how very Irish!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickB187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

This is in the top 3 B&B's we have ever experienced, and we have stayed in many. A beautiful farm house in a stunning setting near the village of Castlemaine. So convenient for Killarney, the Dingle peninsula and the Ring of Kerry. Host Phema was so friendly and welcoming, she couldn't do enough to ensure we were comfortable. Beautifully appointed huge bedroom with en suite and gorgeous views. An excellent breakfast was served and the whole place was spotlessly clean. Absolutely nothing was lacking. We had an immediate comfortable feeling about this place and would have liked to stay much longer had time permitted. As a perfect base for the area, in our opinion it is far better than staying in busy Killarney. Don't be put off by thinking it is too far out, it definitely is not! Castlemaine has a lovely pub with great food - perfect! We can't recommend this B&B highly enough.

Room Tip: First floor room overlooking the stables and great country views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TONY1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Tom & Eileen's Farmhouse B&B was absolutely delightful in every respect. The setting is quiet and lovely, very convenient to touring the Ring of Kerry. Hosts Phena and Gerry are terrific and friendly. The accommodations are very comfortable. We stayed at many B&B's on our visit to Ireland, and none was better than this one. Wish we could have stayed longer. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our group had two rooms, both excellent. Don't think there are any bad rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nejazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay here. Eileen was very friendly and helpful in saving us 100 miles off our trip by showing us a ferry crossing. Breakfast was excellent. If you open your windows for the cool breeze, be prepared to hear the sounds of a farm. I enjoyed that, but if you don't, cool the room and close the window, and it's quiet.

Room Tip: Don't think there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresser, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

What a lovely place to stay and what wonderful hosts! We highly recommend this B&B. The warm welcome and hospitality we were shown was over and above anything we have ever experienced. The country setting is fabulous, the room was so pretty and clean and Phena and Gerry went out of their way to make our stay perfect!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights whilst travelling around Ireland, so glad we booked this lovely place.
Both Phena & Gerry were very warm, & hospitable.
They couldn't do enough to make our stay pleasurable.
Even left ice in my room so I could have a nightcap, what a lovely touch?

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoH214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castlemaine
1.5 mi away
Murphy's Farmhouse
Murphy's Farmhouse
#1 of 1 in Boolteens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
9.4 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
9.4 mi away
Loch Lein Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Anvil Bar
The Anvil Bar
#1 of 1 in Boolteens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mountain View B & B
Mountain View B & B
#1 of 4 in Castlemaine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tom & Eileen's Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tom & Eileen's Farm

Property: Tom & Eileen's Farm
Address: Castlemaine, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Castlemaine
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Castlemaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tom & Eileen's Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tom & Eileen's Farm Ireland/Castlemaine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing