We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of 185- Castlemaine

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Castlemaine, Dingle Peninsula, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karen K
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home.”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We had a fantastic week at Jehr's cottage. It was perfectly set up for our family (3 grown sisters and my parents) with 2 downstairs & 2 upstairs bedrooms. The location is beautiful with a lovely view and easily accessible to beautiful destinations on Dingle & Kerry peninsulas. Jehr was so kind to spend time with us on the day we checked in, not only to orient us to the specifics of the house (a little tricky as American travelers in Ireland) but also to look at maps & recommend local sites & experiences.

Our only hitch was actually finding the cottage the first night, as the sign that was listed on the directions as a landmark had actually been removed, and there is no actual name on the lanes that go up the hill to the cottage. The distances on the directions were accurate, though, and that's how we found it in the end.

The value is unbeatable, I still can't believe how little we paid for a week of lovely accomodations. We hope to return and spend another week there in a few years, and will send friends who are looking for a great place to stay when traveling the Emerald Isle

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view & the location
Liked least: internet access would be a very nice addition, we did miss connectivity!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie E
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Castlemaine Delight”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What a superb find this cottage proved to be,every possible amenity together with a most welcoming and hospitable host Mr Jerh Murphy,look no further to find peace and quiet and easy access
to all the local must vists,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing
Liked least: Nothing to dilike
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie E
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“First class accomadation in a wonderful location”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed for a week in this property in September 2013, and we all really fell in love with it. It is in a really stunning location, very much off the beaten track so it is very quiet, but with breath-taking views. We received a lovely welcome from Jerh, the owner, who showed us around, and made us all a very welcome cup of tea, and also answered all of our many questions about the area.
The house itself is wonderful, really homely and spotlessly clean. We spent many happy hours in the conservatory playing board games and admiring the fantastic views. This was our favourite room! The house is well located for lots of exploring, which we enjoyed doing. It was lovely to come home to such a welcoming house each evening.
I cannot speak highly enough of the house, or the friendliness of the owner.
Thank you for a great week Jerh, we hope to return soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The conservatory!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JASEYL
Mishawaka
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Our family stayed the first week of July 2013. Before arriving in Ireland, we were sent a very detailed list of information about the home & region by the owner, Jerh. The information was very useful in planning our trip in advance & also once we arrived. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by the owner. He walked us through the home, explaining everything about the house, in detail, & made sure we didn't have any questions. He also spent some additional time answering our questions about places we were considering visiting while in Ireland (which was very helpful). The house, itself, was amazing & very well maintained. It was spotless & nicely decorated. The views from the home were also amazing. The home is centrally located between the Ring of Kerry & Dingle Peninsula, which was great for visiting both areas during our stay. There are two Pubs less than 5 minutes down the same road, which was also convenient (same road the house is located on). The property also has sheep that were a huge hit with the kids. Bottom line, the house is perfect for a trip to Ireland. The house is located in a quiet country area, but close enough to everything you need. We were all truly sad to leave & would definitely stay again. Perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House Was Amazing With Great Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 6, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful Home and catered for needs of all ages
Liked least: Nothing! Tried hard to find something negative, there really wasn't anything - perfect! (and I am very fussy!)
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 2, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: excellant cottage all round
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lisa m
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“execellent”
Reviewed May 11, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We stayed at this cottage as we went to Ireland for a family christening, this cottage is excellent, very secluded, the house itself has everything to offer a family with or without young children and teenagers, there is plenty of toys for young children to play with in the twin bedroom,you dont need anything at all, we took some essentials with us only to find all the stuff we took was provided in the cottage, the bedrooms are all good sizes, living room very cozy, kitchen large n spacious, conservatory which was the most used room is comfortably and has the most amazing views out of the patio doors.. lots of space outisde to run round, my middle children aged 5/7 enjoyed playing in the stream which runs through the grounds of the cottage, kept them entertained for hours.. we will be certainly going back soon as we all really enjoyed our trip n home while in Ireland

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing