We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic, definitely be back soon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Certificate of Excellence
ballyclare n.ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
“fantastic, definitely be back soon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

Booked this hotel and got super deal of 65E DDB. From the moment we arrived i could do nothing but praise the hotel and staff. Check in was friendly and quick, Rooms were well furnished and modern. Lunch in the bar was lovely. The 3 course meal in Mamie Pats bar in the eveing was the best food I have had in a long long time - extremely well presented and service fantastic. We had booked spa treatments for the next morning only to learn that we would not be taken at the same time, this was quickly rectified by the offer of a complimentary treatment while we waited on eachother. All in all fantastic break, would not hesitiate to return or to recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazydaisy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    198
    78
    35
    24
See reviews for
254
418
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

This very clean and attractive hotel and spa is a must stay for Ballyliffin Golf. I stayed three nights and took advantage of hotel booked tee times at reduced rates. I visited one of the competitors in the area to sample some bar food and left immediately without ordering, counting my blessings that I made the right choice in booking Ballyliffing Lodge and Spa. County Donegal is an enjoyable and beautiful part of Ireland and my stay was superb.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golftrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strabane
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2009

Scanning down the reviews, in all honesty most of the complaints are picky and petty!!! We are having our wedding reception there next year and stayed for a night to make sure we hadn't made a mistake! Glad to say we hadn't, we stayed in a standard room, definitely up to a high standard. Food in the restaurant of really good quality, very god service and no complaints!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and can honestly say didn't experience any of the problems the previous reviewers have written about. Check-in was very fast - we were allocated a room on the first floor - room was spacious with 1 large double bed and 1 single. Bathrooms had plenty of toiletries and even had some toothbrushes and paste in case one had forgotten their own. No problems encountered at breakfast - good choice of food available. Location is very good, just a 5 min walk to a lovely beach. We were blessed with good weather so maybe that helped. 3 glorious days of sunshine. We would definetely go back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GIBBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2009

the hotel definately does not have 4star service. The reception areas in the hotel are lovely but the bedrooms are just ok. The ensuites are small and basic & lack the usual toiletries etc that you get elsewhere. The spa waiting area is very shabby with old torn magazines the only ones on offer to peruse. The restaurant serves lovely food but is expensive.
The main problem with this hotel is the lack of service and the way in which management ignore any customer complaints is insulting. I will not return and could not honestly recommend this to a friend.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freetaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fermanagh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2009

If you're going to this hotel please be aware that the free newspaper you will be offered to be delivered to your room will be charged for on checkout. main courses in restaurant are served with potatoes but menu doesn't say this so we unnecessarily ordered expensive sides. The cheapest house wine (sickly sweet rosemount) is E21.the hotel is extremely hot - i assume they hope guests will buy more drinks to cool down. my sister was left in the dry flotation room for an hr and a half in what should have been a half hr treatment but they forgot about her. The hotel is lovely but if you have some complaints like we had you can expect that they will be totally ignored by management.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Europehopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2009

I first stayed at Ballyliffin Lodge shortly after it opened (before it had a rating) and was very impressed with the hotel - pretty much all aspects
(accomodation, leisure facilities and food)


We stayed there again 16th and 17th Feb 2009 and are pleased to report that the standards we first saw have been maintained - this is reassuring as I have watched many great hotels degrade through lack of maintenance.

If I had to pick one fault its that the lighting at the pool is too dark - but to be honest its a minor preoblem

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinnamontoast2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyliffin
1.4 mi away
Ballyliffin Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
13.6 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 5 in Buncrana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ballyliffin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
21.3 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel

Property: Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Address: Ballyliffin Lodge Ballyliffin Lodge Inishowen, Ballyliffin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyliffin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyliffin Lodge And Spa Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel Ballyliffin
Ballyliffin Donegal
Ballyliffin Hotel Donegal
Ballyliffin Lodge Hotel
Ballyliffin Spa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing