We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Innishowen Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Certificate of Excellence
Donaghadee Co Down
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An Innishowen Gem”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Was initially booked to stay 2 nights B&B and one Dinner but excellent marketing by staff i.e. a flyer under room door, I had no hesitation in staying an extra night. The staff from reception to restaurant to housekeeping were exceptional and are a credit to the hotel - room was spacious comfortable - one very very slight negative was the - I assume air conditioning unit outside my room(110) a constant droning noise.
Food in Jacks Bar was excellent and varied and nothing was a bother for the staff who were humorous, smiling and the ultimate professionals.
A special word about 'Young Colum' his recent career move should have taken place long ago !!
His charm humour and local knowledge are an incredible asset for the hotel

I availed of the Spa facility - swim, sauna etc - the area was clean and staff were helpful and obliging

Room Tip: If you want a noise free room avoid 110
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIKRIK60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDoherty, Customer Care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely review, I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay here with us and took advantage of an extra night! Your kind comments on our hotel and staff are most welcome. Colm is a fantastic member of staff and I will certainly pass on your comments to him. I apologize for the disruption from the fan outside your room, I will have maintenance take a look at it. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future, Best Wishes from all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    199
    79
    37
    24
See reviews for
269
426
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Larne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in spring this year and found the rooms, staff and food first class.
The only downside was that there was no provision for smokers which meant people having to stand outside the entrance doors to smoke, not the prettiest of sights.

All in all thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDoherty, Customer Care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. Your comments on our food, staff and accommodation are most appreciated. We have a sheltered decking area to the side of the hotel which can be accessed from the front room area of the hotel which smokers can use instead of the outside the front door. Thank you for recommending our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Having stayed at the Ballyliffin Lodge last August I was looking forward to returning, and I was not disappointed. We arrived on a beautiful day, and having found my second floor room to be very warm last summer, I asked if we could be given rooms with windows instead of skylights. That wasn't a problem, and noting that our group was made up of two families, Lisa (the very helpful receptionist) offered to put us in interconnecting rooms. Nothing was too much trouble and whatever we needed was provided. The staff are so friendly and accommodating. The hotel itself is wonderful; beautiful surroundings, great food and a fantastic location, especially for those with young children as the beach and playground are so close. The kids play area in the bar is a godsend when dining! Pool is also excellent. Everything is so well maintained and spotless. A real gem. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aingeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDoherty, Customer Care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review. I am delighted that your stay here with us was as enjoyable as your last stay in August. The kids play area is a fantastic addition to the hotel for our families to enjoy. I look forward to welcoming you all back again soon. Best Regards from all the team at the Ballyliffin Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here on a Sunday night as a treat and had such a lovely time. Staff so helpful and friendly. Went down to the swimming pool late in the evening on our arrival and was met by Roisin who was so friendly and when I was chatting to her about the area, she went over and above her duties to check if there were local cycle hire - really nice of her, thank you! Food was lovely in the restaurant, as were the cocktails on offer. Room was immaculate and very comfortable. Breakfast was fresh and hot. We ordered some pancakes as well and when brought out to us, our waiter could see we hadn't quite finished cereal and took them back to the kitchen to be kept warm for us, without being asked. Little touches like that made the stay memorable! Our spa treatments were exceptional too. Thank you all very much for your genuinely helpful service. I have recommended you to so many people already :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MHIre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDoherty, Customer Care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here recently. I hope you enjoyed your cycle around the beautiful area. Your recommendations are very much appreciated I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

First time at the Ballyliffin Lodge this weekend. Excellent hotel, good food, very clean and friendly helpful staff. Very spacious room with sea view, could not have asked for more. Spa pool looked great but did not use on this visit. Would go back time and time again in future.

Room Tip: Corner room at front of hotel the best as have three windows facing the sea, oodles of space in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSM661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDoherty, Customer Care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your kind review, I am delighted to read you enjoyed your first visit to the Ballyliffin Lodge, our corner rooms are indeed worth a recommendation with the wonderful views of Pollen Beach. Best Regards from all the team and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sligo
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

recently stayed at this hotel for a wedding,food was very tasty & service was really good. Lady doing the compere wasn't very pleasant.Will return to hotel again for a short stay,rooms where spacious & very clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDoherty, Customer Care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Sharon, Thank you for your recent review and i am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the wedding here. I hope to welcome you back soon. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here for a friends wedding, and had the most wonderful weekend. The staff were warm and friendly, offering use of the leisure facilities to change into our wedding outfits as we had arrived far too early to check in. The food throughout the weekend was top notch, especially the wedding meal itself, tender meat, perfectly cooked veg and plenty of it, which is no mean feat when catering for a those numbers. Enjoyed the full breakfast as well, you could tell they use the best quality ingredients.

The room itself was clean, spacious with the most amazing view over the bay. Loved the little touches like the chocolates and ear plugs.

Overall I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the front overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoDoherty, Customer Care at Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your friends wedding here with us recently. You positive feedback is most appreciated and will be shared with all the team here at the Lodge, Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyliffin
0.2 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
126 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ballyliffin Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
363 reviews
13.6 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ballyliffin
320 reviews
11.0 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
890 reviews
21.3 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel

Property: Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Address: Ballyliffin Lodge Ballyliffin Lodge Inishowen, Ballyliffin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballyliffin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ballyliffin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballyliffin Hotel Ballyliffin
Ballyliffin Lodge And Spa Hotel
Ballyliffin Donegal
Ballyliffin Hotel Donegal
Ballyliffin Lodge Hotel
Ballyliffin Spa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing