We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly Fantastic Hotel For Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Truly Fantastic Hotel For Wedding”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I recently spent the day here for my Friends Wedding, from we entered the door it was nothing but fabulous, Champagne on arrival was Delicious (must ring up to find out name) Lobby/Bar area was so comfortable & relaxing, i could have sat there all day, i just wish i had of being staying the night but they were booked out :-( The set up for wedding function room is lovely & if i were to get married i think 99.9% sure i'd be having my reception here.. Food was amazing, start i had vol au vents, superb, soup, turkey & ham & there was enough for 2 people on my plate, i just couldn't finish or fault 1 part of the meal & could have easily ate it the next day if i'd of had a doggy bag (yummy), desert was 10/10 and i most certainly will go out there for evening tea someday & have the Apple Crumble & custard if it's on the menu. Staff were quick & happy looking, toilets immaculate. Extremely attentive to the Bridal party.. Rate this Hotel 10/10 or more. Thank you for a lovely pleasant & delicious day

Room Tip: I didn't stay here, just a review for a Wedding function.. Fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDoherty, Customer Care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Ann,
Thank you for sharing your wedding experience on Tripadvisor,I am delighted you enjoyed your day her with us. We have a fantastic reputation for weddings and we pride ourselves in the service and quality of food we deliver to each and every wedding. It is fantastic that this was your experience also. I will certainly be sharing your comments with all the team here at the lodge and we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again.

Kind Regards from all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    198
    77
    35
    24
See reviews for
257
418
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I visited Ballyliffin Lodge Hotel late last year and was very impressed by the warm welcome and friendly staff. The food was good and reasonable and attention to detail with regard to cleanliness was apparent. The leisure facilities were also spot-on and I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel for singles, romantic couples or families!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDoherty, Customer Care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Tom,
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. It is lovely to read that you found staff courteous. We do pride ourselves in trying to go that extra mile for our guests and I am delighted to hear you would recommend our hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon. Best Wishes from all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed here for 2 night in February. The hotel was great, staff really friendly. Unfortunately the weather was really bad, snow , sleet, wind and rain. We were lucky there is a spa, pool and leisure facilities at the hotel (which are excellent) We would definitely go back when the weather is better. The area around Ballyliffin is beautiful just need better weather to enjoy it fully.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreanireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDoherty, Customer Care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and took advantage of our wonderful leisure and spa facilities. Unfortunately we couldn’t control the weather for you, we are fortunate here in Ballyliffin that we don’t actually get a lot of snow in the winter it was just unfortunate it snowed during your visit. I hope to welcome you back again in the future. Best Regards from all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed here for two nights on a Groupon Deal .. In the past we have had some awful experiences from the purchase of a Groupon..Alas Ballyliffin was NOT in that category....from the moment we arrived til we checked out was jus perfect...we paid extra for a room at the front so we could savour the beautiful view of Pollan Bay etc..our room was massive and extremely comfortable..staff wer excellent and so willing to help. Food was delicious,breakfast was plentiful,my only criticism would be the hair salon policy,I paid 80 euro for my wife to have a treatment (she said the spa and the therapists wer lovely) in our room we had a treatment and price list at the back it states "10 euro for a blowdry( which costs 15 for spa users ,so I booked my wife in for a Blowdry which was booked for the following morning,but because the treatment and the hair appt wer not on the same day they would not accept the 10 euro price but wanted the 15euro...my wife cancelled as she too thought it was a bit unfair ...maybe we wer being too fussy but I had paid 50 euro extra for the upgrade and as I said 80 euro for the Spa. Apart from that the hotel is simply superb and we can't wait to return..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDoherty, Customer Care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review on our hotel. I am delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations here at the Ballyliffin Lodge. Your kind comments on our staff and food are most welcome and it is certainly rewarding for you to acknowledge this. I am sorry to hear your comment on our spa, it is spa policy to have the blow-dry on the day of the treatment but I will certainly pass your comments onto the Spa Manager. Thank you for expressing your concerns which are extremely important to us as it helps us maintain and improve our standards. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best wishes from all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We're just back from a two night stay at this fantastic hotel. As a family with a young child we couldn't have asked for more.Beautiful room with seaviews, the pool is child friendly, and there is a lovely little play area just off the bar/restaurant area so we were able to have a relaxing dinner whilst keeping an eye on our daughter playing, a rare luxury! All the common areas are very comfortable and spotlessly clean, the front room with the open fire is perfect for reading/chilling out. The food was lovely and fresh and plenty of choice with bar and restaurant menus available and the breakfasts were fantastic, the chef very kindly made boiled eggs for our daughter on both mornings, thank you!. But what stands out are the staff, very professional and efficient but most of all so friendly, helpful and welcoming, keep up the good work Ballyliffin Lodge.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the sea (115-118) are also directly above the bar, and though we didn't really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weedoll72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDoherty, Customer Care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay here in the Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa recently and thank you also for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
Your positive feedback is most welcome and I am delighted that you had such a lovely time whilst staying with us.
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments regarding our staff. It always gives me great pleasure to learn that our team give our guests such a memorable experience and I am happy to hear that all your needs were accommodated. I will ensure to pass on your kind comments to the team.
Finally on behalf of everybody here, we look forward to the occasion when you next visit and we hope that your visit then will be as memorable as this one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tacoma
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

This place was awesome. We wish that we could have stayed here longer. The staff was amazing and very knowledgeable about the area. They went above and beyond. The pool and spa are great. The area around it is beautiful. There is a beach just down the street with a kid area. The pub also has a kids play area which our daughter loved. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank thereal253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDoherty, Customer Care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your “Awesome” review, it is of great pleasure to hear that you had such a wonderful break here with us recently. Thank you for your kind comments on our staff and or hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon for a longer break. Best Regards from all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

First stay at ballyliffin lodge and not the last.
Arrived at the Ballyliffin Lodge on friday 14th Feb, suprise break from the wife.
Made very welcome on arrival by a lovely lady on reception, stayed two nights, very busy place, weddings taken place on the two days but what can i say, this didn't effect our stay what so ever, as the staff were so attentive and so obliging, couldn't do enough for us. Spa facilities great.
Ate in the restaurant on Friday night very very nice, from start to finish, greeted with champagne on arrival, and even better got a seat at the window,the menu was so nice we didn't know what to choose, my wife had the celeriac soup was beautiful, i had the goats cheese salad mmhhh lovely
followed by the Chinese chicken and the monkfish tempura both were great and really well presented the wife cous cous even done in a heart shape to go with the valentine evening.
desserts were great, and to top it off they even had two chocolate fountains with fruit, fudge and marshmallows.
the rooms were warm, well decorated and VERY CLEAN.
the live music on both nights was great,bar was bussing great atmosphere.
definitely be back, sooner rather than later .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDoherty, Customer Care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your fantastic review on our hotel. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your weekend with us recently.
Many thanks also for your kind words on our staff and food, we pride ourselves with a reputation for the quality of food at the Ballyliffin Lodge and it is great to hear that this has been experienced by you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyliffin
1.4 mi away
Ballyliffin Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
13.6 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ballyliffin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
21.3 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel

Property: Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Address: Ballyliffin Lodge Ballyliffin Lodge Inishowen, Ballyliffin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyliffin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyliffin Lodge And Spa Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel Ballyliffin
Ballyliffin Donegal
Ballyliffin Hotel Donegal
Ballyliffin Lodge Hotel
Ballyliffin Spa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing