We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of Carnaween House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Narin-Portnoo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carnaween House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We loved everything about Carnaween House! I flew over from California and toured Donegal with my cousin from Belfast. The 2 days spent here in early September were wonderful. The last night we were the only ones in the house,but Arlene and Kara made certain everything we needed was provided. We even had freshly baked scones left in the lounge for a ''snack'' The breakfasts were terrific,and Chef Arlene fixed a meal for our Sunday lunch that I'm sure would win a blue ribbon at any food competition --anywhere!
Gretchen Cowan

Room Tip: Great ocean views from the 2 rooms facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gretchen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 79 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed at the end of the season and to be honest, we felt rather abandoned. Our keys were left on the front desk and we never saw the host or hostess. Someone came in each morning to fix our breakfast but other than that, we were the only ones in the house.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Walking16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

What can i say! Carnaween has it all! breathtaking scenery, fabulous seaview rooms,fantastic food and service.When we arrived we had complimentary coffee and cookies down at the beach house. We had a wonderful stay and cant wait to return next year..

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maisy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We arrived at 3.30pm and our room wasn't ready for half an hour. The towels weren't dry until after that. As we had our dinner at 6.30pm some Italian people were still trying to get their towels! The view from the restaurant is magnificent (don't forget to ask for a window seat). The sea food was good - though the local sea trout was over-cooked. The restaurant is only open Thursday to Sunday, which wasn't clear before we got there. We were in a double room which had a view from the bed to the sea and beyond, which I loved! However my husband couldn't sleep because the mattress appeared to have collapsed at his side of the bed (very heavy person before us?) There was no wardrobe, or chest of drawers, or chair and we couldn't imagine staying there for more than 1/2 nights. We had to leave early for a funeral and no discount was offered, even though we didn't have clean towels or breakfast. Loved the white, sea-side decor but could do better!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank suitefan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed for a weekend at Carnaween, it's a lovely place, nice decor and very clean. we had dinner there on one night and the food was superb. The only problem we had was that the room was tiny, we almost had to walk sideways round the bed, there was no wardrobe, only a couple of coathangers on the wall, no hairdryer or tv. We didn't have our room cleaned and were told that rooms are only cleaned every other day, we had to ask for fresh towels, these are basic things we would expect from any good B&B. Our friends also stayed and had a lovely large room with a lounge area and a sea view and they were only charged 20 euro more than us for the total weekend we think the room we were given should have been a lot less considering the lack of facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for room 8 or 9, they are the best rooms,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I stayed recently in self catering accomodation across the road from carnaween house and booked in with the family for dinner on the Thursday night! What else can i say but......gorgeous!! The menu had enough choice and all 3 courses were divine! They also cater well for children and the service was 1st class! There is a lovely decked area outside with furniture, parasols and fat boy cushions and hammock where we relaxed with a cocktail watching the gorgeous sunset over the beach! Definitely worth a visit for food and hope to return to stay myself! The place is a credit to its owners, chefs and staff!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loreal28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

I recently had the pleasure of spending the weekend in the beautiful picturesque area of Portnoo in County Donegal. Carnaween House proved the perfect place to stay with its magnificent views across the vast beach. This was the ideal backdrop to spend a most relaxing and enjoyable weekend. The staff was most efficient and attentive and created a lovely atmosphere. The food, both for breakfast and evening meal, was excellent. Our room was very comfortable with excellent showering/washing facilities. Carnaween House's location right on the beach front had particularly stunning views. It will not be too long before we return to this truly idyllic venue.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CatherineJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carnaween House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnaween House

Address: Naran strand, Narin-Portnoo, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Narin-Portnoo
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Narin-Portnoo
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carnaween House is the ideal escape from busy lives. We love to welcome couples, families, foodies, sunset worshippers, golfers, walkers, runners, beach enthusiasts, surfers, dogs (extra charge) - whatever the purpose of your visit we strive to make sure it will be a memorable experience! We have 9 bedrooms of varying size, some rooms can be small due to the original layout when purchasing and renovating the house entirely in 2007. Only 3 rooms have tvs as we believe narin&portnoo is most enjoyed outdoors. Our restaurant has become a bit of a destination so it can be very popular and sometimes noisy, especially at high season and weekends. We also have 2 self-catering accommodations a few minutes walk away: Caranaween Cottage, a secluded 3 bed (sleeps 6) traditional irish cottage tucked away with private garden Carnaween Chalet, a cosy 2 bedroom dwelling to sleep 4 (1 double bed/1 bunk bed) and coming soon Carn'a'van, a shabby chic newly renovated caravan for those who don't mind up close and personal - could be used for extra bed space for the chalet as situation behind! we look forward to welcoming love - from all at Carnaween x ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carnaween House Narin-Portnoo, Ireland - County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing