We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel & Restaurant Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Certificate of Excellence
Galway
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hotel & Restaurant Break”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We spent two nights, mid-week, and were impressed in nearly every respect, the staff, the rooms, the spa & leisure centre. The food was first class both in the Bar and Restaurant and good value to boot.
The location overlooking Pollen Beach is wonderfull even in wintertime.

This is a location we had eaten in on previous trips to Ballyliffen and in recent years the Restaurant has been renovated and if there was one thing I'd like to see its more space around the tables, it is far too cramped, which is the reason that we ate in the bar rather than the Restaurant.

More space and privacy would add a lot to this restuarant.

Room Tip: Go in the off season and take the scenic drive to Malin Head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDoherty, Customer Care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I am delighted to hear that you were so impressed with our staff, food and facilities. I appreciate your comment on the layout and I will certainly pass this on to our restaurant manager.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    199
    79
    37
    24
See reviews for
269
426
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Excellent Hotel..well worth a visit to recharge the old batteries.
Great Spa.. Golf nearly on your doorstep.... weather very kind, fresh and rain free during the day!
Excellent food in bar and restaurant.. bar staff great craig.. breakfast first class.. rooms spacious and well appointed.
Cleanliness excellent, all staff present as friendly, professional and attentive.
That's about it.. other than to say we will be back ;0)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Issi_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDoherty, Customer Care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your great review, it is fantastic to receive such great feedback on our staff and food. The weather has certainly changed but the scenery is still fantastic during the winter months. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best Regards from all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portrush
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We arrived early so couldn't get into our room, this wasn't a problem as we'd been advised that this could be the case. We were also advised before our stay that there would be a wedding taking place. We went to have our Spa treatments, these were excellent. Our room was very nice and well equiped everything we needed for a nice break. We were even supplied with ear plugs. The staff couldn't be nicer or more helpful. The food in Jack's was outstanding. We met some very nice people who were also hotel guests. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalPortrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDoherty, Customer Care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor and i am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us. the spa is a lovely treat and well worth a visit . Thank you for your kind comments on our food and staff also. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Just about to checkout after an excellent 2 night stay.
Beautiful hotel and the service was outstanding.
Staff extremely friendly, always smiling and eager to help.
Food was superb throughout and we will definitely be back!

Gerard and Caroline

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GerardGerryWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDoherty, Customer Care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Hi Gerard and Caroline , thank you so much for taking the time to put this review on Trip Advisor and also for sending us an email. It was a pleasure to meet you both last weekend and i am delighted you and your friends enjoyed your break with us. I hope to see you both again soon. Best Regards from all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We have just stayed at the Ballyliffin Lodge and Spa for 3 nights. We found the staff all very friendly and helpful, the food was excellent quality and the rooms very clean and comfortable. My only grip would be the jacuzzi in the leisure facilities wasn't great, just didn't appear to work properly. We attended a friends wedding at the hotel during our stay and again the food and service was excellent, just be prepared to wait on dinner as everything in this area is laid back and there's to rush on.Would highly recommend this hotel for a leisurely break.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Annrosepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDoherty, cu at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I am delighted to read you enjoyed your recent stay here in the Ballyliffin Lodge. Your comments on our food are very much appreciated but i would like to apologies for the slow service in the restaurant , this is not usually the case and the night in question perhaps was busy. the jacuzzi works on intervals where it stops for a time but this is all pretty standard for a jacuzzi. I hope to welcome you back soon, Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We travelled to Ballyliffin mid term break October 2013. The weather was shocking, but the hotel made up for the cold and wet outside. The Ballyliffin Lodge is set in very picturesque setting overlooking the beach. We initally were booked into a standard room but due to problems with the heating (our room was freezing) were moved to another room. The only rooms they had left were executive ones so effectively we were upgraded. These rooms all have a gorgeous view of the sea and are bigger with more facilities than a standard room. The staff were more than helpful with moving us to this room and we were very thankful.

The food here is excellent and the service was great. We ate in the hotel all but one night and were very full by the end of the dinner. Breakfast is equally as nice with a good selection.

The lesire facilities which we used extensively were clean and functional with a swimming poll, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. Always a great addition to a hotel in our point of view.

There was a wedding on in the hotel on our last night and the staff had kindly left us chocolates and earplugs during the evening in our room. Although they expected us to be disturbed by the noise we didn't hear a thing. And the partying in the wedding went on until the early hours.

If you are visiting Ballyliffin go to the Famine Village, it's interesting. Also a walk along the beach - whatever the weather is a must!

All in all a great experience of Donegal and this particular hotel.

Room Tip: If you can afford an executive room you won't be dissapointed with the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDoherty, Customer Care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Guest, thank yo for taking the time to post your lovely review on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to learn you had a problem with the first room allocated to you but i am glad we were able to rectify it promptly, you were lucky to get our beautiful executive room and i am glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for your comments on our for and service, our staff will be delighted and i will certainly be sharing them with the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballymena
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I got 3day groupon deal was a fantastic hotel. Staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. We ate in the bar both nights food was excellent. Breakfast was first class also and plentiful. Rock crystal spa was great treatments were also good. Pool was lovely. We upgraded to a room overlooking the sea was great also we had a fridge which was also very handy. Can't praise the staff high enough.Going back soon can't wait.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cynni43_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDoherty, Customer Care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your high praises on our hotel. I am delighted yourself and your friend enjoyed your three night break with us recently.I will pass your comments on to all the team and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyliffin
0.2 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
126 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ballyliffin Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
363 reviews
13.6 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ballyliffin
319 reviews
11.0 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
891 reviews
21.3 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel

Property: Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Address: Ballyliffin Lodge Ballyliffin Lodge Inishowen, Ballyliffin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyliffin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyliffin Hotel Ballyliffin
Ballyliffin Lodge And Spa Hotel
Ballyliffin Donegal
Ballyliffin Hotel Donegal
Ballyliffin Lodge Hotel
Ballyliffin Spa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing