We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely views .” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carnaween House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Narin-Portnoo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carnaween House
Dublin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely views .”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Carnaween is one of those places where if you don't expect it to be perfect it won't disappoint . The views are lovely and its spotlessly clean , Food is hit and miss sometimes but we had a lovely meal there in July .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabbie-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    11
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glenties, Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

I'm a local, just up the road in Glenties & often go out for meals in Carnaween & have yet to have a bad experience. The food is class, the only minor criticism I have is dessert. They make their own deserts & they are lovely but its the variety I would like to see changed. They do crumbles & meringues & things but I have a savage sweet tooth & would like to see more on the menu. That said its a minor thing & probably a personal thing that wouldn't even bother others. I love the duck there, also I would recommend the chowder. One thing is for sure you won't leave hungry. We like to go down especially at halloween when there are fireworks on the beach across the road. Overall a really high standard of food & nice staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Recommended by our cottage owners for Sunday lunch. Absolutely fantastic food, relaxed setting, quiet, views spectacular. Will be going there again twice in May 2012. Weather was wet but it didnt matter at all.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

Great views, comfortable room and superb dinner and breakfast. Just so relaxing and wish we were going back sooner than March 2012. Can't wait

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxieNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Beauiful location lovely decor arlene marvelous host breakfast very well presented consisting of local produce. Dinner superb and serviced to high standard. Would make great family retreat. We are considering for our next visit to book all nine rooms for wider family weekend.

Room Tip: Get room with beach and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnmurphyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

We loved everything about Carnaween House! I flew over from California and toured Donegal with my cousin from Belfast. The 2 days spent here in early September were wonderful. The last night we were the only ones in the house,but Arlene and Kara made certain everything we needed was provided. We even had freshly baked scones left in the lounge for a ''snack'' The breakfasts were terrific,and Chef Arlene fixed a meal for our Sunday lunch that I'm sure would win a blue ribbon at any food competition --anywhere!
Gretchen Cowan

Room Tip: Great ocean views from the 2 rooms facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gretchen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
263 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed at the end of the season and to be honest, we felt rather abandoned. Our keys were left on the front desk and we never saw the host or hostess. Someone came in each morning to fix our breakfast but other than that, we were the only ones in the house.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walking16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narin-Portnoo
0.8 mi away
Lake House Country Hotel
Lake House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Narin-Portnoo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
5.4 mi away
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
21.9 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,877 reviews
7.2 mi away
Highlands Hotel
Highlands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Glenties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
18.4 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnaween House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnaween House

Property: Carnaween House
Address: Naran strand, Narin-Portnoo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Narin-Portnoo
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Narin-Portnoo
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carnaween House is the ideal escape from busy lives. We love to welcome couples, families, foodies, sunset worshippers, golfers, walkers, runners, beach enthusiasts, surfers, dogs (extra charge) - whatever the purpose of your visit we strive to make sure it will be a memorable experience! We have 9 bedrooms of varying size, some rooms can be small due to the original layout when purchasing and renovating the house entirely in 2007. Only 3 rooms have tvs as we believe narin&portnoo is most enjoyed outdoors. Our restaurant has become a bit of a destination so it can be very popular and sometimes noisy, especially at high season and weekends. We also have 2 self-catering accommodations a few minutes walk away: Caranaween Cottage, a secluded 3 bed (sleeps 6) traditional irish cottage tucked away with private garden Carnaween Chalet, a cosy 2 bedroom dwelling to sleep 4 (1 double bed/1 bunk bed) and coming soon Carn'a'van, a shabby chic newly renovated caravan for those who don't mind up close and personal - could be used for extra bed space for the chalet as situation behind! we look forward to welcoming love - from all at Carnaween x ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carnaween House Narin-Portnoo, Ireland - County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing